We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not excellent”
Review of O'Bidul

O'Bidul
Ranked #1 of 2,160 Restaurants in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$28
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but not excellent”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The restaurant was so highly rated on trip advisor.
We are not fussy but really it was not our best culinary experience.
The chef/ waiter in one person is extremely friendly and helpful.
The meal was good but nothing great, simple home cooking.
Chicken could have had more taste.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    647
    134
    17
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Great food, very relaxed.”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a great meal at this restaurant. Excellent food and a very relaxed evening. Took us a while to find but we'll worth the effort - a very small restaurant with a really personal service. One of the best meals we had in Marseille. Don't miss this one!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank FQTraveller360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Friendly, fresh and fabulous”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We booked a lunch and a dinner so that we could experience both at this tiny 16 seat restaurant. We were not disappointed, the chef speaks excellent English and is friendly and very organised....he does the lot! A varied and modern French menu on both visits, the dishes were fresh and well presented and of course delicious. Meat is cooked very rare so if you like it a little more better ask! Wine by the bottle or carafe, not too expensive. Bookings a must, only open Thursday, Friday and Saturday. My only small criticism was one desert was presented with whipped cream from a aerosol tin(seems common practise here), freshly whipped cream would have been so much nicer! Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank glensy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Make sure you book and dont miss out”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Yet again trip advisor doesn't disappoint. We toured the south of France for a few weeks, having arrived in Marseille, attempting to eat here. Luckily, we were due to depart from Marseille too, so decided to book in advanced. The chef is the only member of staff working out the restaurant. He takes your order, serves and cooks the food. Although the restaurant is very small, the ambience is just right and although he's running the ship alone, he never seems stressed or out of his depth and I believe that's where he has perfected his art, by keeping it simple. Within the few hours of us being there, he turned away various strays, even though he had space. The reason being, he maintained the perfect level of customer service and quality with his food. Most other chefs would have been tempted by the money but clearly, that’s not this chef's priority. Thanks for an amazing experience during our last night in Marseille.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank PCandMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pisogne, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“awesome!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

If we ever go back to Marseille, we'll do it because of this place.
A bit not easy to find, a bit frightening experience getting through spontaneous night flee-market on Canebière but the dinner was worth it.
As other visitors who left feedback here, we suggest you book a table: the chef has refused a few walk-ins.
We got everything from that night's menu and were not dissapointed in any of the courses. Paid 74 Euro for the dinner (2 starters, 2 main courses, 2 desserts, water-wine-coffee), consider more than fair.
As for the taste - we live in Italy, eat out a lot, we are picky & choosy, difficult to be impressed. In this place we were absolutely happy about everything.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank let_it_rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O'Bidul also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to O'Bidul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing