We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and good value”
Review of Hotel Saint Louis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Saint Louis
Ranked #43 of 132 Hotels in Marseille
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We wanted to be close to the Vieux Port waterfront, but prices there were prohibitive. By moving just a couple of blocks inland we found the St.Louis and saved ourselves some money. The rooms are fine and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. The 24 hour reception is a distinct advantage.
Moving those few blocks does out you on the corner of a slightly more colourful district but the baklavas from the neighbouring Tunisian cake shops were scrummy!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrbLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellevuemarseille, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for being so thoughtful in giving your appreciation of your time spent with us.

It is a great pleasure to read that you truly enjoyed each of your experiences with us and that the location was ideal for your parisian stay.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back amongst us in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

Good hotel for the weekend
Clean, comfortable. Very convenient location in the city.
If you are young and want to see the Marseille - this hotel is for You!
I will recommend this hotel for my friends if they will want to visit the city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy75i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellevuemarseille, Directeur général at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

We would like to express appreciation for your kind words following your stay with us
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again at Hotel Saint Louis
Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I chose the St Louis as I was looking for a reasonably priced hotel and it seemed to offer good value. The hotel is a basic three star with no frills, the staff are very polite and helpful and the breakfast room is very pleasant but the rooms are not of a very high standard. I feel that hotels are highly priced in Marseille and we would have had to spend considerably more to get something better. The location is very central but is right on the edge of where the town centre meets the slighty less salubrious part of town. If you are a woman travelling alone you might feel a little more comfortable staying nearer to the port.

I must mention, as others have, the Magazin Empereur beneath the hotel, we found it to be one of the highlights of Marseille and spend a couple of hours wanderering around this amazing cross between a museum and homewares emporium. Very beautiful and unexpected.

One suggestion to the hotel, room 55 is very dark, you could improve the lighting.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smellycat3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

The hotel has a great location, in the center and near from the old port. Rooms are ok, quiet, clean and decorated. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is quite good value too. Reception open 24h.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxime F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yonaetienne, Propriétaire at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again at
a future trip to Marseille.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The hotel has excellent location - very close to railway station, subway and port. It is not big, but very cosy and clean. Stuff is very nice, I could highly recommend this place and will stay there again. We've asked for a room with a balcony, but didn't get it, our windows were looking at ugly building, but this wasn't a problem because it was very quiet street. We didn't take breakfasts (and it was a challeng to find a cafe, especially on Sunday - everything was closed!)))

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room and good luck! ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Popadakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yonaetienne, Propriétaire at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Hello,
Comments like yours make us want to improve, we want to thank you for that.
We hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Marseille.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

the location is perfect to walk around and rate was fair. Good staff and rooms were nice. Lots of bars and restaurants around and place is quite lively after dark. Had a small balcony facing the port on 5th floor. If i go back to Marseilles, i would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berti U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yonaetienne, Propriétaire at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Hello,
Thank you for your comment, we will be glad to welcome you again (make sure
to book through our website!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The Saint Louis is in a great location in the centre of the city and a few streets from the Vieux Port. Friendly people on reception. Nice spacious room (we were lucky and were allocated a 3 person room for 2) with large bathroom and old-world charm. Glad to be on the 5th and top floor as the street outside was rather noisy due to all the renovation works going on in the area (for the upcoming Capital of Culture year) but of course this isn't the hotel's fault! Don't come looking for something newly-redone and pristine, but it had lots of character and great prices.
Overall, we were very happy with this hotel for the price we paid - a clean, very central, friendly place to lay your head and get out and about enjoying this great fun city!

Room Tip: Aim for top floor (5th), perhaps away from the street if noise is a big issue for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkjUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yonaetienne, Propriétaire at Hotel Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Hello,
We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and our city, and we will be happy to
welcome you during your next trip to Marseille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
New Hotel Vieux Port
#37 of 132 in Marseille
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Saint Ferreol
#31 of 132 in Marseille
182 reviews
Le Ryad Boutique Hotel
#6 of 132 in Marseille
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Louis

Address: 2 rue des Recolettes | Cours Saint Louis, 13001 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Marseille
#24 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range: £57 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Louis 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eco friendly Hotel, which proposes a hebergement of quality and large comfort with air conditioning and free WiFi, is engaged in an ecological approach Clef Verte.There is an atmosphere of holidays and of tranquillity in all the hotel, since the renovation in 2012. Modernized and decorated in a sober and warm spirit, every room embarks you for a new discovery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing