We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again....” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Azur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Azur
Ranked #44 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Nuit tres decevante dans cet hotel....nous avions reserve une chambre dite comfort avec vue jardin et nous nous sommes retrouves sous les toits au 4 eme etage, en soit un periple car nous avions un bebe, une poussette et plusieurs valises a porter. Nous avions specifie le pret d'un lit bebe au moment de la reservation...introuvable a l'arrivee. Quand nous avons finalement mis la main dessus, 4 etages plus tard, le lit etait casse. Autre soucis: pas de siege toilette, 3 lampes cassees, tire papier dans les toilettes qui s'ecroule a cheque usage, pas de Rideau de douche...qui plus est, avons trouve la chambre tres etroite et etouffante de chaleur. Un gros ca ne valait surtout tout pas les 88 euros que nous avons paye!

Terrible night in this rather unpleasant hotel. We had booked a room with garden view ended upon the 4th floor...under the roof. A nightmare considering we had a 4 months old baby, many suitcase, a buggy to carry and no lifts. The room was very small and so hot, it was uncomfortable for our baby. We had mentioned the need for a baby bed and of course when we arrived, the bed was missing...no phone line to call the reception and ask for the bed so we had to go back down again past midnight and ask for it to a rather unbothered night receptionist...only to find the baby bed was actually broken. other things: no toilet sit, no shower curtain either, three lamps were broken leaving us with a small one working...when we complained the next morning about the location of the room, we were told that garden view does not mean view on the gardens but a room on the side of the gardens...or else it was a street side room with the all the noise it apparently entails...hmmmm! It cost us 88euros for a night of no sleep as the bed was not big enough to accommodate the three of us since this is where the baby ended up sleeping...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelhiBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    90
    37
    11
    10
See reviews for
23
99
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Spent two nights here, first night we arrived late but the staff were still friendly and helpful. The tv didnt work but we were tired anyway and it was fixed by the next day (or we could have had another room). Room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. Breakfast in the garden is lovely and very quiet, you forget you are in a busy part of Marseille. I would recommend this hotel to others, much better than the etaps etc..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I found the Azur Hotel almost perfect for spending the night (I was in Marseille just for one night). The room was small but clean so more than enough just to sleep. The only 'bad' thing was that they were refurbishing the stairs and the corridors and the walls of the room were quite thin so the noise was a little bit uncomfortable in the morning. But I guess this will end soon, so probably you won't be affected by it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank APedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade
Level Contributor
146 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Hotel d'Azur is located in the middle of the city center. I have chosen the hotel in order to be able to go to the Cabaret Aleatoire by foot and it was good choice – half an hour of slow walk to the concert place.

Personal at the hotel is extremely polite and mannerly and is willing to help you in any of your requests. French people usually say they do not speak English, but they do understand it and you will have no problem in communication.

My room had a view to a typical French backyard, I could smell toast every morning with some pleasant instrumental music pouring from a radio in the neighbourhood. Not to mention birds (thez were not employed by the hotel).

The hotel is typical French, traditional, old fashioned, with all those steep stairs.

Near the hotel there are couple of good restaurants "La boite a sardine" and "Les Danaides".. The first is open only to 15.00 but offers excellent fish. I went for fresh orange juice and coffe creme to Les Danaides.
Attention - they are closed on Sundays.

There is a famous church Église des Réformés at the beginning of the street, with the statue of Joan d'Arc.

If you have sweet tooth, you can satisfy it in Plauchut – patisserie *just pass the church).

Very cosy, budget stay in - in fact - 3 stars hotel.

Even the harbour is easy to reach by subway.

If I need to stay in Marseille next time in the center, I will choose the same place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crnkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

good report price/quality.
Cosy but very good quality room. Clean and nice.
Close to very pleasent Cours Julien and very worldly Noailles. 10/15 minutes pleasent walk down to Belgian quay or metro right next to the hotel.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brunom223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

The Azur is around 12 minutes walk from St Charles Station and a little bit further from the Old Port. There are several bars and restaurants close by as well as takeaways and late night stores.
The breakfast is adequate and available all morning. The lack of a lift and fire escape may concern some and booking a room in single figures may help. Any room over 19 is on the fourth floor.

Room Tip: Book a room number 10 or under.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shrewdmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomsk, Russia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Nicely located hotel, close to the rue Canebiere. Breakfast consists of bread&butter, confiture, yougurt, fruit salad, orange juice, coffee/tea and some pastry, but it is really substantial, if you eat it all. I had room 17, for one person there is enough space.
Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank evoinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saint Louis
Hotel Saint Louis
#29 of 130 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residhome Appart Hotel Saint-Charles
0.2 mi away
Le Ryad Boutique Hotel
Le Ryad Boutique Hotel
#9 of 130 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
0.8 mi away
Hermes
Hermes
#22 of 130 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seven Urban Suites Prado
Seven Urban Suites Prado
#50 of 130 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azur

Property: Hotel Azur
Address: 24 cours Franklin Roosevelt, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Azur 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azur Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing