We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money accommodation for visiting Marseille”
Review of Music Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Music Hotel
Ranked #59 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good value for money accommodation for visiting Marseille”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Spent 5 nights here in early October. Endorse previous positive comments by reviewers re staff, location and rooms. There are a number of restaurant districts nearby- Cours Julien isn't the only one. Bus 21 from around the corner will take you to the Port area and back. The multi day all-metro pass is great value and has great coverage. If coming via TGV, the metro is much cheaper option to get to the hotel than a taxi and the closest station is about 3 blocks way. You will need metro and bus maps.There is an excellent Carrefours supermarket 2 blocks away and a laundromat just one block away. Recommend visiting Notre Dame, ferry to Chateau d'If, walk around Port area and Le Panier, take 83 bus along the coast, visit the 2 forts and MUCEM. We enjoyed our stay in Marseille.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ermil-Thea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    113
    34
    12
    5
See reviews for
18
125
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We spent a mid-week night at Music Hotel before flying to Rome. Reception staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful (in both French and English). The lobby is quite unique and decorated in the hotel's namesake theme.

Our 'standard comfort' room was spotlessly clean, spacious and modern with effective aircon, decent Wifi, and a large comfortable bed (a few pieces of artwork on the walls would be a nice touch though). Bathroom was huge by European standards although the ubiquitous hand held shower makes flooding the floor difficult to avoid!

The hotel is well located close to the old port and Gare St Charles and walking distance to most sights.

The included breakfast is nothing special but adequate.

Recommended for travellers looking for a small boutique hotel, reasonably priced, close to the action of Marseille.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RyanL86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Spent three nights here in late September. Nothing to complain about as we got our rooms on a bit of a deal, but beware of ordering drinks in there as they can be quite pricey. Good quality rooms, cleaned to perfection every morning. Friendly Staff, great location and air con for Summer months. Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerbino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Convenient to both metros, the old port and the railroad/bus station (by metro), with large, quiet rooms and friendly staff. It was hard to find a decent, affordable hotel near the point so this is a good choice. book early - it is small.

The wifi is free and fine, with (allegedly) 5 connections per room BUT
- the server is too small and gets full. I could not get on-line the first night of my 3 night stay. My friend, in another room, could, with two devices. Since we're both computer professionals, we figured out that the problem is the the hotel's server is too small. The owner needs to upgrade it. When you're on-line, it is fine.
- access is granted for a calendar day, which means you get kicked off promptly at midnight and you need to ask for a new login every morning (they bring it quickly). This is just silly for a hotel - you should get 24 hours from check-in. But the server capacity is a much bigger issue.

Room Tip: Ignore reviews telling you to avoid certain rooms because they have Wifi problems. It isn't the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taureg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GILLES D, Gérant at Music Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Hello, thank you for choosing our hotel, regarding the WiFi access, we have contacted our internet provider Orange to solve this little problem.

Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolcott, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Hotel was great! I spent three nights there this October and felt right at home. Staff was great a greeted me with a smile on my way out in the morning as well as my return in the evening. Not a bad way to start and end the day :) The lobby and little bar area are very modern and quirky. The room was great, comfortable, clean and pretty nicely sized, bathroom is huge! Location is so so, I have to admit walking there from the train station was making me question my choice, but once you reach the hotel and are greeted with that friendly welcoming smile all is good. The walk into the port isn't all that bad or that far, 15 minutes more or less.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daddio_M3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We chose the Music Hotel because it was near to the Cours Julien area, where there are plenty of bars and quality restaurants away from the main tourist area.
The hotel was adequate for a short stay, room was clean, staff were helpful and it was only a 10 minute walk to the Vieux Port.
We chose not to have breakfast as there are so many cafes to choose from in the area, and there's a supermarket just round the corner if you're on a budget.
One thing to note - the hotel advertises free wifi in the rooms but the information book in our room said free wifi was only available in the public areas and there would be a charge of 5 euros per day to use it in your room.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GILLES D, Gérant at Music Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Hello, a little clarification on Wifi and it is completely free within the confines of the hotel it is in the rooms or on the ground floor at the reception or in the breakfast room, in fact, on the Booklet 'Home, it was expected to pay the WiFi access to our customers, but after we changed his mind and opted for a free WiFi access. Besides your note when you check out, we do not have to pay the WiFi access.
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was a great find for 6 old friends for a weekend. It was clean, the staff were very friendly and efficient. The bathrooms are large and the only thing they need to consider is adding a shower curtain to avoid the room becoming a wet room. It has a bar that does the basics well and it is very handy for the shopping areas It is also only 10 minutes from the vieux port. If you want to hang around in the hotel a lot its probably not for you but then again it doesn't pretend to be a destination itself. I would definitely use it again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Préfecture
Premiere Classe Marseille Centre
Préfecture
Kyriad Marseille Centre
Kyriad Marseille Centre
#40 of 131 in Marseille
352 reviews
Castellane
Hotel Lutia
Hotel Lutia
#67 of 131 in Marseille
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Saint Ferreol
#33 of 131 in Marseille
175 reviews
Castellane
Hotel Edmond Rostand
Hotel Edmond Rostand
#86 of 131 in Marseille
134 reviews
Mama Shelter Marseille
#10 of 131 in Marseille
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Music Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Music Hotel

Property: Music Hotel
Address: 12 boulevard Louis Salvator, 13006 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Préfecture
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Music Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Music Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing