We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture
Ranked #39 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Quality hotel is a 3 star hotel, very close to the metro station as well as the port. We got off the metro and walked for ~5 minutes to get to the hotel. The rooms are very nice (make sure to select the one facing the street) and spot clean, and the bathroom is quite big (separate toilet and bathing room), going by the standards of the other 3 star hotels in Europe. All electronics were new and in a good working condition. Would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Take the one facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank shikha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2014

Dear shikha s,

Thank you for sharing your experience with our community tripadvisor.

We hope to see you soon for your next trip in marseille.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

I used to live in Marseille and know the city very well, so it was fun to go back there with my wife. We enjoyed our stay at Quality Hotel...very basic but clean and friendly staff with excellent breakfasts that are complimentary. Rooms have been redone recently, as well as bathrooms.

You will save money staying here instead of 100 yards closer to Vieux Port. Even though you can't see the water from this hotel, it is a 1 minute walk. If traveling on a budget is important to you, then I recommend this hotel. Also, with the new surface Tram that passes right in front of it, you can get anywhere in the city fast. The Vieux Port Metro stop is also very close.

Don't be afraid of what people say about Cours Belsunce neighborhood being dangerous. Just be street smart and you'll be fine!

The only drawback is it's noisy at night oftentimes with the Tram going by and people sometimes hollering in the street. But if you're used to Europe's urban atmosphere, this won't bother you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolinashorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback! And yes Marseille is a great city which has changed a lot and the Cours Belsunce is a good example of it.
We hope to have you coming back for your next visit in Marseille to see next changes!

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed for 7 nights to attend a conference. The rooms are small, but very efficiently thought out, and we were comfortable. We found the hotel to be quiet, and to have comfortable beds. The recently remodeled bathrooms are very nice.

We had a couple of small issues - the housecleaning missed our room, not once but twice. The staff was very apologetic, got us fresh towels, and gave us a free breakfast on our last day. The controls in the shower/bath were installed improperly and so you could not get the water set to a really hot temperature, because the controller was blocked by the bathtub. The water was warm/hot but not really hot, though the hotel has really hot water, as evidenced by the sink. This was a bit frustrating, but not a big deal.

We were on the street side, and we found the sound proofing to be good so we weren't bothered by noise. We had room 201 which has a small balcony which we enjoyed. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cds_SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, Directrice/ Hotel Manager at Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Madam,

Once again we are sorry! but we tried to find a solution with a plumber; not perfect but much better!
Thank you for staying with us and we are looking for welcoming you again.

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Located a few yards away from le Vieux Port ( where everything takes place ) this small hotel , in the middle of a multicultural district , provides you with brand new smallish rooms with impeccable bedding , tv set and Italian shower , a safe and a kettle to make yourself a cup of tea after the hectic hustle and bustle of Marseilles . You can have breakfast on the first floor in a rather small room , it's self serve and a continental thing only , no bacon and eggs and what have you !
. One bad point though is the sound proofing , so you had better opt for the rooms at the back of the hotel provided you don't mind the view on derelict housing at the back and draw you curtains .Then opt for the fifth floor !
The staff is efficient and smiling like a lot of people in Marseilles .When stepping out of the hotel don't imagine you are in a no-go area , it's only a peaceful multicultural district .

Room Tip: Choose the rooms at the back and fourth or fifth floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tantvalacruchealeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and happy you liked Marseille.

The Team and I thank you again and we are looking forward welcoming you again.

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hotel is located on a wide street, the Cours Belsunce that is about quarter of a mile from the top of the old port. It is quite recently that this whole area has been tarted up, and it is still pretty rough in most of the side streets round about.

Having said that, it is a good location. The hotel and tiny reception area are not impressive from the street, and there is no lounge or meeting area, but the breakfast room is bright and cheerful and the whole place is spotless.

The first room I was allocated was tiny, so small that I asked to be moved, and the one I was allocated was still very small, as were those of two of my friends. The third friend argued her way into a more spacious one! The beds are comfortable and all the fittings are good quality and work well.

Across from the hotel is the bus station and trams run along the street in front. You can buy tickets in a tabac ( there is one about 20 yards to the right when you come out of the hotel) or on the bus or tram. They are cheap to use, and take you to all the places you might want to visit.

The hotel staff are wonderful and so patient. There is a lot of building work going on outside that lasts well into the night, but the staff can't help that, and the rooms on the front are noisy.

Breakfast is good value and very nice. All in all a good place to stay for not a lot of money.

Room Tip: If you prefer to be quiet, ask for a room at the back or side of the hotel, but for fabulous views a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
The work going on near the hotel is almost done! and soon we will have a beautiful shopping center accross the street.
The team and I thank you again and we are looking forward welcoming you again.

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This hotel is well situated in the area near the old port. The hotel is spotless, the staff are helpful and speak English well. The room is on the small side but clean, well appointed and the bathroom is perfect. Breakfast is included when you book on line. The food is plentiful and well chosen.
All in all, an excellent place in Marseille.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and happy you liked Marseille.

The Team and I thank you again and we are looking forward welcoming you again.

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This hotel was in a great location near the old port, as well as on the tram line. Outside the hotel was a bit rough (as is the exterior), especially when we came in late at night, but the hotel was an oasis with extremely friendly staff, fresh, clean rooms, and a comfortable memoryfoam bed.

A very close and safe walk to the old port, and close to the train station. Make sure to take the main street up to the train station, since the more direct way cross through some very rough back alleys. The staff worked hard to make sure we had everything we needed, made a real effort with their English, and even provided us with some Marseille soap as a souvenir of our visit.

The value of this hotel as compared to the other hotels near the Old Port was incredible. Marseille can be a bit rough around the edges (although I found this to be a real part of it's charm), but was well worth the visit.

The Abbey (bare and crypt-like) and Notre Dame de la Garde (the nautical theme of the church was beautiful and down to earth - you could really feel the history families coming here to pray for the safe return of the fisherman) were some of my favourite churches in France. We also visited a number of excellent museums and the Le Panier District (it was a bit too quiet, but we did buy some nice crafts here). Unfortunately, the sea was too rough for a visit to the Chateau d'If. A lot of people come to Marseille for the Bouillabaisse, but my favourite was the Soupions - a simple dish of squid (calamari), garlic and herbs, served with bread and wine. A reasonable and delicious lunch.

I would definitely visit Marseille again (we weren't expecting too much, since it is very much a working class city, but it had a wonderful charm with a ton of history), and would certainly stay at the Quality Hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and happy you liked Marseille.

The Team and I thank you again and we are looking forward welcoming you again.

Sincerely yours,

Corinne Lebreton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Hotel Du Mucem
#32 of 131 in Marseille
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture

Address: 16, Cours Belsunce, 13001 Marseille, France (Formerly Quality Hotel Marseille Vieux Port)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range: £53 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port is an all new hotel in the city center of Marseille. Deisgn, simple and cosy, this is the perfect hotel for a citybreak or a business travel. Every day enjoy our HappyTime "Pastis Bar" from 6pm to 8pm for a tasting of Pastis of all colors, of orangeade and lemonade home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Marseille Bourse Vieux Port by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing