We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (957)
Filter reviews
957 results
Traveller rating
251
448
157
64
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
448
157
64
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsle pharogreat hotelthe bell boyvieux portold portminute walkquirky hotelmini barmain roadsuperior roomconvenient locationbars and restaurantscoffee machineport areanotre dameharbourarty
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 957 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I've recently returned from a long weekend away in Marseille with 9 friends. We booked the New Hotel of Marseille early and received a great price on a room-only stay. We were all v pleasantly surprised on arrival, as the price we paid certainly didn't reflect the standard of the boutique hotel we got - we thought we were going to get the equivalent of a Travel Lodge!

The location is great, just on the edge of the hustle and bustle of the old port, and easy to walk to the restaurants and bars. The hotel itself had a great pool, spacious rooms, fab modern art and friendly staff.

I'd heard several negative reviews from friends prior to visiting Marseille and I'm happy to say they were completely unfounded. The night-life was brilliant, the city is beautiful, lots to see and do and it's alive with cool modern art. We booked an e-bike tour prior to our visit and would thoroughly recommend it - the electric bikes were fun and it was a great way to see the City, plus the queues for the little tourist train were crazy.

I would certainly recommend Marseille for a short trip away and I would highly recommend the New Hotel for anyone visiting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahLouiseBlackshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Luc_de_Bodisko, Director at New Hotel Of Marseille, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Guest.
Thank you so much for your good review. We do our best to satisfy our guests and it is always a great satifaction for the staff to have positive feedback. It is true that Marseille is a great city where lots of events are organized throughout the year. We would be happy to welcome you again during your next stay in Marseille.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We recently spent a very pleasant week in Marseille, staying at the New Hotel. We would find it extremely hard to find fault with any aspect of the hotel. The position is extremely handy for just about anywhere centrally in Marseille, an easy 10-15 minute walk from the center and the harbour. The hotel is immaculate and run very well. The restaurant is reasonably priced, especially if you happen to like the dish of the day, which at dinner would be about about 13 euros. Three course dinner is offered at 27euros and 39euros, depending which section you order from, or you can pick as per al a carte. The standard of food is very good and presentation is quite imaginative. My wife speaks good French, I'm pretty hopeless but found little difficulty with the exception of a couple of the younger waiters/bar attendants.

I would imagine the standard of all the rooms is good, but I would recommend pushing the boat out a little bit further if you can and staying in one of the suites which are on the top floor and have a terrace which gives a panoramic view over Marseille. It was obviously a bit dearer, but not that much more, and well worth the extra.

I will return to the hotel again and I would recommend it to any person thinking of visiting Marseille.

Room Tip: Superior terraced rooms on top floor are superb.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Luc_de_Bodisko, Director at New Hotel Of Marseille, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Guest. Thank you for your nice comments. It’s a great reward to learn that our guests are happy with their stay in our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again when you are back in Marseille.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

good hotel, nice location, fair price.
swimmingpool was very confortable
kindness of customer service
quality of service
we didn't eat breakfast
but the restaurant and bar seem to be very nice
overal rate of the hotel is good-very good

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Luc_de_Bodisko, Director at New Hotel Of Marseille, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you so much for your comments. We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at the New Hotel of Marseille. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We were a bit dubious about marseille but it is absolutely amazing - so much to do and really beautiful.
The New Hotel is awesome. It's really funky with big rooms, a lovely pool and really helpful staff.
It's a short walk by the harbour side to the old port bars, clubs and restaurants, which are excellent.
We got a good deal on Booking.com

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelicJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Luc_de_Bodisko, Director at New Hotel Of Marseille, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you so much for your comments. Next time please don't hesitate to use our website www.new-hotel.com to book your room at the best price.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel parking lot was really hard to find. Get a local map and call the desk for directions and be clear before you head off! One way streets and a hidden parking lot were tough with jet lag.

Once there it was fabulous. I recommend larger rooms with Pharo views and a balcony if you like to spend time in your room. The sunsets were worth it!
Breakfast was excellent!! The baguettes alone were fantastic! Great quality meats, cheeses, juices, yoghurt, cereals, and ripe fruit. Service was strong to the end and edgy art was always in view.

Great local beach 5 minutes from hotel with a nice locals cafe for rose across the street. If you like to swim I suggest walking along the shore south, lots of places for a nice dip in the Mediterranean.
Dinner at the hotel was great too. Foie gras to die for! Great wine list that was supported by a color palette. Nice touch.

Friendly support staff too! They care about their guests.Expensive but no regrets.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melvin1825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Luc_de_Bodisko, Director at New Hotel Of Marseille, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

We hope to see you again for your next trip in Marseille. Thank you for your comments. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews