We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Les Gens de Mer Hotel
Ranked #97 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Me and my sister stayed here for one night on a cycle tour from Calais to Marseille. After booking, I read some reviews and was worried by some of them that indicated that the area was not safe. Rubbish! The Hotel is less than 15 minute's stroll, from the old port, along (2) wide and well lit roads. Returning home, at around 11pm, we felt completely safe. I don't know what some (see Jan R) are going on about. This area is better than many city centre areas.
As for the hotel - good value for money. A bit dated, but our room was big enough and clean enough. The breakfast was fine and the staff friendly.
They took good care to store our bikes somewhere safe.

Room Tip: Don't read just one reveiw!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 54Steve_Gee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Les Gens de Mer Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

The hotel was OK, the room was clean when I walked in, everything seemed fine. Then I started getting bites all over my arms and legs, although when checking the mattress it didn't look particularly worrisome... turns out they were hiding behind the headboard, which is the only unmovable furniture in the room (it is stuck to the wall, but has a space between the wood and the wall). After 4 days I was finally convinced there were bedbugs, and went to the reception. They tried to convince me it was mosquitoes, but they did eventually reimburse our last night there (I stayed another day because they damage had already been done and I was going home where I then did an entire treatment on all my stuff from the trip). They also said they called someone who was supposed to come after our departure and treat the entire room.

Conclusion: look around carefully, and if anything looks fishy, run. There was a corner of the mattress that looked suspicious when I first checked, but I think I was lying to myself when I decided not to worry about it. Don't take that shortcut.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 November 2012

no frills but clean, well positioned for transit travellers due to being so close to city centre, station, and bus station (including airport transfer) but maybe not so ideal for tourists staying longer because the 2nd arrondisement can be a bit dead especially at nights.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This hotel is not so far from railway station and we walked that only few minutes. This way was little bit troublesome. The road was dirty and full of rubbish, and the local inhabitants were looked dangerously. But with the hotel we were satisfied. It is only 2* hotel, but was clean with good services - tasty breakfast, pleasant receptionist.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mathieu920
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This 2-star hotel was much nicer than two of the 3 star hotels we stayed at during this trip. Although small and the bed was small and hard, everything else met our needs. We were pleasantly surprised! Free internet is a great asset too. This hotel is not in a nice neighbourhood though - be careful when wandering the streets after dark.

Room Tip: The wireless signal is much better closer to the ground floor.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western La Joliette
Best Western La Joliette
#41 of 131 in Marseille
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Marseille Centre La Joliette
0.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Marseille Euromed
B&B Hotel Marseille Euromed
#79 of 131 in Marseille
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Marseille Centre Euromed
Ibis Marseille Centre Euromed
#22 of 131 in Marseille
768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Du Mucem
Best Western Hotel Du Mucem
#33 of 131 in Marseille
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Suites Marseille Centre Euromed
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Gens de Mer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Gens de Mer Hotel

Address: 25 rue de Forbin, 13002 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Hotel Class:2 star — Les Gens de Mer Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Les Gens de Mer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing