We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome!”
Review of O'Bidul

O'Bidul
Ranked #1 of 2,194 Restaurants in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$29
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Pisogne, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“awesome!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

If we ever go back to Marseille, we'll do it because of this place.
A bit not easy to find, a bit frightening experience getting through spontaneous night flee-market on Canebière but the dinner was worth it.
As other visitors who left feedback here, we suggest you book a table: the chef has refused a few walk-ins.
We got everything from that night's menu and were not dissapointed in any of the courses. Paid 74 Euro for the dinner (2 starters, 2 main courses, 2 desserts, water-wine-coffee), consider more than fair.
As for the taste - we live in Italy, eat out a lot, we are picky & choosy, difficult to be impressed. In this place we were absolutely happy about everything.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank let_it_rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    670
    134
    18
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calpe, Espagne
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Bravo tripadvisor and the chef”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Following a visit of marseille, we decided to try this interesting restaurant concept, the chef does it all and extremely well. The market, the menu, the cooking, service and so on. According to what's available, he prepares a menu consisting of a choice of 2 first, 2 mains and 2 desserts. Priced at 17€ for 2 courses it is a real value. We had the poached egg and Serrano ham salad, nicely dressed with walnut oil and capers (the poached egg would have been better if warm), for main course a herb breaded "lieu noir" fish with creamed polenta and my choice, an excellent homemade duck leg confit which was a real treat (for once, not salty). For dessert, one of the best I have eaten recently, diced fresh mango with an espuma of mascarpone and pistachio and crumbled speculoos....the glass of house wine at 3€. Bravo chef! highly recommended..need to book the restaurant as during the time we were eating, he refused at least 12 guests.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Michaeldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voronezh, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must have visited”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Delicious french cuisine. The chef serves himself. Prices are very reasonable. My recomendations for everyone.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sergey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“sympathique”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

modern stylish restaurant, cute little place. food is super high quality , fresh, seasonal. like. the cook/servis is super efficient. nice atmosphere, feeling french.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTrottLobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A tastefull trip!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I am studying in France with an exchange program and my sister came to visit me.We decided that we want to taste the french cuisine so we searched on tripadvisor for a good french restaurant in Marseille.We chose L'obidul from the reviews we saw on the site and so we booked a table for two earlier the same day we wanted to go (a reservation is necessary). Arriving at the restaurant we saw that it was very cozy. The place is small (justifying the necessity of the reservation) in a very "bistro" like way!! Everything is running through the hands of the chef as he is the waiter, the chef and the maitre. The menu is not that big obviously, because the chef is the man behind everything and the food is not pre-cooked. From the entries we had the "tartine cancoillotte et porc", for main courses I had the "rumsteak (cheval),marrons et quinoa" and my sister the "cabillaud, champignons and quinoa" and for dessert the "venine choco/combava". Needless to say that everything was perfect even if we had our doubts about the cheval(=horse)! The flavors were a match made in heaven and everything was very well executed!The price was very reasonable concerning the quality of the food as we paid an overall of 34 euros. The chef was very polite and friendly and willing to answer every question we had about the menu. Undoubtfully it was one of the best tasting experiences we had!Thank you for the exceptional french cuisine! It's definately worth going again! :D

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank ELENI P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O'Bidul also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to O'Bidul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing