We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple things done well”
Review of Music Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Music Hotel
Ranked #62 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was a great find for 6 old friends for a weekend. It was clean, the staff were very friendly and efficient. The bathrooms are large and the only thing they need to consider is adding a shower curtain to avoid the room becoming a wet room. It has a bar that does the basics well and it is very handy for the shopping areas It is also only 10 minutes from the vieux port. If you want to hang around in the hotel a lot its probably not for you but then again it doesn't pretend to be a destination itself. I would definitely use it again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for Music Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

Wonderfully located - walking distance from metro, old port, and just about everything in the center of town. Easy access to buses for the further out attractions. Great staff, very helpful. Nice buffet breakfast for 12 euros includes meat, cheese, pastry, juice, coffee. Room was comfortable, clean, nice bathroom etc. Lovely garden in the back with tables/chairs. Just enough off the main road to be quiet. We found several very good restaurants within a ten-minute walk.

Room Tip: Our room was on the back, overlooking the garden, but we left the windows open and didn't hear a...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank metaligenics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed in the Music Hotel for one night in June. Our room was quite modern, clean, bright and comfortable. The reception staff was friendly and helpful. Although there is limited parking at the hotel, none was available when we were there and we used the paid council parking, a short walk away. The location is pretty central with a large shopping mall just a five minute walk away and the port about fifteen minutes away.

The breakfast was adequate and possibly a little over priced for what was available, but it was convenient. There are a couple of super markets close by and plenty of other places in the vicinity where you can eat out.

All up we thought that it was good value for the money and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monetsmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is a compact, friendly and well located hotel, only 10 minutes from the Vieux Port and the Metro. Very efficient reception and very secure - entry only possible by buzzing in or out. The room was in the 'comfort' range but perfectly fine: clean, comfy bed, street view, big bathroom. Basic toiletries were provided. Worried about the odd carpet mark or slightly wonky bracket? Go top dollar and pay four times as much in the big chains! Forget hotel breakfast at 10-12 euro: as ever, eat out and enjoy the same thing all-inclusive for half that price at a cafe by the harbour ten minutes away. There's a Carrefour City grocery store across and round the corner open til 10pm. This was a good hotel, and is very good value.

Room Tip: Room 21 is a 2nd floor value room with decent street view and air-con. Double glazed - but it's...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan-Whickerman-69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Clean, good-sized room and very large bathroom. The breakfasts were pretty good but the whole thing did feel a little over-priced. The location is decent - 15 mins walk to the old port and the Panier district, though the area around the hotel doesn't offer too much in the way of interest.

The actual "music" of the music hotel is pretty forgettable - it extended to little more than some arty posters of michael jackson in the room and a student-poster bar downstairs. It certainly wasn't a happening place when we were there (Monday-Weds) but this wasn't an issue at all - there is more than enough else on in Marseilles. But if you're looking for a party hang out this may not be it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNAthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the artisan suites with our 4 year old son for a short break.
The room was a good size with a very comfortable double bed and a double sofa bed and nice high ceiling with exposed wooden beams. The bathroom was absolutely massive with a jacuzzi bath right in the middle of it. Agree with others that a little awkward to have a shower though it was nice to have a jacuzzi.
The "music" theme gives the hotel something different in terms of character with the music related pictures in our room, breakfast area and bar.
The hotel is well located about 10 mins walk from the vieux port.
Staff very friendly and security like Fort Knox (you need to buzz to be let in and out). We were able to park outside for 9 euros which was handy.
Breakfast wasn't included in the rate and was expensive so we also chose to have outside the hotel.
Agree with others that would have been nice to have a kettle in the room but a minor point really.
Overall we were happy with our stay there and would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londonholidayaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights at the end of August and had a good experience. I will try and point out pros and cons but again – please judge if these ‘niggles’ in cons are a problem for you. Overall, the hotel is in a good location – about 10-15 min walk to Vieux Port via the main shopping area (do drop down by 1 street as opposed to walking straight and then down). There are 2 restaurants just 2 min walk (literally cross the street, walk 15-20 meters and you are there) and more cafe/sandwich/restaurants about 5 min away including Starbucks. All reasonable prices so we always ate there. The staff speaks some English but not fluent. It’s located on a quiet road but then we had a room on the back so noise wouldn’t have travelled that far. The door to the hotel is locked and you get buzzed in, there is somebody at the reception at any time, ready to help. It’s a small hotel and quite reasonable prices for Marseille as the main hotels on the Vieux Port are more towards £170-200+ and you will be on a very very busy main road so a lot of noise pollution. There is a lift om but it’s rather small so 2 people and 2 suitcases just about fit. There was no Please do not disturb sign so we had to go and ask for one – don’t know if it was lost or not provided but wasn’t there. Our prestige room was on the small side with no bedside tables, 2 single beds were quite comfy albeit small. Room was individually air conditioned so very effective as you set the temperature and how hard the fan blows. We only got 1 pillow each and these were so used that almost flat. We asked for 1 more pillow and were told it’s a full hotel so they have none. The next day we did get 1 pillow which was more of a sitting pillow than a bed pillow. The bathroom was as big as the room with a jaccuzi like bathtub – to be honest they could have reduced the bathroom and give the room more space. The door to the bathroom wasn’t really a proper door and didn’t close. There was no fan in the bathroom (or was broken) so all the moisture would come back to the room after a shower or a bath. There is a TV but no English stations and volume locked so low you can’t actually hear anything. I understand that it’s not to disturb other people but may as well not have a TV as it was impossible to hear it even when you were sat next to it. There is a safe in the room so you can lock your belongings. Rooms are separated from the staircase by another set of doors so that reduced the noise from the people walking up and down the stairs. To us a good night sleep is a must and we did get it there. We do use a white noise machine but there wasn’t much noise pollution so we managed to sleep in until 10-11 everyday. We did not use the buffet breakfast so cannot comment on the quality. There is no tea or coffee facilities in the room. Check out was 11am and we enquired if we could extend it until 12 but were told that hotel was fully booked so no which was a bit weird as in a 10 room hotel that shouldn’t make a different and the check in is 3pm anyway? The hotel did store our bag whilst we were out albeit behind a bar in the main hotel lobby so not the safest. Even though there is a little bar in the hotel – do not worry about the noise as it never seemed open or playing music or have anybody in it.
It’s a 3 start hotel and definitely has the feel of it. So unless you require 5* with every amenity do not stay here. All in all, we had a good stay with good night sleep every night so happy with the decision. so solid 4 stars.
CONS
- No kettle
- Lack of pillows
- Awkward bathtub – if you attempt to have a shower you will most definitely get all the floor wet, not the best design
- Wi-Fi – we paid for access but once we got to the room, all the connections were taken?! So we couldn’t connect, we were told to wait as one may become available. Fail!
- Lack of toilet paper – housekeeping failed to replenish so we run out and the hotel was unable to provide a roll so they had to gave us a roll form the bar toilet. That’s a bit silly to say the least?!
- Shower gel/shampoo are so watered down, they are simply water and don’t other using them as you will not get a wash at all. We bought our own in Carrefour
- TV volume un-adjustable – pointless even having a TV if you can’t hear it

Room Tip: Rooms on the back will be quieter
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Hotel Saint Ferreol
#32 of 131 in Marseille
180 reviews
Préfecture
Premiere Classe Marseille Centre
Palais-de-Justice
Hotel Maison Montgrand Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Préfecture
Hotel Alexandre 1er
Hotel Alexandre 1er
#100 of 131 in Marseille
27 reviews
Hotel Saint Louis
#38 of 131 in Marseille
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Music Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Music Hotel

Address: 12 boulevard Louis Salvator, 13006 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Préfecture
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Hotel Class:3 star — Music Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Music Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing