We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Ranked #18 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Tripoli, Lebanon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed 4 nights in the hotel...there is nothing that i didnt like...nice clean...almost all receptionists are nice. and as location wise it is perfect..at the vieux port.
Just one night, the last one, i think there is a night near, i didnt sleep, they kept on singing and dancing all night. The toilet was cleaned everyday.but the room NO.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruba B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    261
    79
    16
    10
See reviews for
82
198
41
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights last week. Location couldn't be better - literally 10m from the metro station and maybe 50m to the Old Port itself and various bus stops providing easy access to the station (metro also serves the station), Fort St Jean, Notre Dame de la Garde etc. Using buses is dead easy but make sure you have small change before boarding the (drivers may not be able or willing to change notes). Buy the ticket from the driver for 1.80 euros for a single journey. The standard double room we had was cosy, shall we say. Very cramped but the bed was comfortable, the room was quiet with the windows closed, and it had most of the things required. The bathroom was even more cramped but functional. Ours only had a shower but that wasn't a problem. Breakfast was adequate rather than special. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carre-hotel, Responsable commercial at Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hello,
We kindly thank you for your comment. You are now addicted to Marseille and you could be a perfect guide!
We are glad you liked the hotel as well. In fact, we are not the biggest one but we love that people feel confortable and happy in our hotel.
We hope to welcome you for another stay.
Regards,
Marie Sarah Dosson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We made a last minute reservation and showed up at about 8 at night after all of our stuff was stolen out of our car about a hour from Marseilles. After a quick change of plans (since we had to go to Marseilles to get emergency passports) and thanks to an international sim card that allowed me to access data on the ride, we had a room waiting at this hotel when we arrived. The staff were super helpful and friendly. We literally showed up with just the clothes on our backs. They told us where to go to shop for everything from underwear to toothbrushes to jeans. We only stayed one night - the room was tiny, but the bed was comfortable, and it's just around the corner from the Vieux Port (and a short walk to the American consulate). Next day, the staff gave us canvas bags to put our newly acquired stuff in and let us return to the lobby to use the internet at the lobby computer all day. Not sure about the room rates - in calling around that evening there weren't many rooms available so we took what we got...it didn't seem too exorbitant...but not the cheapest place either.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DARAMARKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, QLD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We happened upon this hotel by accident as with limited wifi and a large itinerary we inadvertently forgot the details of the hotel we had booked. A kind phone call from the incorrect hotel resulted in a booking here . Travelling with two girls aged 10 and 8 the hotel staff were immediately warm and welcoming, rooms generous modern and simply equipped. We were warned about the stairs which were in process of undergoing renovation to accommodate an elevator but the excercise was welcomed. Rooms very quiet and overall excellent value and adjacent metro and one street from the port. Would stay here again in marseille.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Greenhills360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

* Location: directly at Vieux Port (excellent), 2 min from Metro - many shopping areas and restaurants around
* Reception Service: very helpful and friendly, but cleaning ladies are very loud in the morning (my boyfriend could not sleep)
* Rooms: clean/sufficiently equipped but super small, very good windows (no noise) but on the other side, not able to open the windows. Lights in front of window (not nice)
* Price: approx 100 Euro per night in Nov (better price then other hotels but still very expensive for. November)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen111-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We booked this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews, and found it consistent with ratings others had given it. The location was great (a key consideration for us), the staff very friendly and it has a very satisfying breakfast. Great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Plenty of hotels have impressive reception areas which definitely aren't reflected in the quality of their rooms. Not so here. The desk was organised but unflashy, and our room, which is what matters to us, was attractive, comfortable and very quiet. And vast. Responding to some other remarks here, I disagree about the level of cleanliness: our room, at least, was thoroughly cleaned during the course of our four day stay. However, I completely go along with what everyone says regarding location. It took seconds to stroll to the Vieux Port: couldn't be better!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulsgirlrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
New Hotel Vieux Port
#30 of 130 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hermes
#22 of 130 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Opéra
Hotel Alize Marseille - Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille

Property: Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Address: 6 rue Beauvau, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entirely renovated, Carre Vieux Port Hotel is ocated down town, at 30 seconds of the Vieux port, of famous touristic places, of boats to Cassis, Chateau d'If and Iles du Frioul, or 15 minutes walk to MuCEM. We offer 61 rooms (bathtub or shower) with harmonious shapes and colors. Our location: - The Vieux Port (75 meters) - Metros and buses (30 meters) - Shopping centre (100 meters) - 5 parkings - More than 150 restaurants around. Our rooms have been entirely renovated and provide high standard quality products as Duravit and Grohe bathrooms, beds from 90 to 180 cms, duvets, parquet floor, fulfil lights, welcome tray with coffee/tea/biscuits, 32" flat screen TV high definition with Canal+ and Satellite, direct phone line, radio stations, hair-dryer, air-conditioning, free internet access, free WIFI access, laundry, free luggage room, bar and reception opened 24 hours, breakfast (12€). Also, you can watch the Vieux Port in live from the TV in your room. Picking up our hotel, you will have the opportunity to enjoy downtown life, wonderful places, restaurants, cinema, Vieux Port ... All walking distance. Maximum comfort, reasonable rate, good value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing