We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located hotel in Marseille”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Ranked #16 of 132 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. It was centrally located and near the metro, regular & tour buses, and the ferry. There were restaurants nearby and most of the significant places like La Pharo, Le Panier, and Joliette areas were within walking distance. The hotel is currently being renovated, so the lifts started from level 1 (reception was on level 0), but reception helped us bring our luggage a few steps up. The room we had was pretty spacious. We had enough space for our luggage and can still walk inside the room without bumping into each other. The amenities included tea, coffee, and biscuit, hair dryer, fan ( it had an a/c), and basic toiletries. They also changed our towels everyday! The staff was friendly and accommodating. Stephanie was 100% fabulous. I just felt comfortable asking her questions from shopping to transportation. She even booked for us a table in one of the restaurants we ate in. Buffet breakfast was worth 13€. It had an assortment of bread, cereals, yoghurt, cheese, cold cuts, juice + coffee and tea.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 507.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treasures514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carre-hotel, Responsable commercial at Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Hello,
What a pleasure to read your comment!
All the staff is happy that you felt confortable and "like home" in our familial hotel.
We hope to welcome you for another stay in Marseille, in our renovated hotel.
Best regards,
Marie Sarah Dosson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Nice and cosy hotel with very helpful service. In close vicinity to the old port. Clean rooms however small as always in France ;) for the price we could afford. Lovely breakfests with fresh orange juice, croissantes and coffee.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElaGolab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carre-hotel, Responsable commercial at Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Hello,
Thank you for taking time to leave this comment. We are happy you liked the hotel and Marseille and hope to welcome you another time.
Best regards,
Marie Sarah Dosson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The location is superb. Located in Old Port; no sea view but it is a few steps away from all things to do in Marseille. Metro station is just around the corner if you need one. The hotel is being renovated so it may seem a bit untidy at first look, but they at least sent us an email before arrival, informing about this. Renovation does not bother you since they do not make any noises or so, however the room we have stayed can not be called soundproof at all. I have no idea if it will be better in the refurbished rooms but if you want to sleep late, this may not be the place. There was particularly a girl at the reception (brunette, very French) who clearly knows Marseille very well and every place she has suggested turned out to be exceptional. No idea about the breakfast but there is also a very good pastry shop on the left corner if needed.

Room Tip: our kind of noisy room was 211, so you may try another one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dnpsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carre-hotel, Responsable commercial at Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Madame, Monsieur,
We thank you for your comment and for the good advertisement you made about our location!
We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and the advice of Stéphanie at the reception.
Best regards,
Marie Sarah Dosson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great location, only two stops on the metro from the train station, seconds from lovely old quayside, just off La Canabiere and certainly within walking distance for sightseeing, shopping and of course restaurants and bars.
Hotel exterior was being cleaned so there was scaffolding outside and it looked like work was ongoing on the stairs and elevator facia but the lift still worked. Hotel was quiet and the staff were excellent, the room if small was nice and clean, had air con, the bed was comfortable and toilet and shower was great.
If I was being picky the hotel advertised a bar but I only saw what looked like a very small coffee bar with certainly no alcohol.
All said though I liked Hotel Carre and would recommend for city break and short stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Pros:
• Hotel Carre was centrally located in Marseilles. It took us about one minute to walk from the metro to the hotel. We took the train from Paris to St. Charles and then the metro two stops to the hotel.
• The receptionists were very friendly and helpful.
• We spent two nights before leaving for our western Mediterranean cruise. Hotel is located within reasonable distance from the port.
• Reasonably priced.
Walking distance from the old port.
• You could walk form the hotel to many places of interest including the sightseeing tours. Now remember this is Marseilles so … not much to do or see.


Cons:
• The room was quite small but well kept. It was August in Marseille and when we arrived there must have been a heat wave because it was very hot. The air conditioning was not very high in the room and could not be controlled from within the room. Whenever we came in from outdoors we were still very hot and took a while before cooling down.
• Our room had many mosquitoes. When we called receptionist they came up to spray the room so we had to leave for a few hours. When we got back there were still mosquitoes. Thank go we stayed only two nights.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lady-J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The location of this hotel is its main selling point. Seconds from the beautiful old harbour, it allows to get to the MUCEM and the Panier neighbourhood on foot. The city's tourist office is also just a couple of minutes away in case you plan on getting the city pass for example, which we found a useful package to explore and move around Marseille. We even walked from the main train station after arriving, which took 15 mins.

When we stayed here the hotel was undergoing renovation with lots of dust and ongoing works everywhere. No noise though. Our tiny standard room had been recently renovated to a modern and nice style.

We were impressed by the friendly service at the reception and liked the breakfast. The choice was not overwhelming but you can squeeze your own orange juice and the coffee is prepared on the spot, per your order. Not the standard filtered stuff from the flask.

In a city where good deals on hotels are difficult to find, this hotel felt also a bit expensive for what it offered.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zwenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel was quite nice, and not just because it had everything one would need packed in quite a small area, but the receptionists and staff were nice. Even though not all of them spoke English, someway or another they were always of some help. Even the chamber maids were nice, and they did an exceptionally good job at keeping our rooms clean.

Even though the rooms were relatively small, they were quite modern and kept in very good conditions ... I cannot not mention the showers - the different functions available are impressive!! The towels were provided and every day or two, the chamber maids would leave us clean towels.

The hotel is located in a very good point just close to the port, but not in the main road. And the price is not that bad either, especially compared with other hotels in the vicinity.

One thing I noticed was that the foyer was always hot, I am used to the Mediterranean climate, but once you enter the hotel, the heat simply grasps a hold of you and never lets you go until you are in the shower. Well, I guess that is a definition of a warm welcome ;)

Also, there is just one elevator, to which you need to climb a set of stairs to arrive to. For us this was not an issue, however, one would need to keep this in mind if they cannot do otherwise but use a lift.

Nonetheless, I will recommend this hotel, since as I have previously stated, it has everything you need.

Room Tip: We were on the south side of the hotel, and I have no complaints about the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJ_Bonello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille

Address: 6 rue Beauvau, 13001 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Opéra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 132 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range: £82 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entirely renovated, Carre Vieux Port Hotel is ocated down town, at 30 seconds of the Vieux port, of famous touristic places, of boats to Cassis, Chateau d'If and Iles du Frioul, or 15 minutes walk to MuCEM. We offer 61 rooms (bathtub or shower) with harmonious shapes and colors. Our location: - The Vieux Port (75 meters) - Metros and buses (30 meters) - Shopping centre (100 meters) - 5 parkings - More than 150 restaurants around. Our rooms have been entirely renovated and provide high standard quality products as Duravit and Grohe bathrooms, beds from 90 to 180 cms, duvets, parquet floor, fulfil lights, welcome tray with coffee/tea/biscuits, 32" flat screen TV high definition with Canal+ and Satellite, direct phone line, radio stations, hair-dryer, air-conditioning, free internet access, free WIFI access, laundry, free luggage room, bar and reception opened 24 hours, breakfast (12€). Also, you can watch the Vieux Port in live from the TV in your room. Picking up our hotel, you will have the opportunity to enjoy downtown life, wonderful places, restaurants, cinema, Vieux Port ... All walking distance. Maximum comfort, reasonable rate, good value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing