We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive!”
Review of Miramar Restaurant

Miramar Restaurant
Ranked #396 of 2,160 Restaurants in Marseille
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
259 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Expensive!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

At Euros 65 for the bouillabaisse, one expects the best, and it probably is, but it's too much for a normal person to eat -- seems a waste.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HampsteadCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    87
    60
    39
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This restaurant is a little pricey, but the food was great and the chef continuously sent out little tasters that left us full and happy. Get Marseille's signature dish here!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kscorreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg manitoba canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Overpriced mediocre food”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Boulliabaisse was horrible and overpriced too boot. Went on a local recommendation. Easy to see why rated so poorly of all the restaurants. Asked to order dessert before meal cause takes so long. I think not.
That being said the amuse bouche was great as was the sea bass in puff pastry and the view incredible but not worth the prices at all.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5ontheroad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Long established seafood restaurant on the Vieux Port”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was recommended by the hotel concierge, who remarked that I would not come back hungry. She was right! Although I agree that it was pretty expensive, it was a good dinner experience. Service wise, I was looked after extremely well from the moment I entered with stall engaging in conversation with all diners. I had a very nice amuse bouche and then a large bread dish with loads truffles arrived, perhaps rather too much pre starters. When ordering my main fish course, the waitress inquired what starter I was having. I chose the squid and she recommended the sole as being light. A nice touch this as the squid was very substantial and would have fed two, but delicious with garlic and parsley. The sole was plain grilled and beautifully cooked. Complimented by a good bottle of rose, it was worth the visit, but the bill was indeed quite sizable and there is better value in Marseilles.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul_mcdowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Classic Boulliabaisse place”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Around the Veiux porte there are a ton of places to eat seafood, the Miramar was recommended to me and didn't disappoint. The bouillabaisse is enormous and delicious, the waiter recommended a local wine and it was a little spendy but worth all the small touches. When they seat you outside they offer sun hats and the table and linens are pristine. view of the port and the morning market make it a perfect treat to eat here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ballyholmebake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miramar Restaurant also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Miramar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing