We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu
Ranked #3 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is a landmark in Marseille. The service and quality are top notch, making it a great value as well, particularly by European standards.
I highly recommend the breakfast: served Buffet style with an excellent selection and service.
The rooms were clean and spacious and the bedding was very comfortable. There is ample closet space, and a nicely-sized bathroom. The location is also fantastic, looking down a promenade to the harbor.
We got a room on the North side of this hotel--the area without the view--which was an excellent value. Really surprising. Of course, if you want the best view, you'll have to look toward the harbor. The pool is indoor, pretty, but remote and difficult to find. There is a wonderful lounging area with a spectacular view above the hotel entrance, like a mezzanine.
I'd recommend a taxi to and from the train station as it is much more convenient. We could easily walk to many good restaurants, but it is about a 10 minute walk to the metro station. Most guests staying here are not metro-riders, but we did not experience snobby staff or fellow guests.
The concierge staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: Best views are on the South side, but you'll get great value for the rooms with a courtyard view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomDM94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear TomDM94,

We thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially your room, the breakfast and the concierge service.
We are sure that your detailed comments will help many travelers.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon at the InterContinental Marseille – Hotel Dieu.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,160
    343
    120
    51
    16
See reviews for
264
840
53
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Unexpected for Marseille. Beautiful Building especially at night when it is lit dramaticaly. Elegant Interiors with good size and very comfortable rooms. Incredible reworking of an old Hospital in a perfect location in the old town overlooking the old Port. Designers really over did themselves...even the hotel China in the Restaurant was incredible. Cant imagine how much was spent on this rebuild but whatever it was it was worth it. Staff was consistently knowledgable and welcoming. Concierge team was especially impressive. Expensive for Marseille, but, worth it.

Room Tip: any room with a view (which is most rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Howard M,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Marseille – Hotel Dieu.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the building, the decoration and the location of the hotel.
Thank you for your kind comments about our staff, especially the concierge service. We won’t miss to let them know.

We all look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

A great experience of accommodation !
This Hotel offers everything a demanding visitor can expect. It was a fabulous 5 days stay for us and our 7 year old son. The building which is one of the oldests of the town) is recently renovated and it's architectural design is absolutely armonized with the general architectural line of the city.
The staff behave in a very professional and helpfull way. The consierge service is excellent!
The harbor view room, transfer the visitor to another period of time! The interior design of the room can be characterized impressive, clever and of eclectic minimal style.
The visitor has the chance to enjoy inside the room his breakfast without extra charge.
This hotel amplified our beautiful stay to the exceptional historical city of Marseille!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliacosmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Eliacosmos,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us.

We are really glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the InterContinental Marseille – Hotel Dieu, especially the renovated building and your harbor view room.
We will share with our staff your kind comments, especially with the concierge service.

We can’t wait to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I spent a long time trying to choose the best hotel in Marseille, and boy did I get it right! From the moment we arrived at this splendid urban regeneration of an 18th century hospital, the experience was fantastic. The staff were highly attentive, and could not do enough for you. If you are used to high standards then this hotel will not disappoint. The hotel is set in a prime position in Marseille, to be honest i'd say it's a landmark! Our room brought tears to my eyes due to the amazing view and the amazing terrace! My husband and I are well travelled but we have to say that this is the best hotel that we have stayed in. A big thank you to the Intercontinental, Marseille for making our wedding anniversary a truly memorable one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaAJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear RebeccaAJ2014,

We thank you very much for sharing these kind comments about your stay at the InterContinental Marseille – Hotel Dieu.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed the hotel staff, the building, your room terrace…

We all look forward to welcome you back as soon as possible.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
656 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I had always thought that Marseilles was the seedy home to the French Connection so when we drove up to this Palace I was so stunningly surprised.
The Building is Magnificent as its locale, sitting on a hill over the harbor.
The lobby was new and crisp abut personal in its feel and touch.
The rooms were big with great views of the harbor.
A shot walk to the harbor, though the steps back were a good workout, and an equally short walk to good. shopping.
It was enough to make we want to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Venamo,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Marseille – Hotel Dieu on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and also Marseille.

We all look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Most beautiful room in a beautiful hotel. Restored 18th century building but modern on the inside. Staff very attentive. Room service speedy. Would definitely return. Location up some stairs but the elevation gives a view of old port. Close to all big tourist attractions

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you very much, Peter R, for taking the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Marseille – Hotel Dieu.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we all look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in some beautiful 5 star hotels in the past, but let me tell you, this one takes the cake! It's a newish hotel (around 1 year old), and it is the perfect mixture of old world charm (the building dates back to the 12th century) and modern chic. The rooms are tastefully decorated, large (by any standard (not just European)), beautifully lit (nice combination of halogen and incandescent lighting), and the beds are extremely comfortable.

Regarding the service, it is absolutely first class. All staff members are attentive and courteous. My wife and I were here for six nights and we felt treated like a king and queen. Our one complaint was that our pillows were too soft. Unfortunately it wasn't until the 4th night that my wife found a card that said if you'd like a different type of blanket or pillow to please let them know. We called the front desk to request firmer pillows and they were immediately brought to our room. Problem solved!

Regarding their spa, it was absolutely gorgeous! I love a sauna and steam room, and theirs was stunning! The steam room was the nicest I've ever seen. It was magnificently tiled, it had a hard shower and misty shower in it, as well as a hose and a sink. Absolutely incredible...

My wife and I are looking forward to returning in the future.

Merci Intercontinental!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AviSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear AviSch,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share these kind and detailed comments on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the service, the spa and the room.

We can’t wait to welcome you back soon at the InterContinental Marseille – Hotel Dieu.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Palais-de-Justice
C2 Hotel
C2 Hotel
#5 of 131 in Marseille
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 96
#1 of 131 in Marseille
325 reviews
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu

Property: InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu
Address: 1 Place Daviel, 13002 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu is perfectly located overlooking the Vieux Port, right beside the oldest district in Marseille known as the Panier. The hotel is housed in a listed historical monument dating back to the 18th century and boasts a really beautiful terrace, where you can rest after a busy day admiring the Vieux Port. Nearby the Calanques must be seen! Marseille is the vibrant Mediterranean's capital of Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing