We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, clean rooms, very friendly welcome, great location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture
Ranked #39 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Modern, clean rooms, very friendly welcome, great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

15 mins walk from the train station and just a few minutes to the old port, this is a good option in Marseille if you just want a simple, clean and central hotel. After the tiny entrance lobby, we were expecting tiny rooms, but ours was a decent double, with super modern bathroom. Unusually we even had a little tv room with two chairs separate to the main room. Strange, but welcome! Free wifi is a nice touch and worked really well. Plenty of late night snacking and drinking options around the area. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but they do offer a breakfast for an extra cost. Will stay again when in Marseille.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, Directrice/ Hotel Manager at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    177
    73
    31
    14
See reviews for
42
172
25
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

We've corresponded with the staff over arrangements for our little baby (5months) needs and the hotel was amazingly helpful. They put us in their biggest room because we have another child too (5yr old, we brought her bed). The room they've given us 409 was truly large with a huge bathroom. The hotel even arranged for us to have a baby bathtub as this room comes with a shower. The huge bathroom has a heater which totally make sense. In the evening, there is some noise but otherwise very quiet in the night. The bed and pillows are very comfortable. My biggest gripe with hotels is that they never provide enough hooks for clothes and towel but here they did a good job. The cleaniless though, for the floor is pretty bad. When we checked in, there were alot of crumbs on the floor, still there on the next day. The shower had footprints on day 2. I simply used bedroom slippers (from the 2euro shop) to avoid the crumbs. With the great service offered by the staff, it's worth overlooking this minor imperfection. The location is superb. Breakfast is good with pain de mie/baguette, butter cake, viennoiserie, jam, butter, nutella, biscotti, yougurt, cereal, fruit compote, tea, coffeee, milk, water, fresh fruits, kiri cheese, emmental, ham/salami/bacon and fried eggs.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foiegrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, Directrice/ Hotel Manager at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your feedback and we are glad your family and yourself enjoyed your stay with us.
We understand it is not always easy to travel wit children and did our best to make you comfortable.
We sincerely apologize for the problem you encountered and reinforced the control of our rooms.
We hope to have you back soon with your family nad thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We reached Marseilles late in the evening and the hotel was a good 15 minute walk from the train station. The lobby of the hotel was really small and we were kind of unsure what we had gotten ourselves into. But once we were in the room we were really happy with the facilities. Wifi was free and really fast which was something that you rarely find in other hotels. The breakfast buffet spread was limited but adequate. The hotel is away from all the construction in the city and hence very peaceful. I must add that it is not the best time to travel to Marseilles with all the construction going on for the "culture city 2013" award preparations going on.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgr031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, Directrice/ Hotel Manager at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feed back. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be happy to welcome you again in Marseille in few months to see all the changes that have been made. Still a couple of months and it should be better!

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nurmijarvi, Finland
Level Contributor
317 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

This hotel is well situated near Marseille old port and shopping street. Staff was really friendly. Our room was modern and well sized with good bathroom and separate toilet. We even had little balcony. Staff was really helpful to tell about Marseille. Very comfortable bed. I didn't mind about noise outdoor, I'm not a light sleeper, but my friend had some problems with car horns and people screaming. Toilet wasn't well cleaned and we missed one big towel when we arrived, but when telling this to reception these things were taken care of.

- Free wifi
- Air condition
- Close to SNCF train station
- Close to shops and old port

When arriving at 11 o'clock in the evening and it was already dark, we walked two times past the hotel without finding it, because there is no good sign. If you are arriving at night time search big shop sign that says LONDON, the hotel is next to it.

The price was really good for this quality, especially when hotels are not very cheap in Marseille. I would consider to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want small balcony, separate toilet and bathroom request room 201.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cadhlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, Directrice/ Hotel Manager at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for this comment and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your satisfaction is very important to us and your feed back will help us to improve and give a better service.

We definitly hope welcoming you again in the future,

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Spent 3 nights at the Vieux Port. Really good central location. Only a few minutes walk to shops ,restaurants, port ,train/bus station. Opened this year, there is still no hotel sign so you have to find it by its address. Very small reception with lift/stairs to bedrooms adjacent. The bedrooms (ours was 212) are quite small with a double bed, wardrobe, very small table & chair and a small shower room. Obviously all new bedding, furniture etc and all very cleanTea and coffee facilities but not always replenished. We were on a b and b basis and the breakfast was good with a choice of hams, cheeses, yoghurts. Had hot breakfast on two days (scrambled or fried egg with bacon) but strangely not on third morning. Can be a bit chaotic if you take breakfast early. Staff are really helpful ie. one day we had no towels and a call to reception brought them immediately.

Room Tip: Despite being on busy street not to much noise although street cleansing early morning can be heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trejan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, Directrice/ Hotel Manager at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Guest,

First we would like to thank youfor staying with us and we also thank you for your feed back.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Marseille and we want you to know how important it is to us to improve the quality of our service.

Once again we than you for your comment and we are looking welcoming you gain in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

Fabulously located in centre of Marseille, within walking distance to Vieux Port and yet rooms are excellently insulated that traffic noises wasn't an issue (my room was on 3rd floor facing Cours Belsunce). Room size was small but pretty comfortable and the finish was of good quality. Certainly a step above other chain hotels e.g. Ibis & Etap. Service was smiley, friendly and helpful and for the location and comfort, the price was a bargain. Breakfast choice was limited but I can survive on croissant & coffee in the morning and not much else.

Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ben2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience.
The quality of service is very important to us and we take your comment very seriously. We are still working on our breakfast but we are improving every day to meet our guests' expectations.
We hope to welcoming you again very soon!

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I was going to spend a long period (3 months) in Marseille, so I needed a good hotel, I spend 1,5 months going from hotel to hotel, until I found this one, and sped the rest of the period in it.

It was the best one from all that I tried, the hotel is new, clean, good staff, good internet, and it was cheaper than the other ones that I tried.

It's also very well localized, on the side of the Centre Burse, the local shopping mall.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vitor_zero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, Directrice at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Sir,

I finally take the opportunity to thank you for staying with us. It has been a great pleasure to have you staying with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future!

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Hotel Saint Louis
#29 of 130 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Hermes
#22 of 130 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN hotel du Mucem
#36 of 130 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture

Property: Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture
Address: 16 cours Belsunce, 13001 Marseille, France (Formerly Quality Hotel Marseille Vieux Port)
Region: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port is an all new hotel in the city center of Marseille. Deisgn, simple and cosy, this is the perfect hotel for a citybreak or a business travel. Every day enjoy our HappyTime "Pastis Bar" from 6pm to 8pm for a tasting of Pastis of all colors, of orangeade and lemonade home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing