We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu
Nearby Hotels
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ibis Marseille La Valentine(Marseille)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alex Hotel(Marseille)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$71
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,092)
Filter reviews
2,092 results
Traveller rating
1,429
416
160
67
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,429
416
160
67
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelclarins spaterrace barnotre dame de la gardeold portconcierge teamhistorical buildingvieux portindoor poolroom servicefive star hotelupgraded rooman upgradebreakfast buffetpanier districtspecial thankswonderful view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
522 - 527 of 2,092 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

It is a pleasure to meet such excellent employees. Regardless if they are management or not the highest standards are maintained throughout.

Book early especially dining

Worth trying other local food venues too as menu does not change a great deal.

Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Plan ahead Concierge will assist far more than most, really good nice people working here
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FUNIntruder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear FixerMena,

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay with us.

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we won’t miss to share these kind comments with our employees.

We all look forward to welcome you back soon at the InterContinental Marseille – Hotel Dieu.

Yours truly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Wonderful and comfortable modern hotel with spectacular views and excellent service. Audrey, the concierge, gave us terrific recommendations for touring and was extremely helpful in booking a memorable excursion to Cassis and the Calanques. Highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Sue S,

We thank you very much for taking the time to share these kind comments about your stay at the InterContinental Marseille – Hotel Dieu.

We are thrilled to learn that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed Cassis and the Calanques. We won't miss to share your feedback with our Concierge Audrey.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Whilst I have stayed in many Intercontinental Hotels and enjoyed very good experiences generally, the Mon Dieu is probably the best. A truly stunning building with a sensitive conversion combining the old and new, this hotel is in a great location above the "Vieux Port". Close to many restaurants in the area. The staff were lovely, particularly the reception staff. This was a very memorable experience, alas for only one night. The only slight negative was trying to get a drink on the terrace when returning from dinner and I could not catch the waiter's eye despite not being busy. Hence, the small minus for service. A little difficult to find by car due to the one-way streets and would benefit from some additional sign posting. However, a wonderful hotel truly deserving of its 5 star status.

Room Tip: Look for a room overlooking the Vieux Port.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul_mcdowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear paul_mcdowell,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay with us.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay especially the building, the location and the staff, especially the reception staff.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon at the InterContinental Marseille – Hotel Dieu.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The long awaited 5 Stars hotel in Marseille exists…..finally! For the last 35 years the nearest 5 stars hotel was….in Cannes. The city of Marseille and Intercontinental took the challenge of renovating Hotel Dieu, previously the city hospital and the most wonderful old building in town. Congratulations! Hotel Dieu is now a milestone in your tour on the French Riviera…a building that you must visit together with the Mucem museum and Notre Dame de la Garde, the auspicious Marseille Basilique. It seems that Intercontinental like the challenges of old buildings with the National Bank of Sydney and the Carlton in Cannes.
As to the hotel services 2 thumbs up for the Concierge desk, young and knowledgeable about…everything!
However thumbs down for restaurants and bars services, all of them without exception, and also for the housekeeping. Service is hardly at the level of the cheapest join on the harbor. But it is France a country where people will never accept to serve others with a smile and will never care for details. As much as Air France will never be Singapore Airline or Cathay, no one in France and even less in Marseille will serve you an orange juice with a smile and some kind of gratitude for spending your money with them. This will be the real challenge of Intercontinental.
Overall, this Hotel Dieu is a success and definitely the only place where to stay in Marseille.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelstarSpore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear TravelstarSpore,

We thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the InterContinental Marseille – Hotel Dieu on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and we will share your kind feedbacks with our team, especially with the concierge service.
We are sure that your detailed comments will be helpful for many travelers.

We all look forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours truly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just got back from long weekend with my family. The hotel is wonderful, beautifully renovated retaining all the original features but very modern a well. We got an upgrade and the rooms was great, we stay in a lot of nice hotels and this was up there with the best.

Both the restaurants were superb

The other thing is that the staff are great, professional, helpul and polite - All in all a very well managed hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisj334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
François P, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Chrisj334,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us.

We are thrilled to learn that you had a wonderful stay at the InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu. Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel, the restaurants and the staff.

We all look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews