We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice decor, breakfast in garden, friendly owners”
Review of Hotel Azur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Azur
Ranked #52 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were a party of eight women and fitting us was a challenge with shared rooms or single rooms, some wanting to be onto the garden, some not on high floor... The Hotel managers were very friendly and helpful already at the reservation stages on the phone. Then we found them again doing all there best to serve us breakfast. And what a breakfast !
The rooms are quiet, clean and very comfortable. Bathrooms absolutely perfectly clean.
Air conditioning so effective that we turned it off...

Room Tip: Choose the rooms onto the garden. Do not miss the nice breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azurmarseille, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Azur, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thanks a lot for your nice comment. We do our best to welcome you and all our guests in the best conditions!

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Gregorio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

we really enjoy our stay here . This hotel is very central and you can walk everywhere. We were there for a rugby match at the end of April. The Staff at the Azur were excellent. I left my credit card behind me and Lee Anne rang to let me know she had it. When I got home I E Mailed on my address and a couple of days later had the card back in the post. Also the room we stayed in had been recently decorated and was very comfortable. This hotel is excellent value

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 649Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We really enjoyed staying in this hotel as it was very central, so we could walk to most places we wanted to visit.

The owners were very friendly and really helpful with recommending local restaurants for the evening.

We stayed in a garden room and found the room very pleasant.

Room Tip: We would recommend a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryJ35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azurmarseille, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Azur, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear MaryJ35,

It was really a pleasure to welcome you as our guests ! Our priority : to make you feel comfortable.

We look forward to seeing you again in Marseilles.

Best regards,

Gregorio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

At first, this seemed like a good deal for a hotel room in downtown Marseille. However, since our room was street-side (loud), we decided to turn on the air conditioner instead of leaving the windows open to cool off the room. Unfortunately, the air conditioner made a loud buzzing sound every 20 minutes, which kept us awake all night. 73 Euros and not a wink of sleep.

Had the air conditioner been in good repair, it would have been a decent room.

For those arriving with luggage, be warned: there's no elevator. Fortunately, we left our luggage in the car (parked nearby in the lot accessible by the Allee Leon Gambetta), so we didn't have to carry anything up.

Room Tip: Ask if the air conditioner in your room makes a loud buzzing noise :) or ask for a room with a windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuroraCeleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Nuit tres decevante dans cet hotel....nous avions reserve une chambre dite comfort avec vue jardin et nous nous sommes retrouves sous les toits au 4 eme etage, en soit un periple car nous avions un bebe, une poussette et plusieurs valises a porter. Nous avions specifie le pret d'un lit bebe au moment de la reservation...introuvable a l'arrivee. Quand nous avons finalement mis la main dessus, 4 etages plus tard, le lit etait casse. Autre soucis: pas de siege toilette, 3 lampes cassees, tire papier dans les toilettes qui s'ecroule a cheque usage, pas de Rideau de douche...qui plus est, avons trouve la chambre tres etroite et etouffante de chaleur. Un gros ca ne valait surtout tout pas les 88 euros que nous avons paye!

Terrible night in this rather unpleasant hotel. We had booked a room with garden view ended upon the 4th floor...under the roof. A nightmare considering we had a 4 months old baby, many suitcase, a buggy to carry and no lifts. The room was very small and so hot, it was uncomfortable for our baby. We had mentioned the need for a baby bed and of course when we arrived, the bed was missing...no phone line to call the reception and ask for the bed so we had to go back down again past midnight and ask for it to a rather unbothered night receptionist...only to find the baby bed was actually broken. other things: no toilet sit, no shower curtain either, three lamps were broken leaving us with a small one working...when we complained the next morning about the location of the room, we were told that garden view does not mean view on the gardens but a room on the side of the gardens...or else it was a street side room with the all the noise it apparently entails...hmmmm! It cost us 88euros for a night of no sleep as the bed was not big enough to accommodate the three of us since this is where the baby ended up sleeping...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DelhiBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Spent two nights here, first night we arrived late but the staff were still friendly and helpful. The tv didnt work but we were tired anyway and it was fixed by the next day (or we could have had another room). Room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. Breakfast in the garden is lovely and very quiet, you forget you are in a busy part of Marseille. I would recommend this hotel to others, much better than the etaps etc..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I found the Azur Hotel almost perfect for spending the night (I was in Marseille just for one night). The room was small but clean so more than enough just to sleep. The only 'bad' thing was that they were refurbishing the stairs and the corridors and the walls of the room were quite thin so the noise was a little bit uncomfortable in the morning. But I guess this will end soon, so probably you won't be affected by it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Préfecture
Premiere Classe Marseille Centre
Castellane
Citadines Castellane Marseille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Paradis
#89 of 131 in Marseille
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azur

Address: 24 cours Franklin Roosevelt, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range: £46 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Azur 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azur Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing