We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value and Location, but not Boutique.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Hotel Of Marseille
Ranked #16 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Blue Mountains, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Value and Location, but not Boutique.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The location is in easy walking distance to most popular attractions in Marseille, and very close to the bars and restaurants of the old port. The staff were friendly, but the Concierge was exceptional. He couldn't do enough for us, especially to help us find the type of private boat tour we were looking for.
The hotel is modern, but lacks the character of many of the older hotels in the city. It is trying a bit to hard to be a funky, trendy, boutique hotel, when actually the layout and small room size is far from boutique. Black lights and foam cut outs in the hallways are tacky. The celebrity themed art work throughout the hotel is a bit too Vegas. However the pool and common areas were open and inviting.
Cleanliness is not high on the priority list here. The room had a very stale odor, common to a lot of European hotels, where some guests still don't get what no smoking means.(From the pool you could see numerous guest with their heads out of the window, having a smoke, with all the smoke wafting back into the hotel!). There was stains on the ceiling and carpets and black mold throughout the bathroom.
Compared to other hotels in the area, its is very good value, and if you don't plan to spend too much time in your room, you will enjoy the location immensely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elenriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Luc_de_Bodisko, Director at New Hotel Of Marseille, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Doug,
Thank you very much for your comments. We are taking note of your remarks to improve our services. Indeed there are many things to visit in Marseille and its area and our Concierge is an expert. We hope to welcome you again for your next stay in Marseille.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    383
    131
    56
    31
See reviews for
74
403
45
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at New Hotel of Marseille on our weekend trip to Marseille. The hotel was trendy with cool art hanging in the lobby and lounge areas, the staff was friendly, helpful and overall very pleasant. The pool was a bit small but there was always room to lie down. And the water was a perfect temperature for the hot days. The bar was cheap and the bartenders friendly and able.

The rooms were spacious and despite a bit of a hard bed and a somewhat noisy air conditioning unit we sincerely enjoyed our stay. I would warmly recommend this place to friends and family and will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Marseille.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFritzner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Luc_de_Bodisko, Director at New Hotel Of Marseille, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your recommendation. We will welcome you with pleasure for your next visit in Marseille!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

5 minutes walk to the beach and 5 minute's walk to the centre of the port. Ideally located. A lovely hotel, modern interior decorated with a pool and deck chairs for the amazing sun we were lucky to have. On our last night we ordered room service, it was delicious! The front of house member of staff was so helpful and friendly, well spoken English; his name we remember is Nicholas. Definitely worth a 2nd visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fridders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Luc_de_Bodisko, Director at New Hotel Of Marseille, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Fridders,
Thank you so much for your comments, hope to see you again at Newhotel of Marseille!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This place is ideally placed away from the main port area and the busy bars and bistros.

The hotel is opposite the entrance to Le Pharo Palace which is well worth a visit for the gardens, view and photo opportunities. 10 minutes walk takes you to the busy end of the port and there is even a small local beach within 2 minutes stroll.

The staff were very welcoming and although early (as ever) our room was ready with a free upgrade to a superior room.

There are plenty of modern pictures and art items which go well with the modern feel of the entrance, lobby and corridors. Wont be everyone's taste but we liked most of it.

Room was big enough for the two of us with a sofa bed a welcome option in the seating area.

The highlight of this place for us was the evening menu at the restaurant. 29Euros for a 3 course fixed price menu, limited choice, however each dish was quality and the Entree, Plat and Dessert de Jour all worth asking about as there was some fabulous surprises.

Even if you dont stay here, its worth a visit to have an evening meal here.

There is an Nespresso machine in the rooms but at 2.50Euros per pod, its a wee bit expensive. Solution is to visit the local supermaket and but their compatable pods at 4Euros for a box of 10.

Commendations to staff who are mostly young, friendly and enthusiastic and made our stay a welcome one.

Thanks

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool area give a good view, however they also have the main road that passes b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burnieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Luc_de_Bodisko, Director at New Hotel Of Marseille, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks to you for your comment, it’s real big pleasure to read your review and share it with the staff. We hope to welcome you again for your next stay in Marseille.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is located in the Vieux Port at walking distance to the old part of the city. And if you walk on the other direction, a beach and Vallon des Auffes, which is beautiful and where there are great seafood restaurants.
The décor is very modern, artsy and the common areas are awesome. The pool is very nice and the service great, so you can end the afternoon with a drink relaxing poolside.
The rooms are good, but nothing super fancy. They are spacious and have all the amenities you need in a place where you will spend most of your time around the room.
What I was impressed about was the helpfulness of the staff. You want a reservation to your favorite Bouillabaise place, Nicholas will get it for you. Recommendations for cous-cous, just ask them. Would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hernan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Luc_de_Bodisko, Director at New Hotel Of Marseille, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Hernan,
Come back again, it will be great pleasure to welcome you for your next stay. Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel had terrible wifi and very unfriendly staff, except for the bell boy. The location was good. It felt quite old and run down- the bathroom smelt of raw sewage and mold, although it looked clean definitely not worth the price. Dirty room service trays in hallway for 3 days.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rae F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Luc_de_Bodisko, Director at New Hotel Of Marseille, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Rae,
We are very sorry about your comment. Thank you to help us to improve our product. We will take care of the points you mentioned.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I only stayed here for one night, but I really enjoyed this place. The hotel is very bright, with lots of modern art at the walls, a great pool and poolside terrace and a very friendly reception desk.

The room was also great: spacious, excellent beds, spacious bathroom with lovely soaps. The coffee machine is Nespresso, an added bonus.

Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Luc_de_Bodisko, Director at New Hotel Of Marseille, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you so much for your comment. It will be great pleasure to welcome you again for your next stay in Marseille.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Of Marseille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Of Marseille

Property: New Hotel Of Marseille
Address: 71 boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#27 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hotel Of Marseille 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Hotel Of Marseille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Marseille Le Pharo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing