We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel - solid 4 stars”
Review of Music Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Music Hotel
Ranked #59 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good hotel - solid 4 stars”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights at the end of August and had a good experience. I will try and point out pros and cons but again – please judge if these ‘niggles’ in cons are a problem for you. Overall, the hotel is in a good location – about 10-15 min walk to Vieux Port via the main shopping area (do drop down by 1 street as opposed to walking straight and then down). There are 2 restaurants just 2 min walk (literally cross the street, walk 15-20 meters and you are there) and more cafe/sandwich/restaurants about 5 min away including Starbucks. All reasonable prices so we always ate there. The staff speaks some English but not fluent. It’s located on a quiet road but then we had a room on the back so noise wouldn’t have travelled that far. The door to the hotel is locked and you get buzzed in, there is somebody at the reception at any time, ready to help. It’s a small hotel and quite reasonable prices for Marseille as the main hotels on the Vieux Port are more towards £170-200+ and you will be on a very very busy main road so a lot of noise pollution. There is a lift om but it’s rather small so 2 people and 2 suitcases just about fit. There was no Please do not disturb sign so we had to go and ask for one – don’t know if it was lost or not provided but wasn’t there. Our prestige room was on the small side with no bedside tables, 2 single beds were quite comfy albeit small. Room was individually air conditioned so very effective as you set the temperature and how hard the fan blows. We only got 1 pillow each and these were so used that almost flat. We asked for 1 more pillow and were told it’s a full hotel so they have none. The next day we did get 1 pillow which was more of a sitting pillow than a bed pillow. The bathroom was as big as the room with a jaccuzi like bathtub – to be honest they could have reduced the bathroom and give the room more space. The door to the bathroom wasn’t really a proper door and didn’t close. There was no fan in the bathroom (or was broken) so all the moisture would come back to the room after a shower or a bath. There is a TV but no English stations and volume locked so low you can’t actually hear anything. I understand that it’s not to disturb other people but may as well not have a TV as it was impossible to hear it even when you were sat next to it. There is a safe in the room so you can lock your belongings. Rooms are separated from the staircase by another set of doors so that reduced the noise from the people walking up and down the stairs. To us a good night sleep is a must and we did get it there. We do use a white noise machine but there wasn’t much noise pollution so we managed to sleep in until 10-11 everyday. We did not use the buffet breakfast so cannot comment on the quality. There is no tea or coffee facilities in the room. Check out was 11am and we enquired if we could extend it until 12 but were told that hotel was fully booked so no which was a bit weird as in a 10 room hotel that shouldn’t make a different and the check in is 3pm anyway? The hotel did store our bag whilst we were out albeit behind a bar in the main hotel lobby so not the safest. Even though there is a little bar in the hotel – do not worry about the noise as it never seemed open or playing music or have anybody in it.
It’s a 3 start hotel and definitely has the feel of it. So unless you require 5* with every amenity do not stay here. All in all, we had a good stay with good night sleep every night so happy with the decision. so solid 4 stars.
CONS
- No kettle
- Lack of pillows
- Awkward bathtub – if you attempt to have a shower you will most definitely get all the floor wet, not the best design
- Wi-Fi – we paid for access but once we got to the room, all the connections were taken?! So we couldn’t connect, we were told to wait as one may become available. Fail!
- Lack of toilet paper – housekeeping failed to replenish so we run out and the hotel was unable to provide a roll so they had to gave us a roll form the bar toilet. That’s a bit silly to say the least?!
- Shower gel/shampoo are so watered down, they are simply water and don’t other using them as you will not get a wash at all. We bought our own in Carrefour
- TV volume un-adjustable – pointless even having a TV if you can’t hear it

Room Tip: Rooms on the back will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    113
    34
    12
    5
See reviews for
18
125
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We are going on a cruise and planned on a two day stay here before taking the train to Avignon. We arrived at 2 so the very friendly clerk said we could leave our things and return. The double beds did not materialize so after over a day of travel we said we would stay on the room but wanted free breakfast (it is expensive and doesn't seem worth it). The clerk said that she would see what she could do... I agree with the need for bedside tables, shower curtains, and new rugs (they are stained beyond repair). The location is great but the owners need to listen to these reviews.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maciadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed here for one night in late June prior to boarding a cruise ship that departed from Marseille. As a rude welcome to the city, the cabbies at the Marseille train station refused to take us to the hotel as it was too close and not worth their time. We ended up walking to the hotel in the heat dragging our suitcases.

Once there, the hotel was quite good. It lived up to its namesake and had a lot of musical memorabilia on the walls and the decor was very funky. The receptionist was friendly and the check in process was smooth.

The room was small but we had no complaints. The bed was amazingly comfortable and we had a wonderful night's sleep. The only annoying this was the bathtub had no curtain so water inevitably splashed on to the floor. I've been told it's quite common to see this in Europe.

In terms of location, the hotel is not super close to the attractions like Notre Dame de la Garde or the marina, but it was certainly walkable. Overall highly recommended, just don't plan on cabbing from the train station!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purpledoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We went to Marseille in end June 2013, we booked rooms at the Music Hotel based on the recommendation of Tripadvisor, we were glad we did that. We took a cab from the train station at 15 Euro, but we think it is okay, considering we paid about 45 Euros from the Nice Airport to our accomodation about the same distance away in Marseille (we need a big taxi for 6 passengers and loads of luggage).

We had to ring the buzzer to get into the hotel, which considering Marseille being the city it is may not be a bad thing. We took 2 rooms, one for 4 paxs and 2 paxs, we got the biggest room available on the 4th floor for our group of 4 persons. It was huge and had a very nice bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. The hotel looks pretty new and well maintained. Although there are no kettle in the room, you can pop down to the receptionist to request for hot water.

There is always someone manning the receptionist, so no worries about getting help from them or for them to buzz you in. They are very friendly and ready to help you to find your way around Marseille. The hotel is a short walk from the Vieux Port, so you can head down for the different resturant located there.

There is a Carrefour City just a short distance away, there is also lots of shopping located within 5 mins walk around. So location wise it is pretty good.

I would definitely consider staying here again if ever I am in Marseille.

Room Tip: If you use the jacuzzi tube, after half an hour the tub would automatically drain the pipes (I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Music hotel is located just 2 stops with metro from Marseilles central station and walking distance to the old harbor. The rooms seemed newly renovated - very nice indeed, bathrooms huge relative to the size of the room. WiFi worked perfectly, you could even stream movies with your iPad. Staff fluent in English and very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast though wasn't the best but OK. You can have good croissants and bread all over France but never in a hotel... A bit pricey if you don't get a good deal online well in advance.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Ideal location between the Vieux Port and Place Notre-Dame du Mont/Cours Julien district with its good restaurants and bars. Very clean and comfortable rooms with friendly, helpful reception staff. Good choice of breakfast fare.The only negative of the room was the lack of a shower screen. If you take the shuttle bus from the airport to Gare St Charles, take metro line 2 from there to Notre Dame du Mont-Cours Julien and head downhill or metro line 1 to Estrangin (Prefecture). Hotel is 10 min max walk from either. Can recommend L'Insolite restaurant just around the corner from the hotel. Also do the boat trip to the Ile Frioul to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. A tranquil spot - don't forget your swimsuit to enjoy the crystal clear waters. Take in a tour of Marseille by the City Tour bus, Open Tour Bus or the petit train and a wander round Le Panier old quarter is a must.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomtomsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel is a small boutique hotel but the outsized rooms are an interesting surprise. I have had rooms which were not much bigger than the bath/shower area. The people who run the hotel are anxious to help and I found them friendly and most of them spoke English well. I am of the belief that when you visit a foreign country you should try to learn some of the language. The location is handy for the Vieux-Port but is not in an interesting part of town. The walk between the hotel and major tourist area is filled with shops and restaurants. Walk takes about twenty minutes. It is convenient to railroad station and other areas of the city and very close to a metro stop. It is quirky because there are only five internet connections available in the hotel at one time. No shower curtain (at least in my room) which makes using the removable shower head a little tricky. But value for cost and a nice staff makes it a choice that should be considered. I did not take the breakfast because there are places close by which are reasonable and good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prof1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Préfecture
Premiere Classe Marseille Centre
Préfecture
Kyriad Marseille Centre
Kyriad Marseille Centre
#40 of 131 in Marseille
352 reviews
Castellane
Hotel Lutia
Hotel Lutia
#67 of 131 in Marseille
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Saint Ferreol
#33 of 131 in Marseille
175 reviews
Castellane
Hotel Edmond Rostand
Hotel Edmond Rostand
#86 of 131 in Marseille
134 reviews
Mama Shelter Marseille
#10 of 131 in Marseille
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Music Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Music Hotel

Property: Music Hotel
Address: 12 boulevard Louis Salvator, 13006 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Préfecture
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Music Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Music Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing