We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SURPISINGLY STUNNING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu
Ranked #3 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
656 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
“SURPISINGLY STUNNING”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I had always thought that Marseilles was the seedy home to the French Connection so when we drove up to this Palace I was so stunningly surprised.
The Building is Magnificent as its locale, sitting on a hill over the harbor.
The lobby was new and crisp abut personal in its feel and touch.
The rooms were big with great views of the harbor.
A shot walk to the harbor, though the steps back were a good workout, and an equally short walk to good. shopping.
It was enough to make we want to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Venamo,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Marseille – Hotel Dieu on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and also Marseille.

We all look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,210
    353
    124
    54
    17
See reviews for
275
877
56
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Most beautiful room in a beautiful hotel. Restored 18th century building but modern on the inside. Staff very attentive. Room service speedy. Would definitely return. Location up some stairs but the elevation gives a view of old port. Close to all big tourist attractions

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you very much, Peter R, for taking the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Marseille – Hotel Dieu.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we all look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in some beautiful 5 star hotels in the past, but let me tell you, this one takes the cake! It's a newish hotel (around 1 year old), and it is the perfect mixture of old world charm (the building dates back to the 12th century) and modern chic. The rooms are tastefully decorated, large (by any standard (not just European)), beautifully lit (nice combination of halogen and incandescent lighting), and the beds are extremely comfortable.

Regarding the service, it is absolutely first class. All staff members are attentive and courteous. My wife and I were here for six nights and we felt treated like a king and queen. Our one complaint was that our pillows were too soft. Unfortunately it wasn't until the 4th night that my wife found a card that said if you'd like a different type of blanket or pillow to please let them know. We called the front desk to request firmer pillows and they were immediately brought to our room. Problem solved!

Regarding their spa, it was absolutely gorgeous! I love a sauna and steam room, and theirs was stunning! The steam room was the nicest I've ever seen. It was magnificently tiled, it had a hard shower and misty shower in it, as well as a hose and a sink. Absolutely incredible...

My wife and I are looking forward to returning in the future.

Merci Intercontinental!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AviSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear AviSch,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share these kind and detailed comments on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the service, the spa and the room.

We can’t wait to welcome you back soon at the InterContinental Marseille – Hotel Dieu.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and it was one of the best hotels that I have every stayed at. The reception staff were really helpful and friendly. We ordered room service for the 2nd night as the restaurant was fully booked however the rib eye steak was perfect. The room service attendant even came to set the table for us and we received little dessert treats complimentary. Even though on our last night we were really disappointed with the room service food because we ordered the exact same as the night before, it lacked consistency. The mashed potato was just a whole half cooked potato dry in a bowl with no bread and margarine instead of butter received and the gentleman who delivered really couldn't be bothered with anything or setting the table. Disappointed because the lady who delivered room service the night before was lovely. There is a nice terrace on the top where guests can enjoy their drinks and the cocktails are amazing. I would like to mention that since your hotel is in France, maybe you should consider sourcing your toiletries locally instead of from U.K like other Intercontinentals or 5 star hotels in France that have L'occitane and Hermes and you have so many lovely hand crafted soaps from Provence region that you can use. I was slightly disappointed in that but none the less we had a perfect stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladylucy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear ladylucy_11,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the InterContinental Marseille – Hotel Dieu.

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the reception staff and the hotel.
We feel sorry for the disappointment during your last night. Please be sure that we will share these comments with our team.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
101 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Intercontinental is splendid. It opened in May 2013 after a complete and impressive renovation of the former Hotel Dieu. Just steps from the renewed port area, fort, Mucem and the Panier historic district, this masterpiece of a hotel is definitely worth a stay.

The executive rooms with terraces overlooking the port and Notre Dame de la Garde are my favorite rooms.

The restaurants and terrace bar offer fine fare and the spa is lovely. There is an indoor pool.

What a relief to have such a stunning property in the heart of France's second city...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace overlooking the fabulous port. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hegira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Hegira,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the InterContinental Marseille – Hotel Dieu,, especially the location, your room, the spa and the restaurants.

We all look forward to welcome you back as soon as possible.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

After recently staying at the intercontinental Westminster the Intercontinental Hotel in Marseille had some living up to do. And it certainly did live up to expectations.

The hotel is very grand and have done an outstanding job refurbishing and maintaining the old structure, whilst transforming the interior into a contemporary boutique feel hotel.

The hotels location overlooked the vieux port and had a selection of restaurants across from the main building, all of which were ideal for lunching with a glass of wine and watching the world go by, and shops were within a 5 minute walk. All in all the location could not have been any better and is definitely suitable for all round access without a hire car..if you like walking.

The rooms were exceptionally clean and the balcony we had was well worth the upgrade.

The amenities were also well appointed, with a gym, 2 excellent restaurants and a very relaxed bar area which played live acoustic and piano music, a perfect start to an evening or end of an evening.

There was a pool, albeit small and cold watered, however it suited the venue and gave it a 'spa' feel.

All in all a must if your travelling to Marseille. Looking forward to our return trip back to this amazing city and exceptional hotel.

Room Tip: Port/Front facing with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leperce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear leperce,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Marseille – Hotel Dieu.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the location, the restaurant and the service.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is an old hospital that was recently renovated. The exterior is very traditional, they have retained the magnificence of the old structure, while turning the interior into a very contemporary, stunning showplace. We opted for a room with a balcony, it cost more, but was absolutely worth it!
We were in a room on the third floor facing the harbor (I think it was #331), it was a view that postcards and movies kill for. The hotel was a 3 minute walk to the harbor, where there were quaint restaurants, vendors selling all kinds of wares, and corner groceries. We chose to purchase wine, cheese, and baguettes at one of these grocery stores, and sit out on our balcony for dinner.
It was amazing!

Room Tip: Face the harbor, get a balcony on either the 3rd or 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Robinkh,

We thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments about your stay at the InterContinental Marseille – Hotel Dieu.

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the renovated building and your room.

We all look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Palais-de-Justice
C2 Hotel
C2 Hotel
#5 of 131 in Marseille
290 reviews
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu

Property: InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu
Address: 1 Place Daviel, 13002 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu is perfectly located overlooking the Vieux Port, right beside the oldest district in Marseille known as the Panier. The hotel is housed in a listed historical monument dating back to the 18th century and boasts a really beautiful terrace, where you can rest after a busy day admiring the Vieux Port. Nearby the Calanques must be seen! Marseille is the vibrant Mediterranean's capital of Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing