We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff and centrally located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture
Ranked #39 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
greece
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff and centrally located hotel”
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed for four nights. The location of the hotel is perfect, just 10 min walking distance from Vieux Port and just across a bus and taxi station. The hotel staff was very friendly, all of them were speaking English(you cannot find easily people speaking English at restaurants, cafes etc) and they were willing to assist you with everything. The room we were given was nice, clean, with a window that was facing the main road but not spacious enough for two people. It didn't bother us though at all. The breakfast was Ok, fresh croissants every day but not a big variety.There was a kettle in the room and you could make your own coffee any time as there is no bar at the hotel and most of the cafes at the Vieux Port close at 19:00. A big asset was the free wifi at the rooms and the strength of the signal was perfect. You need to pin though the code every time you want to get access as it does not keep it in memory. I would definitely recommend it for those who want to stay close to Vieux Port.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irenegou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier B, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 11 November 2015
Dear Irenegou,

We thank you for having taken time to leave us a comment on our page Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that your stay was a success. Our team works on it hard on a daily basis.

By hoping to see again you very soon,

Very cordially,

Olivier B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    183
    75
    32
    15
See reviews for
44
180
26
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

The hotel is very conveniently located a 10 minute downhill walk from St Charles railway station and 5 minutes walk to the Vieux Port. It's not difficult to find, contrary to comments made by previous reviewers. Don't expect a large entrance, there's just a doorway for No.16 off the street into a very small foyer. It's next door to a shop called LONDON. Staff were generally courteous and Corinne, the manageress, was particularly friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was of good quality with sufficient variety of cereals, breads etc. Our room was clean and had a spacious ensuite shower. There was a safe and free wifi internet access. The rooms are a bit stark and would benefit from some pictures. Whilst it was a bonus to have a hospitality tray and kettle in the bedroom, tea/coffee was not replenished each day. The kettle was positioned on a shelf above head height, which constituted something of a health and safety hazard. Our room looked onto a side street and there was some noise at times, particularly bin collections in the early hours. The hotel was short staffed at breakfast time on a couple of days and items were not replaced on the buffet until guests requested them. These are all relatively minor points which did not detract from the enjoyment of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel-Lightbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 25 November 2014
Dear Travel-Lightbeam,

Thank you for sharing your experience with our trip advisor community.

We hope to see you soon for your next trip in our beautiful city.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

15 mins walk from the train station and just a few minutes to the old port, this is a good option in Marseille if you just want a simple, clean and central hotel. After the tiny entrance lobby, we were expecting tiny rooms, but ours was a decent double, with super modern bathroom. Unusually we even had a little tv room with two chairs separate to the main room. Strange, but welcome! Free wifi is a nice touch and worked really well. Plenty of late night snacking and drinking options around the area. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but they do offer a breakfast for an extra cost. Will stay again when in Marseille.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, Directrice/ Hotel Manager at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We've corresponded with the staff over arrangements for our little baby (5months) needs and the hotel was amazingly helpful. They put us in their biggest room because we have another child too (5yr old, we brought her bed). The room they've given us 409 was truly large with a huge bathroom. The hotel even arranged for us to have a baby bathtub as this room comes with a shower. The huge bathroom has a heater which totally make sense. In the evening, there is some noise but otherwise very quiet in the night. The bed and pillows are very comfortable. My biggest gripe with hotels is that they never provide enough hooks for clothes and towel but here they did a good job. The cleaniless though, for the floor is pretty bad. When we checked in, there were alot of crumbs on the floor, still there on the next day. The shower had footprints on day 2. I simply used bedroom slippers (from the 2euro shop) to avoid the crumbs. With the great service offered by the staff, it's worth overlooking this minor imperfection. The location is superb. Breakfast is good with pain de mie/baguette, butter cake, viennoiserie, jam, butter, nutella, biscotti, yougurt, cereal, fruit compote, tea, coffeee, milk, water, fresh fruits, kiri cheese, emmental, ham/salami/bacon and fried eggs.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foiegrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, Directrice/ Hotel Manager at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your feedback and we are glad your family and yourself enjoyed your stay with us.
We understand it is not always easy to travel wit children and did our best to make you comfortable.
We sincerely apologize for the problem you encountered and reinforced the control of our rooms.
We hope to have you back soon with your family nad thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We reached Marseilles late in the evening and the hotel was a good 15 minute walk from the train station. The lobby of the hotel was really small and we were kind of unsure what we had gotten ourselves into. But once we were in the room we were really happy with the facilities. Wifi was free and really fast which was something that you rarely find in other hotels. The breakfast buffet spread was limited but adequate. The hotel is away from all the construction in the city and hence very peaceful. I must add that it is not the best time to travel to Marseilles with all the construction going on for the "culture city 2013" award preparations going on.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgr031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, Directrice/ Hotel Manager at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feed back. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be happy to welcome you again in Marseille in few months to see all the changes that have been made. Still a couple of months and it should be better!

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nurmijarvi, Finland
Level Contributor
330 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This hotel is well situated near Marseille old port and shopping street. Staff was really friendly. Our room was modern and well sized with good bathroom and separate toilet. We even had little balcony. Staff was really helpful to tell about Marseille. Very comfortable bed. I didn't mind about noise outdoor, I'm not a light sleeper, but my friend had some problems with car horns and people screaming. Toilet wasn't well cleaned and we missed one big towel when we arrived, but when telling this to reception these things were taken care of.

- Free wifi
- Air condition
- Close to SNCF train station
- Close to shops and old port

When arriving at 11 o'clock in the evening and it was already dark, we walked two times past the hotel without finding it, because there is no good sign. If you are arriving at night time search big shop sign that says LONDON, the hotel is next to it.

The price was really good for this quality, especially when hotels are not very cheap in Marseille. I would consider to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want small balcony, separate toilet and bathroom request room 201.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cadhlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, Directrice/ Hotel Manager at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for this comment and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your satisfaction is very important to us and your feed back will help us to improve and give a better service.

We definitly hope welcoming you again in the future,

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Spent 3 nights at the Vieux Port. Really good central location. Only a few minutes walk to shops ,restaurants, port ,train/bus station. Opened this year, there is still no hotel sign so you have to find it by its address. Very small reception with lift/stairs to bedrooms adjacent. The bedrooms (ours was 212) are quite small with a double bed, wardrobe, very small table & chair and a small shower room. Obviously all new bedding, furniture etc and all very cleanTea and coffee facilities but not always replenished. We were on a b and b basis and the breakfast was good with a choice of hams, cheeses, yoghurts. Had hot breakfast on two days (scrambled or fried egg with bacon) but strangely not on third morning. Can be a bit chaotic if you take breakfast early. Staff are really helpful ie. one day we had no towels and a call to reception brought them immediately.

Room Tip: Despite being on busy street not to much noise although street cleansing early morning can be heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trejan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, Directrice/ Hotel Manager at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Guest,

First we would like to thank youfor staying with us and we also thank you for your feed back.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Marseille and we want you to know how important it is to us to improve the quality of our service.

Once again we than you for your comment and we are looking welcoming you gain in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Hotel Saint Louis
#31 of 131 in Marseille
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Le Ryad Boutique Hotel
#9 of 131 in Marseille
355 reviews
New Hotel Vieux Port
#29 of 131 in Marseille
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture

Property: Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture
Address: 16, Cours Belsunce, 13001 Marseille, France (Formerly Quality Hotel Marseille Vieux Port)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port is an all new hotel in the city center of Marseille. Deisgn, simple and cosy, this is the perfect hotel for a citybreak or a business travel. Every day enjoy our HappyTime "Pastis Bar" from 6pm to 8pm for a tasting of Pastis of all colors, of orangeade and lemonade home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing