We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel with friendly professional service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Tulip Villa Massalia
Ranked #20 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel with friendly professional service”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Great welcome from the hotel reception staff on our arrival , especially “ Valere” who couldn’t be any more helpful and ensured we were happy with our room choice.

Recommend booking a room with a sea view and balcony as these are more peaceful , pool area is nice to relax and spa facilities (Sauna , stream room) are a bonus. The hotel provides an extensive good quality Breakfast and the dinning environment is modern and spacious

One area the hotel could improve on is installing fridges for storing drinks in the rooms vs. the minbar currently installed which stores food & drinks at room temperature and

In closing staff are extremely helpful and provide excellent service

Room Tip: Recommend booking a room with a sea view and balcony as these are more peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corakaya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Corakaya1,

Thank you for taking time to give a full review following to your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to know that it matched your expectations.

However, we have taken good notice of your comment regarding our minibar. A renewal of our refrigerated storage is being studied for next year.

We hope to welcome you again for your next trip in Marseille.

Best Regards,

Jérôme BILLY
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    356
    136
    51
    31
See reviews for
147
438
35
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
127 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

It's a nice building, the rooms are nice with a small balcony. It is located close to a beach, though back a little behind a horse racing track. Nice sunsets indeed and it was quiet and restful. However the buffet breakfast restaurant needs some sort of a re arrangement as it reminds me of a snatch and grab within disorganised chaos. Shared breakfast with a Schnauser and a Poodle as well, though that's a European thing that us from the new world do choke on a bit. No complaints about the quality of the food, just the way you get it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bimroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Bimroy,

We would like to thank you for your comments following to your stay in our Hotel and are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay.

While you were there, we met indeed an organisational problem with our breakfast staff. Please be ensured that this issue has been solved without delay.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again for your next visit to Marseille.

Best Regards,

Jérôme BILLY
Directeur Général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex. UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Excellent Hotel, would definitely recommend it. On arrival we were greeted by extremely friendly and efficient reception, and were given our room card. Once in the room however, there were only two beds we had booked for three. Popped down to reception and was told this would be sorted within 20 minutes, which is was, rooms very nice and a good sized balcony which in our case overlooked a Racecourse, wow!!! you could also see the sea and on our visit it was Bastille Day on the Sunday we had birds eye of view of the equivalent to our Red Arrows amazing. We found a Lidl supermarket down the road, and bought a couple of bottles of wine and nibbles so seemed like our own private viewing. Bathroom good,and enough soaps shampoos and conditioners to open a shop, only downside was when taking a shower, the glass screen was not wide enough water went all over the floor. . We did not have breakfast there so cannot comment on that, but did on one occasion have dinner, which unfortunately, was spoilt had to ask for my glass of wine 4 times, (gasping!!!) the 2 ladies I was with got theirs straight away, the meal was very good, even though I now know I do not like Fish Soup ugh!!!, the service was a bit slow, perhaps we ate too late 21:30.??? Although when paying the bill asked if we enjoyed the meal, we told them food was good, but service very slow and once we drunk our drink no one came to ask if we required anymore,(would have been more money in their till) would have been nice in our opinion as not cheap to eat there.. There is lovely bar in which Vanessa (Bar Person) always welcomed us and after one just one drink knew each time what we would like pre going out. Such a friendly, and extremely helpful young lady, she'd only been there a week, nothing was too much trouble for her.
There is a spa, which we did not use, except for the pool again staff helpful and friendly, the pool was like stepping into a bath. Free use of the Jacuzzi and Sun Loungers and they even provided towels for use around the pool. Overall excellent would we return " Yes " we would. Hopefully you find this useful, by the way not many English, good or bad you decide, we loved it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Alison L,

Thank you for your complete review on your stay in our Hotel. We are sorry there was a misunderstanding concerning the extra bed upon your arrival.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our Deluxe Sea View Terrace for Bastille Day.

On the other hand, we have taken good notice on your comments concerning the Restaurant and have reviewed with our staff our procedures so you will be completely satisfied of the welcome and service for your next stay. our Restaurant is indeed open untiill 10:00 pm during summer so there was no reason the service was not as you expected it to be.

We have transmitted your compliments with our entire Staff, in particular with Vanessa who was deeply touched by them.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again for your next visit in Marseille.

Best Regards,

Jérôme BILLY
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed at the Villa Massalia for 10 days whilst hosting a Corporate event at the hotel and had a great experience from start to finish.

Hotel is lovely, clean, well-kept with all the required facilities. Breakfast is good and hotel restaurant/bar have a nice selection, great staff and quick service.

Location is great as you're a 5 minute walk from the seafront and a wide range of restaurants/bars/cafes/shops - you're also a short drive from central Marseille without being in the hub of noise/traffic.

Reception staff and the entire team were extremely helpful and friendly to all of our guests and provided a very pleasant experience - would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckieLouise87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear BeckieLouise87,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and for taking time to give your impressions on our hotel following to you stay.

Your satisfaction is our bes reward!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again for your next trip in Marseille.

Best Regards,

Jérôme BILLY
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This is a nice quality hotel, with a great location. However it's personality changes the experience.

Having been travelling on business in the south of France, we booked the hotel for convenience for a meeting we had in Marseille. On arrival the staff were less than pleasant. We had a mix up on our booking we had made through Booking.com and the manager spoke to us as though we had never stayed in a hotel before and were were not good enough to be staying with them. I think because we had children, or maybe that we were dressed casually.

Our rooms were pleasant and the quality of room service was excellent. It was worth staying in for. Breakfast was very average and again, spoiled by the attitude of the staff. Our children used the pool for an hour in the morning, and were ushered through a back entrance on the way back to the hotel room rather than through the main lobby like the rest of the guests. I feel very strongly about hotels that are happy to take money for children staying however resent them being there. If children are not welcome, become an adult only hotel. We had to take an extra room for our children, which surely makes them guests like anybody else?

We have stayed in premium five star hotels who have less attitude and ego than this 4 star. We like quality and high standard comforts, but without hospitality there is no experience.

I would say to the hotel, be careful how you make your judgements on people, and don't assume anything.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Laura T,

We thank you for taking time to give a full review to the travellers and are sorry that our hotel did not match your expectations.

Our rooms have a maximum occupancy of two adults and one child for safety reasons. Therefore, you were indeed invited to take a second room for your children. Yet, we have reviewed with our staff our welcoming policy in order for you to feel papered.

As far as our access to the bathing area is concerned, all our guests are invited to use the elevator going directly to the rooms in order for them to feel confortable in bathing suites and not have to enter the main lobby. Yet the main lobby remains fully accessible if you wish. Thereby, for safety reasons, children under 12 years old are not allowed without the surveillance of their parents.

We hope to have neverthelesse the pleasure to welcome you for your next stay in Marseille in order for you to experience the kindness and efficiency of our personnel.

Best Regards,

Jérôme BILLY
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed at Villa Massalia for 6 nights over New Year. We had some minor problems with the bathroom. We asked for a technician and did not get one. Also on occasions the service in the restaurant was a little chaotic although most times it was good. Very disappointed that on New Years Eve there was no warm food option for room service, presumably all resources were devoted to the dinner/dance, which was a pity.
When I returned home I wrote to the Manager but received no response not even an acknowledgement. I sent reminders but heard nothing. Eventually I chased through Concorde Hotels central. This prompted a response from Villa Massalia suggesting that I ought to have taken the matter up when I was in residence. This I did but got nowhere. I enjoyed my stay at the hotel, but considering the off hand manner from management I will never stay there again

Room Tip: Insist you room is near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimmyRichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear JimmyRichter,

We would like to thank you for taking time to give a full review of your stay in our hotel.

We apologize for the inconveniences you met and are deeply sorry that we could not change your room. As per our personnal email exchanges, we offered you compensation. We regret that you did not find it satisfying.

I am glad you had a nice stay on the overall and hope nevertheless to have the opportunity to welcome you at the Villa Massalia Concorde Hotel.

Best Regards,

Jérôme BILLY
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Built in 2007 this hotel is modern, spacious, and very comfortable. The balcony with good furniture was a bonus. Everything was great, although do look at a map of Marseille before you book here since there is not much nearby. I needed a taxi to go anywhere - local attractions were two filling stations and a race track!

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside room for a view over the racetrack with the sea in the distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RNPARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMassalia, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Villa Massalia, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear RNParis,

We would like to thank you for taking time to share your review following to your stay in our Hotel.

We are indeed situated in the South of the City close to the National Park of the Calanques and the Prado Beaches.

We are looking forward to welcome you for your next trip in Marseille.

Best Regards,

Jérôme BILLY
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
NH Marseille Palm Beach
#13 of 131 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 96
#1 of 131 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Villa Massalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Villa Massalia

Property: Golden Tulip Villa Massalia
Address: 17 Place Louis Bonnefon, 13008 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Marseille
#12 Family Hotel in Marseille
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#15 Business Hotel in Marseille
#22 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Villa Massalia 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the Borély park, facing the sea and the islands of Frioul, the 4- star Golden Tulip Villa Massalia hotel with its 140 rooms, invites you to a comfortable and relaxing stay, close to beaches and calanques, it offers unique spaces for vacations, seminars and events. 1000 m² of space, our 8 rooms can host your events from 10 to 500 people. The majority of the rooms enjoy natural daylight. Chef Cyrille Repetto offers a Mediterranean cuisine, inventive with regional flavors and traditions. Our restaurant is listed in the 2016 Top 20 Best Marseille and Aix-en-Provence restaurants. On sunny day, the terrace restaurant welcomes you to its green. For your well-being the hotel has a fitness area, a spa with outdoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath. Location : • At 5 minutes walk from Borely Park and Beaches • A 5-10 minutes drive from the Stade Vélodrome • At 15 minutes from the Saint-Charles Station and the Vieux Port • At 35 minutes from Marseille Provence Airport International ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Villa Massalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Massalia Hotel Marseille
Massalia Hotel Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing