We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful service, miniscule rooms - more like 1 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel balladins Marseille Gare
Ranked #111 of 132 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed 2 July 2013

- Elevator broken, had to drag bags to 4th floor. no assistance.
- Room ridiculously tiny.
- Toilet seat was dirty. Can't call to ask for cleaning because there is NO PHONE in room
- Wifi didn't work in room. In lobby, if you have an Apple device, prepare to get onto a painfully slow connection once, then never again. The wifi is incompatible with Apple devices.
- Staff unable to provide assistance, although the feel really really bad.
+ Nice service at breakfast where staff went to get me an espresso.
+ Bed comfy
+ Quiet

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dolcecarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

Yes I admit this is well located, very close to the central station. Now that's all.
Service is poor. Room ridiculously small, with very basic furnitures.
Dining room for breakfast, not inspiring at all, then I went to a café outside.
Definitely will not go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Legolas53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This hotel is located in the centre of Marseille, just 1 min walk from the train station, 7min walk from vieux de port and 20min by car from the airport. However, although centrally located, the hotel is situation in a 'shabby' in St Charles De Gare. The streets there were full of rubbish and the place in my opinion was neglected. The hotel on the other hand, was really nice and staff members were really friendly, english speaking and very helpful. The only things that bothered us during our stay were the bad smell and the shower which had no cubicles... otherwise the stay was perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I found this to be a great spot to stay in Marseille. You are at the bottom of the beautiful steps that lead to Gare St Charles. It's also only about a 7 minute walk to the port. The room was very clean and spacious enough for 2 to stay for a week if necessary. We didn't have the breakfast but chose to go across the street. That's another place to have drinks lunch or dinner and you have the view of the steps. The name of the place escapes me as well as the steps but I'll include the pictures in this review. The staff seemed to be friendly. A nice flat screen tv. The bathroom was quite modern but they didn't have a holder to put the shower head in. So you had to shower with one hand. It was very open so water got on the toilet seat and floor. The price was very reasonable but then again we were there during low season (mid jan). If you want a late night kabob all you have to do is go up the block. Runned by Tunisians, they gave huge tasty portions. This is the year to go to Marseille since it will be the cultural center for france for 2013. This place is going to get booked up fast since it's ideally located. I will stay here again when in Marseille

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toni175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The male staff were great. The female front desk girl, though sexy, had a bad attitude.
Rooms seemed freshly carpeted at the time so other's foot smells were not apparent.
Bathroom's have almost no fixtures. A stupid folding chair to sit on for taking a shower. Everything gets wet, all the floor, when you shower.
The breakfast buffet was lacking in substance.
They had a communal pc, which was good.
The place is close to the train station, which was nice. The port was easy to walk to.
The aea has a large population of immigrants, so it can get rough at night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BunnyBearBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed only one night in this hotel, but all was great. Hotel is new, location is prefect, service was friendly, room spacious.
We had problems with wifi, but it was only for 1 night so it didn't bother us

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvaZadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Location: nearby the railwaystation, what good is for travelling. Not far from the centre of Marseille. The neighbourhood is a bit shady at night.
Staff: polite, but not really nice. A bit cold (maybe typical for chain hotels? Don't have many experience with that)
Room: a bit small, but clean and modern. With airconditioning :-). But there was no toiletbrush present.

Overall: nice for one night or so, don't stay there for several nights.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emsie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.2 mi away
New Hotel Saint Charles
New Hotel Saint Charles
#110 of 132 in Marseille
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lutetia
Hotel Lutetia
#119 of 132 in Marseille
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adagio Access Marseille Saint Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Massilia Hotel
Massilia Hotel
#53 of 132 in Marseille
31 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Terminus Saint Charles
Hotel Terminus Saint Charles
#50 of 132 in Marseille
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residhome Appart Hotel Saint-Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel balladins Marseille Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel balladins Marseille Gare

Address: 28 boulevard D Athenes, 13001 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 132 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range: £49 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel balladins Marseille Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel welcomes you all year round in Marseille. Located within walking distance from the Saint-Charles railway station in the heart of the city, our hotel offers 56 air-conditioned rooms, in a contemporary decor, of which some offer views of the Notre Dame de la Garde. Nearby: Parc des Expositions, Parc Chanot, Vieux-Port, Cote Bleue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel balladins Marseille Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing