We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Artsy atmosphere, without losing hospitality out of sight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mama Shelter Marseille
Ranked #10 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Artsy atmosphere, without losing hospitality out of sight”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Nice boho place, lovely little terrace, good food. Rooms quite small but well equipped. We had the family room which we used for 3 adults. Storage possibility is minimal, so we lived from our suitcase which was fine for 3 days. Location is just out of centre, about 7 minute walk from the metro station. We took a shuttle from marseille airport for 14,- retour, and at station charles we took the metro. Pretty easy to do, but make sure you ask for a map at the busstation, you will need it the first time. Nearby is a velib station where you can rent bikes from.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MartijnenLeonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    382
    92
    24
    18
See reviews for
80
459
55
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

well, you all know me - i love the good life, thats me. This very uniqe and designed hote; is exacty what i am looking for in my travels. The staff was great - even over friendly, the designed loby and special bench was really lovely. The rooms are very very small, so was the shower but we didnt really care - the design of the room' the spactacular matresses and the fine Bar near the entrance made the difrence. Guys, please note that the location is abit far from the port - which is the only place to be in the city. Nothing much to see or do in Marsalle - pass their- sleep elswhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripblogerErez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here a few weeks ago and had a nice time, but it didn't really wow us. And it was trying hard to do just that. True, we were on our honeymoon, but we kinda felt like we weren't "cool enough" for the hotel. Other folks might disagree, but just be aware that this hotel has a unique flavor. Nothing wrong with the hotel, but I give it 3 stars because that was our experience.

The staff is very nice, bathroom fine, and I liked the lights in the head of the bed - very unique. It is a good walk from the city center but I kinda liked that. But it is tucked away, not a big sign, which makes it hard to find on foot. The restaurant and bar were busy, and the food seemed good when we ate there. We were even able to get big cups of American coffee at breakfast.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank coreypine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a Sunday. Everything is chit on a Sunday so didn't get a true picture of the city but the hotel did the job. Rooms are clean and a little quirky which we liked. Shower and bed both good!
Located about half way between the train station and the quay so we had quite a bit of walking to do in both directions. Would recommend

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bethstickland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Mama Shelter is an extraordinary hotel. A place where style, vibrant atmosphere, modernity and humor cross. Rooms are comfortable and styled, service is good, authentic and with a smile. Very attractive and livening bar with concerts and events at night.
The hotel is a bit away from the centre and 'lost' in a residential area, but that's another thing that makes it so unique and fits with its style!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owlanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel !! Love the bed, comfort , room a bit small but very clean. The reception desk very nice and helpful especially Mario . Breakfast is very good, freshly squeezed juice and delicious food. Location nice and quit 15 walk from the port.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SassiIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had a lovely room. Very light/bright. The bed is fantastic! Shower is nice as well. Room is not to big, but suites the occasion (city trip).

The restaurant is very nice (had steak tartare once for lunch and the kofta for dinner). Tastes both really good.
Location is about twenty minutes walking distance of the harbour and the old part of the city. The thing i really like about the Mama Shelter hotels (Paris/Marseille) is that they add value to the neighborhood. Like in Paris, in Marseille it was really busy in the weekend, it attracts lots of people who wants to go out for the night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irene2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 96
#1 of 131 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Shelter Marseille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Shelter Marseille

Property: Mama Shelter Marseille
Address: 64 rue de la Loubiere, 13006 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mama Shelter Marseille 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So much more than a place to sleep, Mama Shelter Marseille is the heart of life, a place where people gather around a shared meal, a live band, unpredictable encounters. 127 Sensual and elegant rooms equipped with Apple iMacs 27" (TV, Internet, CD/DVD Player, IChat, Photobooth, Videobooth) and 5 Star bedding (Duvet 100% Satin Coton Sheets). Rooms similar to those at MAMA PARIS, but drawing on a new energy through the colors of the Mediterranean. Cool in the summer, they are also warm during rare cold snaps. It is situated only 25km from Marseille Provence airport and is only 10 minutes from the train station Gare Saint Charles by taxi. Take a break in Mama Shelter Marseille and enjoy: Live Concerts, Shows, DJs, Tennis Table, parking... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mama Shelter Marseille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing