We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice 3 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Tulip Villa Massalia
Ranked #24 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I stayed here because the cost was much lower than the hotels at the port (which is where I stayed last time I visited Marseille). We paid 125 euro per night as compared to over 200 euro for the hotels I found at the port. We spent the two weekend days at calanques, so this area worked out well for us. We took a taxi one night to the port area and only took about 10 min (18 euro).
The hotel is very nice, clean and modern looking. We loved the room and the bed was very comfortable. No complaints at all.
The night we arrived (about 9:30 pm) we wanted to walk somewhere to get something to eat because we had just drove in and wanted to stay near the hotel. We walked into the bar area and asked the bartender if there was somewhere to eat in walking distance. He confronted two other workers and they all said "no, the only place in the area was the hotel". The bar area and the restaurant were completely empty so we decided to walk down to the beach (less than 5 min walk), we were very surprised to find many great restaurants and bars. We had no idea why they kept this from us, but we had a great meal in a nice Italian restaurant.
The second night we stopped in the bar for a nightcap. The bar is nice looking but had a funny smell. The cost of drinks is ridiculously expensive and I agree with other reviewers about the staff there. They acted like they didn't want us there. This was not the case with the front desk staff. They were very friendly and helpful.
The last issues I have is they charge you to park in their own parking lot -12 euro per night. and breakfast is 21 euro.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripMember081820152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMassalia, General Manager at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

Dear bs_cb,

Thank you for your review concerning your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to hear you liked the area.
As far as our staff is concerned, please be insured that we improved the quality of service of our staff so that you feel welcomed in all places of our hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Jérôme BILLY
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (945)
There are newer reviews for Golden Tulip Villa Massalia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

Very noisy Hotel.

Such noise into the room (heat system at the roof) that we asked for another room.
After 1 hour and 4 calls we obtained a new room at level 3.

Breakfast very expensive (21€)
Tiny Swimming pool

Flee !

Room Tip: Avoid last floor (4)
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pierrick06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMassalia, General Manager at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

Dear Pierrick06,

We would like to thank you for taking time to give us your review following to your stay in our Hotel.

As comfort and satisfaction is at the heart of our preoccupations, we have taken good notice of your comments and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon again so you can see for yourself the improvement of our facilities.

Best Regards,

Jérôme BILLY
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The good:
Location is near the sea front. Marseille is not much of a holiday destination, but for a short break this would be fine.
The rooms were good, there is a nice pool and seating area. Interior looks smart.

The Bad
I sometimes thought the staff thought they were doing us a favour by serving us at the bar. The service was either slow or absent. Lots of sighing and scowling from the bar staff especially. The food was very average. For conference facilities, it was rubbish, as the conference rooms had no projectors and few other facilities.
Really, the bar service was unhelpful and awful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TheGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMassalia, General Manager at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

Dear TheGP,

We would like to thank you for your comments following to your stay at the Villa Massalia. We are sorry to hear it did not match your expectations.

Please be ensured that your comments have been treated by our F&B Manager so that the service is improved.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Jérôme BILLY
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Away from the busy city of Marseille the Hotel is in a fairly quiet location, I say fairly because there is a busy roundabout on its door step,however to the rear is a horse racing track and golf course which the pool area overlooks.Pool area is of modest size but is very clean and a relaxing place to be.Be quick to get a sunbed in peak season.Are stay was in Early August
The staff were all very polite and helpful.
Loved the bar area, dark and tranquil,contempary decor. All made for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Best rooms are those overlooking the race course and pool which is a the rear of the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harleydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

Dear harleydays,

We would like to thank you for taking time to write a review following to your stay in our hotel. Our entire staff is happy to be at your disposal for any help.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again for your next trip in Marseilles

Best Regards,

Jacques CHESNET
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I liked this place. Very good position for being in Marseille. The area is quite and safe. You can walk to the beach and restaurants on the beach side. The Hotel is quite and confortable. Rooms are big enough and clean. Nice view. Spa and outside pool very noisy and croudly: too many people and children. Breakfast there's a lot of choise, not always excellent quality but Ok.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eggs47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Dear Eggs47,

We would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Villa Massalia and are happy to see that you appreciated your stay.

We have indeed a lot of people at the swimming pool during the summer and are sorry to hear the noise disturbed you.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again for your next stay in Marseilles.

Best Regards,

Jacques CHESNET
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This is a good hotel for business. It is located in an un-interesting area of Marseille but not far from the Vieux Port and not too far from the beach. Having a car is definitely required.

When it opened a few ago. I thought it had a good chance to become one the best hotels in Marseille. The design was bold and it brought something new to the hotel scene in Marseille. Unfortunately business has been disappointing. So well trained staff is now replaced by interns, some maintenance is postponed etc...Wifi coverage is patchy. It gets better near the elevator but then you have the noise of the elevator. The fitness area and the swimming pool are very small.

The most disappointing is by far the food. Totally worthless. Pretentious, expensive and bland. The selection of wines is the same. When I stay here I go for dinner in the Vieux Port area.

I stay here because it is conveniently close to my clients office and I know that I can have a good night of sleep. But I avoid to spend any time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carnetdaventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Dear Carnetdaventure,

We would like to thank you for taking time to give us your impressions following your stay in our hotel. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed.

Our staff is at your entire disposal at all times to help you with any issue. We do indeed have trainees; it is indeed very important to us to give young people the chance to learn how to work in a four stars hotel.

We change our Restaurant menu every two months so we hope that you will find a meal that matches your expectations next time you come to visit us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.


Best Regards,

Jacques CHESNET
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Travelled with my wife and 2 yr old son and my brother-in-law and stayed here for 4 nights.

The hotel is located about 10 mins drive from the Port, about 5 mins drive from the Marseille team's football ground. It is next to a lovely park which is nice for walks in the evening and playing for the kids. Not sure what it would be like to get to/from the hotel using public transport but we had a hire car so it wasn't a concern.

Parking was underground at 12 euros a day.

Arrived at 130AM, no problem for the hotel it's 24/7 check-in. Rooms were very nice, two deluxe sea view rooms, spacious, nice, comfy beds and view of the golf course and sea beyond it. Beautiful.

The staff were fantastic and very accommodating of my son's dietary needs. We had travelled with his soya milk/yogurts (don't ask, he only eats/drinks one type at the mo, he's 2 and doesn't understand monopolies are bad :-p ) They stored them in the restaurant's fridges and provided them whenever needed, without any fuss.

Special mention goes to the breakfast and lunch/dinner managers, I can't fully explain how pleasant and charming they were, it was v unexpected if I'm honest. It was a joy to be staying there 4 nights.

There is a spa wit plenty of leisure facilities, the faciltiies were included in the stay (jacuzzi/sauna/hmann) and the spa was additional cost. My wife had some treatments done but it has to be said they were expensive.

The pool was quite small but I am not a pool user so am just making an observation.

Food was very nice but the menu was the same the 4 nights, we ate their once but would have eaten more if there was a greater variety. Breakfast was taken each day, consisitng of a wide choice, cereals/breads/cheese/eggs/cooked options but there is a lovely bakery across the road which is far, far cheaper. Had it been just the two of us we would have taken that option!

One incident of note was on our last night we planned to eat again in the hotel but found the whole restaurant ahd been booked to a private party. The hotel were supposed to inform guests who would be staying over that night about this but failed to do so in our case. The reaction was again, totally unexpected. The duty manager apologised, the evnt organiser pologised (and he ahd nothing to apologise for) and a table was made free for us, not even on the side but right in the room! And we got to eat form the private party menu. Agian, as I said, the service really was of an unexpectedly high level. The only downside to the party was it went on late into the night and the speakers were booming like a night club. We were on the 3rd floor and could only hear it if concentrating but for lower floors, not sure how they took it. It was surprising a do like that was held in a hotel to be honest.

Free wireless was available, you just have to request a login, bearing in mind it's one login per device so we had three.

I would highly recommend this hotel but would advise looking into it depper with regards to transportation. If like us you have a car, just book it now! In trms of nights to stay, well, if you just want to stay in the hotel, a few nights is fine but to see Marseille and what it has to offer, I'd honestly say 2 is enough.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank headonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2011

Dear Headonholiday,

We would like to thank you for taking time to give a full review of your stay and are very pleased to hear that our staff provided services beyond your expectations. We have passed your compliments on to our staff. Please be ensured that comfort and satisfaction of our guests is at the centre of our preoccupation.
We took notice of your advice concerning the Menu at the restaurant and will work on another idea for customers having a long stay in our hotel.
On the last night of your stay, we had indeed a private party in our Restaurant and Bar. We are sorry to hear that you had not been informed about it, but are happy to know that the solution we offered was convenient for you.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you next for your next trip in Marseilles.

Best Regards,

Jacques CHESNET
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
NH Marseille Palm Beach
#16 of 131 in Marseille
1,473 reviews
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Hotel Of Marseille
#17 of 131 in Marseille
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Villa Massalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Villa Massalia

Address: 17 Place Louis Bonnefon, 13008 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Marseille
#12 Family Hotel in Marseille
#14 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#15 Business Hotel in Marseille
#22 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
Price Range: £102 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Villa Massalia 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the Borély park, facing the sea and the islands of Frioul, the 4- star Golden Tulip Villa Massalia hotel with its 140 rooms, invites you to a comfortable and relaxing stay, close to beaches and calanques, it offers unique spaces for vacations, seminars and events. 1000 m² of space, our 8 rooms can host your events from 10 to 500 people. The majority of the rooms enjoy natural daylight. Chef Cyrille Repetto offers a Mediterranean cuisine, inventive with regional flavors and traditions. Our restaurant is listed in the 2016 Top 20 Best Marseille and Aix-en-Provence restaurants. On sunny day, the terrace restaurant welcomes you to its green. For your well-being the hotel has a fitness area, a spa with outdoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath. Location : • At 5 minutes walk from Borely Park and Beaches • A 5-10 minutes drive from the Stade Vélodrome • At 15 minutes from the Saint-Charles Station and the Vieux Port • At 35 minutes from Marseille Provence Airport International ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Golden Tulip Villa Massalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Massalia Hotel Marseille
Massalia Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing