We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel, but served its purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Premiere Classe Marseille Centre
Ranked #66 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Birmingham UK
1 review
“Basic Hotel, but served its purpose”
Reviewed 24 July 2009

I was abit worried about staying in this hotel after reading previous reviews, but its not at all as bad as what it seems. The room was very basic, but as the price is cheap you cant expect luxory. The room was cleaned everyday and the air con worked fine for me. The staff were really friendly and spoke good english. The only thing i didnt like about the room was the fact there is only a few hangers to hang your clothes and theres no carpet in the rooms. The breakfast buffett is quite nice too and quite cheap.
This hotel is in a GREAT location, Marceille city is within walking distance. You can walk up to Castallene and catch the 19 bus which takes you straight to the beach, also the metro is right around the corner which can take you all around marseille.
All in all its a basic but clean hotel.
Next time i come to Marseille i would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetsetter121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    208
    134
    53
    33
See reviews for
81
172
47
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Central Portugal, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

This is a good centrally-located hotel within a 15 minute walk of the St. Charles railway station, a 10 minute walk of the port and less than 5 minutes to the main shopping areas of Rue de Rome and Rue du Paradis. The hotel is just up from Rue de Rome where the number 21 bus will take you directly to the chalk cliffs called 'Calanques' at the destination stop called 'Luminy'.

The area is not too clean, with graffiti and litter in the streets, and some unsavoury characters hanging about, but it's safe. However, I wouldn't park a good car outside, put it inside the hotel car park as I'd guess there is a high chance of it being vandalised, broken into or stolen. The hotel has a security guard at night who stands outside on the street corner just up from the hotel entrance observing all movement into the hotel building which is reassuring.

Don't expect top luxury - the entrance, dining area, corridors, lift and rooms are all clean and tidy, but this is a budget hotel after all. Fittings and fixtures are basic. I paid EUR 52/night in high season for an air-conditioned room, a price you'd really be struggling to beat in central Marseille. Every day I was at reception the hotel was full, and reception staff were turning away disappointed customers who'd arrived in Marseille without a hotel booking.

The staff were pleasant and helpful and were more than willing to answer my (sometimes detailed) questions, like checking the local Council website to see if the Calanques cliff area was open or closed due to fire hazard.

The breakfast was good too, with a hearty choice of food and drinks in a fully-stocked buffet service for EUR 4.80, not expensive, especially compared to other hotels in Europe.

I'd say this is a good hotel to go to if you want a clean room in central Marseille at a budget rate, but it's not for fusspots who expect all the extras. It's simple but good.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank levado656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

If you're looking for a very cheap bed for the night in Marseille, the Premier Classe will give you that. Yes, the rooms are very basic and it is a bit shabby, but if like us, you are using the room just to sleep in then it's ok. The area itself is not great, a bit shabby but then most of Marseille is a bit shabby, though it is pretty close to the Vieux Port and other areas. Staff were friendly enough and had basic English. Air-con worked for us.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemec79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

The most basic hotel I have ever stayed at in my life! Orange lino on the floor, hospital beds, hardly any light in the bathroom... A psychatric hospital room would seem friendlier... If you are looking for a 2 star hotel in Marseille centre avoid this one and for almost the same price offer yourself an upgrade at the St Louis 2 star hotel near La Canebiere / Le Vieux Port.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiphany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2007

Stayed in this hotel for three nights simply because I booked in advance. It was very Spartan, no wardrobe only a few hangers on the wall, no drawers, a chair for only one person. Air conditioning worked well and was silent. My Bathroonm was fine but again very spartan. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone who was looking for comfort .Little better than a hostel really. Beds were tubular steel but strangely enough ours were comfortable and the bedding was clean.Breakfast was the usual with bread, cereal, yoghurt etc. At 4.50 euro it was fine. The area outside was very dirty and run down. It was near the metro which is a plus and there was a nice little restaurant called La Fourchette opposite which did Italian meals, and not expensive.The reception desk were very pleasant.Summing up I would say this was all right just for somewhere for a bed for the night and not to spend any time in, but beyond that I would look for a better hotel. Old saying.YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghEsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2007

It was revolting. The area was horrible in itself - though the hotel is very close to the metro.

The hallways and room stank of stale smoke and mildew [and I smoke!]. The beds were camp beds. The floor was cheap lino from 70s school rooms. The bathroom was horrid. The air conditioning didn't work, and it was 27 degrees outside.

Everything about the place was disgusting, from the lobby to the lifts to the hallways and most importantly, the rooms.

It was so bad I wrote off the cost of the room as a bad judgement and managed to find a room at an Ibis [where you know what to expect at least!]. And having spent 5 consecutive weeks travelling to France, I thought I knew what to expect.

I don't know what star rating this hotel is supposed to have, but i would just pull it down and start again.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — it was simply below par and disgusting. The room was just unaaceptable. Not even a student would like it.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Vacation-Junkie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2007

This hotel was in a good location but there was no air conditioning working at the time and outside was very loud. decent price but you need A/c in Marseille in July. Its a must.
Room: The room was basic with a double bed, a desk and a chair. There were reading lights over each side of the bed but that just made you hotter at night. The floor wasn't clean and the corners were filthy.
Price: We got a special of Euro46 per night which was relatively inexpensive for Marseille and it was during the Tour de France Marseille leg.
Cleanliness: Not up to my standards. The corners were dirty and I didn't feel comfortable walking around without my shoes on. The bed was ok but had an old smelly blanket on it.
Bathroom: The shower was acceptable with hot water and good water pressure.
Location: Good location to walk to the port and visit all the sights. We didn't have a car and you can get to the hotel from the train station or airport by bus/metro. The cab drivers tried to rip us off by quoting Euro30 for a 3km ride from the train station to the hotel. It was really Euro6.50 so beware.
Staff/owner: The front desk staff was friendly, helpful, and all knew how to speak English which is a plus.
A/C: no A/c but I think they were installing new ones during our stay. The room was HOT without it. We were sweating all night.
TV: There was a small TV in the room, all channels were in French.
Breakfast: overpriced buffet breakfast. You would be better off going around the corner for a coffee and a croissant.
Kitchen: N/A
Internet: N/A
Security: You leave the room key when you leave the building and the front desk is staffed 24/7. They never checked our identification or asked for our names which was a little unnerving.
Laundry: N/A
Linen/Towel: Towels and Linen are included in the price.
Remarks: I don't think I would stay here again.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — no a/c, prostitutes around the corner.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kamaa222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Palais-de-Justice
Sylvabelle Hotel
Sylvabelle Hotel
#116 of 131 in Marseille
227 reviews
B&B Hotel Marseille Euromed
#83 of 131 in Marseille
110 reviews
Opéra
Ibis Budget Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palais-de-Justice
Hotel Moderne
Hotel Moderne
#91 of 131 in Marseille
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premiere Classe Marseille Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premiere Classe Marseille Centre

Property: Premiere Classe Marseille Centre
Address: 13 rue Lafon, 13006 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille > Préfecture
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Premiere Classe Marseille Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premiere Classe Marseille Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premiere Classe Marseille Centre Hotel Marseille
Premiere Classe Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing