We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully restored old building close to the vieux port”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu
Ranked #4 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
brussel
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored old building close to the vieux port”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This hotel is only open since about 6 months now, and it is a nice (expensive) renovation of an old nursery. It is pretty close to the vieux port and probably beats the traditions Sofitel by it's location and look. The rooms are nice, modern and everything is done to guarantee a good night's sleep (all perfectly sound proof and fabulous box spring beds). The service is generally at a high level (although we had some minor "misses") and staff genuinely friendly. If you are disabled, probably you should think twice before booking this hotel, as the main access is by quite some stairs. The main issue is, as others have told before, that the architect has not thought about a properly sized breakfast room for a 200 room hotel... The main room is too small and they try to solve it by opening the winter garden etc, but it takes away some of the overall positive experience. Generally, i would recommend it though !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belgian-Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Belgian-Brussels,

We were thrilled to be able to offer you a memorable stay at the hotel.

Concerning disabled people, I assure you that all have been thought to guarantee them access to all the area in the hotel.

Thank you for sharing your experience and hope to see you back in Marseille very soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,254
    370
    136
    58
    17
See reviews for
293
914
60
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotel is very luxurious. The staff are incredible and couldn't be more attentive to your every need. The beds are extraordinarily comfortable. The restaurant is excellent. The breakfast is fantastic. We have a deluxe harbor view room with wonderful views over the Vieux Port and up to Notre Dame du Garde.

We booked this hotel with WhataHotel. This is the best travel agency we have ever used. Because we booked with them, we were able to get a guaranteed upgrade, a €50 credit in the restaurant, free cocktails (and what cocktails they were), a bottle of champagne and breakfast included all for the lowest price I was able to find online or booking directly with the hotel.

We travel a great deal and never book before checking with WhataHotel. We strongly recommend this hotel and booking with WhataHotel. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbsam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Barbsam2014,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the hotel. We were very pleased to learn that you really enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
480 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is a very stylish hotel indeed and, for us, just fell short of 5 stars but not by much. The building itself is wonderful - they have done an outstanding job renovating the 18th century hospital - preserving the original features and at the same time making the interior a modern and ultra-comfortable hotel. The rooms were lovely - we had executive rooms with a terrace overlooking the harbour. They are beautifully designed, with well-equipped bathrooms (both a large shower and a bath) and excellent Clarins toiletries. The terrace was wonderful - it was large and under cover with a great view and a comfortable sofa and chairs to sit on. The weather was too cold during our visit for us to use it much, but in summer it must be a great addition to the room. They were very generous with the fruit and chocolates left as a welcome gift - plus they gave us a small bottle of the Provence liqueur Rinquinquin. The rooms must also be well sound-proofed - we were here on New Year's Eve and heard nothing of the noisy party that was going on in the bar and restaurant area. The downsides - it is very expensive, as are the three eating places in the hotel - but maybe you get what you pay for? Breakfast on New Year's day was a bit of a scrum - they had a large number of guests and had to use an overflow "tent" in the interior courtyard which wasn't brilliant. I had some niggles controlling the temperature in my room - the system seemed to automatically keep the temperature warm - and we had one day where the room hadn't been done by the time we returned at 2pm, but these felt like small things that could be put right - after all the hotel has only been open since April 2013. All round this is a very classy hotel and I would come here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan8552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Susan8552,

Thank you for taking the time to post a full review of our property.
We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction.
Please accept our sincerest apology for the temperature system problem in your room.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We were very impressed with the new Intercontinental Hotel in Marseille. Great contemporary design within an old building. Stunning location, five minutes walk from the Old Port. We tried the spa, although the pool is quite small it is nice if you manage to get it at a quiet time. The spa and treatments were great.
The hotel bar on the saturday night had a great atmosphere. The staff throughout the hotel were very helpful.
We had a deluxe room overlooking the Old Port, albeit we were stuck in the corner of the building.
Worth the 10 minute walk to the new Muceum complex.
We will be back as soon as we get the chance.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Harry W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We were very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. The pool size is due to the fact that we had to build within existing spaces of this historic building. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We actually stayed at the hotel for our wedding Anniversary in September, and we received wonderful and friendly service from the hotel. The hotel is beautiful, and very well located, very close to the port and surrounding restaurants.

We were provided a upgraded room. The room was very comfortable with large king size bed, and good size bathroom. We were surprised with a complimentary bottle of champagne and a plate of macaroons, for our anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Cindy Y,

We were thrilled to be able to offer you a memorable stay at the hotel for your wedding Anniversary. Thank you for sharing your experience and hope to see you back in Marseille very soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Owners renovated this former hospital to a stunning standard - bold clean stone with view over vieux port. Excellent bar. Superb huge room with marble bathroom and walk in shower. Great concierge and front office staff.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Highgate_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Highgate_Wanderer,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We were thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

At last Marseille has a world-class hotel! I have been in and out of the city for more than two decades and frequently made hotel arrangements for others, and until now the city never offered a hotel on a par with its economic importance and tourism potential. Mercifully and belatedly, all that has just changed.

The Intercontinental Marseille Hotel-Dieu is not only the best in Marseille but a great experience in itself. It occupies a magnificent and respectfully restored classic structure on a hill with a breathtaking view of the old port and Marseille’s iconic hilltop cathedral. Our welcome on arriving at the hotel early in December was exceptionally cordial (a Mr. Rahbé), the room comfortable, clean and pleasantly decorated. The hotel is an easy and pleasant five minute walk to the center of the business district and about the same distance to the spectacular and newly restored St. Jean Fort and the new Museum of the Mediterranean and to the Museum of the Vieille Charité- it could hardly be better located. Numerous restaurants, including one of my all-time favorites in France, Chez Etienne, are close at hand. We had a package which included the breakfast buffet, which we found to be excellent and on a par with some of the better hotels in Asia. The staff was uniformly courteous and helpful. Overall my wife and I had a particularly favorable impression of this hotel which we found to be a very good value for this level of comfort. We recommend it highly to others. It is a new (and obviously well managed) plus for France’s Mediterranean capital.

Room Tip: For a good view, request NOT to have a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatProvence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear ExpatProvence,

Thank you for taking the time to write a such detailed review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to read such lovely comments from our clients. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and its location.
We hope to see you again in the future at the InterContinental Marseille – Hotel Dieu.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Palais-de-Justice
C2 Hotel
C2 Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Marseille Palm Beach
#16 of 131 in Marseille
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu

Property: InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu
Address: 1 Place Daviel, 13002 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu is perfectly located overlooking the Vieux Port, right beside the oldest district in Marseille known as the Panier. The hotel is housed in a listed historical monument dating back to the 18th century and boasts a really beautiful terrace, where you can rest after a busy day admiring the Vieux Port. Nearby the Calanques must be seen! Marseille is the vibrant Mediterranean's capital of Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing