We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location. Location. Location.”
Review of Hermes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hermes
Ranked #19 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
92 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Location. Location. Location.”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

3.5stars from me. Easy access via the Metro station (15-20 minute walk from train station, downhill ;) and 2-5 minute walk to the 2 main shopping areas. First off, Marseilles is undergoing construction around the port area to prepare for it’s award as a cultural destination. Think of it as being on the French coast, a bit grittier but smiling and friendly (the city residents are welcoming). Having been to Marseille before and I am looking forward to the changes they are making. The hotel itself is undergoing a reno as well, the reception and hallways were under construction but we heard no noise. We decided to stay and are glad we did - Our room faced a side street, with a bit of a port view and we did not hear any construction noise at all (inside the hotel or out). The new interior, an Ikea type wood furniture was comfy and suited to the budget hotel. Internet terminal at reception is free to use. Tastefully decorated bathroom with great water pressure in the shower and we appreciated the heated towel warmer as well. Good budget value with port view. Families, independents and business travellers.

Travellers from Canada

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    147
    22
    7
    0
See reviews for
26
146
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sassari, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Nice position in the middle of the charming "vieux port" of Marseille, great view from the small terrace of the rooms on the last floor where we had some time of relax drinkin' some bottle of the local beer (bought at the near Spar) after a day spent in the picturesque fuss of the city. The Hermes is currently (May 2012) under heavy renovation so the staff (that is very kind) will warn you that you could hear some noise after 8.30 am. Maybe they should give a small discount on the standard fare because of this inconvenience, but the prices are honest nevertheless. The buffet breakfast is good and rich, about 10 Euro per person is a good deal.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StCh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernardsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This is really a pensione, not a hotel. I do not understand the rave reviews this hotel has received. The hotel needs to be levelled and rebuilt. There is so much potential, as the location is great, but the current state of the hotel is awful. The rooms are not only small, but there are holes in the carpet, cracks in the bathroom tiles, the bed cover was dirty...and it just feels old and unclean. The gentleman that works at night was very very nice though but otherwise, stay away. Pay a little more and get a whole lot better.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProsserKeeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mazou13, Directeur général at Hermes, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Thanks a lot for your comments.
We try to be very accurate as far as cleanliness is concerned (which you can read from other reviews) and it seems this was not the case in your room. We are very sorry and apologize for that .
In order to keep the hotel at is best level, we started refurbishing it mid November 2011. I don't know when you stayed with us, but I guess you could noticed that, since we are still opened in the meanwhile. From May 2012 on, all our rooms, will not be bigger (even smaller), but definetely newer ! And we will do our utmost to keep this family spirit and hospitality that most guests enjoy. (is it what you meant by pensione ?)
Sincerely.
Isabelle Paulin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gores Landing
Level Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We arrived with the temperature at 30C and a flood from a broken watermain blocking the entrance. Staff promptly built a bridge into the hotel. Service was excellent and the room a little larger than most European hotels. The breakfast at 7 euros was the best we have ever had.The value added is access to a penthouse patio that provides a superb view of the old port.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurrayTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I stayed in a single room for 4 nights. The room was small, and the drawer under the TV-set was missing the shelves - when I asked the receptionist about them, I was told there's nothing they could do about that. It was quite noisy outside, but very quiet when I closed the windows. The room and the bathroom were clean and in general convenient.
There was a free wifi in a hotel, as well as a complimentary breakfast (classic French). The best thing about my stay there was the possibility to grab a tray with my breakfast and go to a terrasse on the roof - the view was amazing! Hotel is located in the middle of the Old Port, steps away from bus stops, metro and boat to Ile d'If. Staff was helpful, though I had troubles with the payment as they didn't reply to my emails (prior to my stay).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anya_Ukr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This is a fantastic place to stay. In a nutshell:

- staff were very friendly, hospitable and helpful.. Its still the people that distinguish great hotels.
- location is not only central and surrounded by very nice restaurants, but has an roof terrace with a fantastic view of the old harbour, especially for sunsets.
- rooms were clean and quiet.
- pc with internet for guests

Its a great weekend place for couples and I look forwards to returning soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrenobleRoadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Make no mistake--this is a two-star hotel, and a French one at that. The rooms are well-maintained and the beds are comfortable, and the soundproofing (both room to room and with respect to the outside) is excellent; but they're very small and basic. However, I would stay here again in an instant. First, the location is perfect--right on the old port, right next to the little ferry and just a few minutes' walk from the metro, the tourist boats, and the Panier district. Secondly, the staff is charming and extremely helpful. They have cheerfully and repeatedly gone out of their way to help me find shops, give directions and suggestions, and responded to every request with a smile. And the view! All for a very reasonable price. For what it is, this hotel could not be better.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catwoman001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Hotel Bellevue
#25 of 131 in Marseille
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes

Property: Hermes
Address: 2 rue Bonneterie, 13002 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#10 Business Hotel in Marseille
#16 Family Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hermes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing