We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smelly, dirty and overall not good” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premiere Classe Marseille Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premiere Classe Marseille Centre
Ranked #69 of 130 Hotels in Marseille
Milano
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Smelly, dirty and overall not good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

The reception and entrance may fool you. It looks cute and welcomming then you take the smelly lift and it all changes.
The room is very small and immediately gives the impression of being dirty.
Then you look at the bed sheets and towels and find hairs and dust and realise it actually is dirty.
Then you walk into the toilet.....and the smell is just unbearable. It smells like old cigarette buds mixed with something worst...
We even put the Do not disturb sign on the door (as thankfully we had been camping therefore had our own bedsheets to put on the bed!) but this was ignored and our room was "cleaned" anyway.
The bathtub shower...well I'd rather not shower in it.
Even the corridors to the lift are dirty and smelly.
Wi-Fi is also slow but adequate for emails.
The location of the hotel is the only thing it had going for it. It is very central and close to the port and shopping roads. The reception staff is also quite friendly.
I however wouldnt't reccommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lellepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    195
    125
    50
    32
See reviews for
78
158
45
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were there for two days and then carried on to Nice. The place is good, relative cheap, clean, 15 min walk from the port and close the St-Charles SNCF. We had difficulties with parking our car, but I think it is not necessary for the city. The neighbourhood was also ok, considering that Marseille is not a glamorous city. The bathroom had a bad odour, which was not better even if we changed room. Generally basic service for a basic budget.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Panos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premiere C, Responsable commercial at Premiere Classe Marseille Centre, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Google Translation
Cher Client,

Nous vous remercions de nous faire partager votre vision de notre hôtel.
L'avis de nos clients est une source d'amélioration constante, nous prenons actes de vos commentaires puisqu'ils sont pour nous une source d'amélioration.
En espérant vous revoir prochainement.
Jean-Pierre D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targu mures
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

It is in the city center, but on a more calm, less noisy street. Marseille in general is not a very polished city, dirty streets, lot of grafiti everywhere!, haotic trafic, lot of doubtfull people, homeless, junkies, etc. The glitzy, high end streets are corner-to-corner with the very doubtfull ones! The hotel is close to the port and close to a high-end shops-street, about a 10 minutes walk from the StCharles Railway-station.
Rooms pretty basic, but clean. Wasn't to noisy, the air-conditioner works a little bit 'slow' but for the evenings and nights that we were at home, it was enough.
we didn't take the breakfast for extra charge, as far as a Carrefour supermarket is just around the corner, with fresh baguettes , pastry, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuisine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Got a room on the 1st floor with a king sized bed. Room size was alright with ample space to walk. Very basic room. 1 tv, 1 wall plug and 1 table with a chair. The hotel looked pretty new to me. Toilet and room was clean. It was enough for me to just rest. It's quite a walk from Marseille Saint Charles, and I mean it! On a good note, it's just a corner away from the shopping street. Breakfast buffet comes at a cost of €4.99 which I didn't get. On the first night, someone sneakily tried to open my door, thankfully it was locked from the inside. Had no problems the next 2 nights. Overall, if you don't mind the distance from the station, and slope it's on, it's alright. However I wouldn't recommend it to my friends.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank costal3516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed one night there during a professionnal trip.
First surprise came when the receptionnist anounced us that I couldn't pay by credit card but only by cash. I asked for an invoice and assured that my company would pay it quickly.
Second surprise when, more than a week after getting back in Paris (no sign of any invoice), she declared that a invoice couldn't be sent until I pay myself for the night.
I would describe it as unprofessionnal and dishonnest.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lilian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marseille hotels

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We booked a room 2 month in advance. What a surprise it was when we came and were told that our booking was cancelled (4 people 2 rooms) and "We have send you an email 1 hour ago!! Read it!". The receptionist refused to give any explanation, to help or find another room and to speak English. She asked us to go away, now and immediately, because we were covering her view. But only until suddenly she heard 2 of my friends speaking Russian, and magically she's got 2 rooms available at this moment. Rooms and bathroom were dirty and horrible, someone was smoking in the room and it smelled really bad, but it was better than sleeping on a street. We were also offered a breakfast for some extra money, but a kind receptions kindly recommended my friends in Russian to not take it.... I have never had such a negative experience in my life, though I travel often.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank krivcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

The hotel is right at the city centre having bus stop 211.41S,54 nearby . Bank , Mini Supermarket , a lot of canteen/ cafetoria near vicinity. We have booked three 3 bed room rooms we are allotted one in 2nd floor another two rooms in 5 th floor. The A/c in 5th floor rooms not much functional but made alright after report in the 2nd day as the first day was the 15th August ,which is a Public Holiday, no service was available. The rooms are big and good. The hotel is situated on the top side/higher side of the road ,Rue Lafon. Such is the slope of the road we have to climb the road to the hotel difficult for handicapped person to travel quite often up and down. Neat ,clean budget hotel. Breakfast is available at 4. 99 Euro. Two lifts are available for the floors to get in. The metro Perfecture is just a KM away.

Room Tip: 2nd to fourth floor occupation is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kumaresanams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Opéra
Ibis Budget Marseille Vieux Port
Palais-de-Justice
Hotel Moderne
Hotel Moderne
#79 of 130 in Marseille
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
B&B Hotel Marseille Euromed
#75 of 130 in Marseille
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Préfecture
Music Hotel
Music Hotel
#51 of 130 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Préfecture
Hotel de la Prefecture
Hotel de la Prefecture
#103 of 130 in Marseille
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premiere Classe Marseille Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premiere Classe Marseille Centre

Property: Premiere Classe Marseille Centre
Address: 13 rue Lafon, 13006 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Préfecture
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Premiere Classe Marseille Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Fastbooking and Hotels.com so you can book your Premiere Classe Marseille Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premiere Classe Marseille Centre Hotel Marseille
Premiere Classe Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing