We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very original”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mama Shelter Marseille
Ranked #12 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very original”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a funky hotel with an awesome personality! There is great attention for the details. The room was designer with all the needed comfort. The staff was really friendly and helpful. We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant and both the food and the atmosphere were great! Since it seems like the happening place be sure to reserve in advance especially if you want to enjoy the live music.
The neighborhood is a mix between old and artistic fast-growing district. The city's touristic area is about a 10 min walk from the hotel.
If you are crazy enough to drive through Marseille there is a parking structure under the hotel.
We got a free upgrade and this is always a plus!! We love Mama's!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherry079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    389
    97
    24
    18
See reviews for
80
466
56
196
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Nice and modern infranstructure. Excellent location, as surrounding area has good restaurants. Friendly and professional staff. The parking is good.The bar downstairs can be a bit noisy sometimes, but nothing out of order.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
122 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have heard much about Mama Shleter so we decided to give it a try.

The hotel location was not too far from the city center and was with in a short distance walk from the nearest metro station.

Apart from the size, the room has all the comfort you need : comfy bed with Seally spring matress, soft sheets, nice amenities for shower, water boiler and microwave, Apple TV with a selection of movies and enven adult movies ;)

The breakfast was indeed very good : They offer a good choice of fresh and yummy products + real hot chocolate and fresh baked "Pain perdu" !!!

We had opportunity to try the restaurant for dinner and was also very happy the food but make sure you have booked a table before as the restaurant is quite full most of the time.

First I was afraid to stay at Mama and wanted to book Intercotinental at Hotel Dieu near the harbour, but now I am fully seduced and would gladly stay again at Mama ;)

Room Tip: rooms are quite tiny so make sure you have at lease a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

One night only in Marseilles and and we found this funky well equipped and (VERY) friendly hotel. The perfect place for a base in Marseille.

Necessary ample parking , small but perfectly formed rooms, high quality food and the friendliest staff we have come across anywhere!

Part of a small chain that really knows its identity, offering well priced boutique service.

Free on-demand movies on the Apple TV's in each room, a nice touch!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

At first glance the hotel seems quite cold and 'distant', but once you get 'it' and the staff you are in for a treat. Gregory at reception was our 'go to' person and he did a cracking job. Hope he is enjoying the bottle of wine we left for him at reception. The neighborhood is still quite dirty and gritty, but you can feel where this whole area is heading. A good place. Full stop.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I fully expect to be told that we are not part of the key demographic for this hotel, but I wonder who is? It is not an enjoyable experience, from the peculiarities of trying to find it (even with the GPS) to the monosyllabic responses from the staff. If you like shopping in Abercrombie & Fitch, where staff are employed for reasons other than customer service then this may be the place for you.

The rooms are no better than a Formule 1 or Premiere Classe that you will see along the sides of the autoroutes in France. Decked out in a modernist, concrete style they are not places where you would want to spend any time. Because it has an iMac as a TV does not improve matters. It is just a TV, but is playing to a specific audience.

The headboard illuminates and ours broke, it was coming on at random at midnight, they could not turn it off and would not let us move rooms. Then they would, then we had to move all of our stuff for 7 hours before moving it back. We stayed put and then another person came to unplug the power. Then the TV came on by itself at 2am and light the room up again.

We tried to have a drink the bar downstairs where over 70% of the chairs were free, they made a huge song & dance about sitting us, would not serve us after 20mins and then we left.

None of the staff really seem to care what your opinion is, as it would actually mean them having to do something.

If you do stay here then try to get the cheapest deal possible, stay on a high up room (as we did) to at least try to avoid the noise and don't expect much by way of service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChrisAlner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We knew when we booked this hotel it would be a bit far out from the Port. We didn't realise how far it actually would be. Really cool rooms and amazing design around the hotel. I found the food there very deep fried with way too much sauce or dressing. Staff are exceptional.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizeuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Le Ryad Boutique Hotel
#9 of 131 in Marseille
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Shelter Marseille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Shelter Marseille

Property: Mama Shelter Marseille
Address: 64 rue de la Loubiere, 13006 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mama Shelter Marseille 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So much more than a place to sleep, Mama Shelter Marseille is the heart of life, a place where people gather around a shared meal, a live band, unpredictable encounters. 127 Sensual and elegant rooms equipped with Apple iMacs 27" (TV, Internet, CD/DVD Player, IChat, Photobooth, Videobooth) and 5 Star bedding (Duvet 100% Satin Coton Sheets). Rooms similar to those at MAMA PARIS, but drawing on a new energy through the colors of the Mediterranean. Cool in the summer, they are also warm during rare cold snaps. It is situated only 25km from Marseille Provence airport and is only 10 minutes from the train station Gare Saint Charles by taxi. Take a break in Mama Shelter Marseille and enjoy: Live Concerts, Shows, DJs, Tennis Table, parking... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Mama Shelter Marseille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing