We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, modern rooms, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture
Ranked #40 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel is very modern and clean. The rooms are well done, making the most of small spaces and the showers are wonderful. Every member of the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The location is very convenient, close to Vieux Port, tons of shopping, Cafes, restaurants, etc. staying here made our stay in Marseille even better.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heywood21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier B, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2015

Dear Heywoode21,

We thank you for having taken time to make us your feelings of your stay within Best Western Marseille Bourse Port.

We are delighted that your stay was a total success, we work on it hard every day to obtain the total satisfaction of our customers.

We hope to see again you very soon,

Very sincerely,

Olivier B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

Decent hotel with good (for France) sized rooms. Very clean but quietness was apparently overlooked during the reno. Our room at the back of the hotel lacked soundproof windows and had the unfortunate intersection with a mosque. Oh well, prayers over the loudspeaker were only five times a day. Speaking of the buzz, those same windows seemed to be allowing mosquitoes in every day such that we got bit pretty much every night and that was after killing a half dozen of them before lights out. Mosquitoes - really! Beds were firm, but good. Wifi was adequate, although patchy and slow. Breakfast provided was decent, but nothing fancy. Still, it was a nice inclusion in the price. Location of the hotel is close to all things you might want, but as with most foreign big port city hotels, a tad dodgy.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the mosque side (unless you like/need that) and check to see that your windows close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YYC_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier B, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2015

Dear YYC_Foodie,

We thank you for having taken time to make us your impressions after a stay within our hotel.

We are delighted that your stay was a success.

We are saddened by the inconveniences which you underwent. However, we are going to change very soon windows and it will allow more sound damping.

We hope to see again you very soon,

Very sincerely,

Olivier B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This Hotel is new (under 1 year I was told), very clean (both my room and facilities). It is located two blocks from the Port...all the restaurants, shopping, and touring (Old Town, Fort) are within very close and safe walking distance. I happened to be in town for a conference with several industry colleugues that were staying at multiple hotels in the area, after comparing comments from many, I felt I had chosen the best hotel option out of the others with me.

My room was not the largest but worked fine, Room was spotless no scrapes or wear or tear. Mattress seemed like it was new (If you like it firm) AC worked great (and couldn't even hear it when on). Breakfast was usual European fare. At the end of a 5 day stay I can say it was a great choice for me. Will try and stay next time. If looking at other hotel options for this summer...don't discard the value of the AC. Many hotels here either don't haver it, or does not work well according to comments I heard from others I was in town with.

Room Tip: I stayed on 4th Floor in back of Hotel. Which added to the quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rusty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier B, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2015

Dear Rusty420,

We thank you for having taken time to make your impressions on our page Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know, that your stay was a success and that he answered all your expectations.
We advise you for the next stay to contact us directly to propose you the best possible offer.

Very sincerely,

Olivier B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This great hotel is situated right in the heart of central Marseille, so it is perfect if you like the hub-bub of the city. The main shopping district is 5 minutes away and the hotel is about 1 minute off the main Canebiere.

The staff were very welcoming and helpful. We had a problem with our initial room, which was sorted out without fuss or question and we were relocated to another room within 10 minutes. If you are offered the choice of a room at the rear/side or the front, my advice would be to go for the front. Our initial room at the rear was quite pokey, and had little natural light as it faced another, taller building and the window was very small. The rear rooms also overlook a mosque, so you can hear prayers and general chatter in the street. The front room overlooked the Centre Bourse/Galleries Lafayette, which is in the process of being renovated, and this room was much larger and airier.

Sound-proofing is good and we slept undisturbed. Aircon very effective. Bathroom was very nice, and the shower excellent. Each room has its own safe. On the strength of our experience though, the rooms are definitely on the smaller side, but completely fine for our purposes (though got full up with our shopping bags!)

The hotel provides breakfast, which consists of a decent mix of continental pastries, breads, cheese and fruit. Coffee is so-so, but there are plenty of good coffee shops nearby. Wifi works on a code, but this is easy to remember and connection was excellent and reliable throughout the hotel (and outside!). Data speeds were average, but fine for catching up with the news and Facebook etc.

The hotel is new and the overall décor is practical rather than stylish, but it is a nice version of practical. The hotel is homely and welcoming, if not exactly cosy, and I would recommend it if you are looking to stay in the middle of this vibrant city for a great price. Most of the city-wide improvement projects are almost completed, so the harbour front – 5 minutes away – is back to its former self. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the front, rather than the side/rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattskiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2014

Dear MattskiLondon,

thank you for sharing your experience with our trip advisor community.

We're pleased to know that you enjoy your stay and that we satisfied our needs during your stay.

We hope to see you soon for your next trip in our beautiful city.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Great hotel, clean, tidy, helpful staff. Stayed in a room on the 1st floor at the back of the hotel which was quiet. Breakfast was simple (cheese, ham, eggs, toast, pastries) but exactly what we needed for a city escape. We also hired a car and parking was very convient in the city centre was there are lots of parking options but no discounts were given as a partnership with the hotel unfortunately. Hotel was reasonably priced and we did not feel we were missing anything by not being right on the port. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holly_flanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, Directrice/ Hotel Manager at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with us.
We are glad you had a great time in Marseille and we hope welcoming you again very soon.

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The room was smallish but quite adequate and very quiet even though overlooked the road. Reception staff extremely helpful and pleasant and Sabrina in the breakfast room was lovely. Excellent situation, near to everything and plentiful buffet at breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dunbossin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with us.
We are glad you had a great time in Marseille and we hope welcoming you again very soon.

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Plus points: We got a good cheap package deal on this hotel and it was central & comfortable - good bed & shower. Only one chair in a double though. Less good: the service: complaints about lack of sound on English language TV got rather silly excuses and no action in 5 days; requests for coffee and milk in the room had to be made every time ('not replaced daily' we were told). Room was often not cleaned after 5 hours out in town. So needs to sharpen up its act a bit - if it did, it could be better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PHBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with us.
We apologize about the problem with the English TV channel. We apologize about the problem with the english chanel. Unfortunatly it was beyond our control because of a satellite problem but I am sorry we were not able to fix it during your stay.
We try our best to make you feel like at home and we hope welcoming you again for your next trip to Marseille.

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Hotel Du Mucem
#36 of 131 in Marseille
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture

Address: 16, Cours Belsunce, 13001 Marseille, France (Formerly Quality Hotel Marseille Vieux Port)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range: £53 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port is an all new hotel in the city center of Marseille. Deisgn, simple and cosy, this is the perfect hotel for a citybreak or a business travel. Every day enjoy our HappyTime "Pastis Bar" from 6pm to 8pm for a tasting of Pastis of all colors, of orangeade and lemonade home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing