We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indeed a 5* Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu
Ranked #3 of 132 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Hotel is beautiful and very clean, the Old building was renovated wonderfully while still keeping its originality, at night it looks amazing
Good Food, very comfortable rooms and Good service (except for the night service at the bar)
hotel has a small access road from the street which makes it very peaceful and quiet while still central and accessible to old Marseille

Room Tip: Chose a high rooms facing the port if you want a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexKayv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear AlexKayv,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We were thrilled to learn that you enjoyed, as much the place as the service, your stay with us. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 2,005 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Despite an initial poor experience, mostly due to initial opening problems (c/f my initial review), I kept visiting the hotel from time to time and I have to say it is now really a great place to stay in town.
The location is magnificent and the staff had made tremendous efforts to overcome the rough beginnings.
The service is now in the five-stars range and everything and everyone is dedicated to make your stay truly unforgettable if you are a guest or just stopping by for a drink or a meal.
The terrace offers the best view on Marseille harbor and Notre Dame de la Garde hills, and at the same time, is by far, the quietest place in town to come and have a drink, even late at night, which is not so obvious in Marseille.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Michael B,

Thank you for mentioning our efforts. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We all look forward to welcoming you back here very soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Can you imagine the thoughts that would have gone into converting an old hospital into a super luxury hotel? Well i do not need to imagine , I had the privilege of experiencing it! A beautiful drive takes you to the entrance of this master piece. The staff at the reception was super efficient and it did not take more then 5 minutes before I was escorted to my room. The rooms are tastefully done with all amenities and what is really amazing is the big terrace which is part of the room over looking the harbor. The bathrooms are big and spacious, one does not feel crammed. Unfortunately I had only an overnight stay, but given the next opportunity I would certainly stay longer and enjoy the beautiful place and the spa. A little expensive but worth every cent that one spends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gourmetboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Gourmetboss,

Thank you so much for your kind comments which we will happily share with our teams.

We certainly hope to welcome you back very soon.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely business and leisure Hotel close to the old harbor of Marseille. Rooms are very pleasant, heavily beds and large shower. Great service throughout the Hotel and the outside bar and view are spectacular. Absolutely recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank stalenbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear stalenbu,

Thanks for recommending us! We all look forward to welcoming you back here very soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Had a 2 night stay at this hotel on business. The room was fantastic, spacious, comfortable and best of all Quiet. I had no view despite being on the top floor, but to be honest I didnt get much time to enjoy that sort of thing anyway. Free Wifi, comprehensive television selection in English (at last why cant all hotels in europe do this) Breakfast was good, staff all excellent. No chance to sample restaurant, although we did have some Bar food the first night as the restaurant was booked out by the Arsenal team. This food was good but very hard to justify the price, event being a 5 star hotel. Thats my only gripe. Recommend a stay here anytime.

Room Tip: My room was on the top floor to the right of the hotel. Very quiet but overlooked a derelict buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn_D123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Glenn_D123,

Thank you for your kind words. We were thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you will have the opportunity to sample our brasserie next time.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Location is quite good and it is old building with luxury room. Staff is quite friendly. But we were stuck in the elevator when we took the elevator. It didn't work and out of service. After informing the related people, we were taken out after 5 mins.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on Trip Advisor. We were happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our apologies for the elevator issue mentioned in your review.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The InterContinental Marseille Hotel Dieu has expanded the site of what was once a hostel for pilgrims to Notre Dame de la Garde, which sits across the old port atop the highest point in Marseille. While drenched in history -- the old port of Marseille dates back an unbelievable 2,600 years -- the hotel is modern, with all the conveniences one expects of Intercontinental.

The interior design is contemporary, a striking contrast to the antiquity (real or honored) of the building itself, yet, it is comfortable in every respect.

The executive room was spacious with every amenity, though closet space was modest. The bathrooms are lovely, with a separate shower and an enclosed toilet.

There is a bar (Le Capian) and a restaurant (Les Fenêtres), both of which serve outdoors on a capacious balcony, as well as indoors, in smartly designed rooms.

The hotel opened in April 2013 and to be honest, they are still working out some aspects of what is considered "five star service." While staff were mostly kind, there was a sense that they were over-stretched, and one admitted that they were short-staffed. The remains of room service (empty trays and dirty dishes) tended to linger in the hallway for hours, which wasn't a good look. Requests were sometimes necessarily repeated over the course of 20-30 minutes, and restaurant staff did not hesitate to show their exasperation when asked twice. That said, Julien, at the outdoor bar, was charming and prompt, and had the gift of remembering guests' preferences. Baptiste, the room service manager in the evening, was single-handedly satisfying guests requests in rooms, and doing a fantastic job of it for a one-man show.

This hotel has the potential to be one of the world's great hotels and I wouldn't hesitate to return...after giving them a little more time to work out the bugs.

Room Tip: Although the garden view is lovely, it is worth the small extra cost for a room facing the old port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Rosemary-NY,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide the best service possible. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our service is.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Palais-de-Justice
C2 Hotel
C2 Hotel
#6 of 132 in Marseille
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu

Address: 1 Place Daviel, 13002 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 132 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range: £145 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu is perfectly located overlooking the Vieux Port, right beside the oldest district in Marseille known as the Panier. The hotel is housed in a listed historical monument dating back to the 18th century and boasts a really beautiful terrace, where you can rest after a busy day admiring the Vieux Port. Nearby the Calanques must be seen! Marseille is the vibrant Mediterranean's capital of Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing