We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bastide de l'Etoile
Ranked #7 of 67 Marseille B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not worth it...”
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We saw the lady owner only on arrival - she want sorry that the bill was not ready yet (we did booked for 2 nights).
Bedroom - ok old style with some white pain on it to make it nice.Do not use the plugs they are coming out of the walls and already full of extensionsleads...
We did booked for 2 nights and our room was not refresh on the morning they only clear the tbreakfast tray... that was a surprise!
WC - an horrible smell of suage in the toilet and bedroom corridor at all time!! Discasting!!
Bathroom - tiny space with a shower and a shower curtain (I hate shower curtain) in the corner. And no door between the shower room and the berdoom just a curtain. No Privacy.
Breakfast - a basket with french bread (1 piece each) is left on the front of your door with a flask of coffee, you will have to do your own tea as the kettle is in the room.You need to have your breakast in the room!
Pool - dirty.
I will not recommend this called 'B&B' - it look more that they rent the rooms out for some extra cah.
I can't post photos as we ask not too - there is a sign the bed room.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InesLondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    35
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
38
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
france
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

This is a real gem! Its not a hostel, this is a 5 star boutique gorgeous place. In a picturesk setting. The interior was beautiful, the rooms were clean. The owners are so sweet and REALLY looked after us. They picked us up on numerous occasions and dropped us at the metro station. That was so sweet, you dont get that often!They even printed us out timetables and told us great places to go. Quiet and safe area.

ITs not far out....you dont want to be in the heart of Marseille anyway, its dirty and not the nicest city ive been to, so its nice to get out of a busy city.

Everything about this place is purfect. The walls are thin but just bring an earplug its no biggy its an old house. Its hard to find really quiet rooms anyway.

p.s Make sure you always have a ticket for the train...we were stung an arm and a leg when we were on the train!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahnutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2009

After a long trip from Italy we were more than happy with our room at the Bastide de l'Etoile. A large, well equipped room in a quiet area. A little outside of town but easy to reach the centre of Marseille. The owners are friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I especially like that breakfast is available for when you wish to have it. I would certainly stay here when I come back to Marseille

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisM1084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Everything about this place is lovely...it is in a nice little village just outside Marseille with really easy and quick transport links into the centre. Village is just a few minutes walk down the road and has restaurants, shops, a little museum. Beautiful old house with a pool and loungers outside for relaxing. My room was clean with a nice bathroom and breakfast was waiting outside my door in the morning. Hosts are very friendly, offering to order in pizza to the house and provide loads of information about the area inc bus timetables etc. All in all great place to stay especially at such a reasonable cost. WOULD DEFINATELY RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caz1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Nice rooms and very helpfull staff
breakfast could be better but ok

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lien89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2009

If you don't have a car, I'm not sure this place is a good idea. But if you do, it's perfect for exploring the area. The pool looks nice, but it was quite windy at the hotel, so we opted for the beach at Cassis instead, and then went up to Aix-en-Provence and Avignon for a day each. The place is about 5 mins drive from the highway that takes you up to Aix and Avignon or into Marseille centre. Hard to find the first time you go there, but easy if you know where you're going.

The room was very spacious and quiet (except for the wind which was really strong when we were there). The owner Thierry is lovely and helpful. Breakfasts aren't much, but if you supplement the bread rolls with your own French deli and veg stuff, you can make it a feast for very little.

I can certainly recommend this place. For the price it's well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poshest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2009

Very cozy and roomy after staying in Paris. The only downside was that the hotel was far from the city so it takes a while to take the bus and the Metro into Marseille. Also, the bus stops running at about 9:00 at night, so we were forced to walk back one night. This is probably not the best place if you're planning to stay our really late.
Otherwise, the place was very charming and calm. The breakfast, delivered every morning in a basket, was very good and simple. Also, while the staff were rarely around, they weren't too difficult to find if we needed to. Rooms and bathroom were spacious. The staff provided a variety of guidbooks and information regarding activities and restaurants, which we found helpful. Overall a very romantic and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helliion6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
7.8 mi away
Hotel 96
Hotel 96
#1 of 131 in Marseille
345 reviews
4.3 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
348 reviews
4.8 mi away
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Clos du Jas
Le Clos du Jas
#4 of 67 in Marseille
107 reviews
4.3 mi away
Casa Ortega
Casa Ortega
#2 of 67 in Marseille
90 reviews
6.0 mi away
Villa Monticelli
Villa Monticelli
#6 of 67 in Marseille
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastide de l'Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastide de l'Etoile

Property: Bastide de l'Etoile
Address: 329 Chemin de Chateau Gombert, 13013 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a very secure and quiet area of Marseille, this hostel offers charm, very large rooms and a friendly atmosphere. You can park your car inside the property for free and breakfast is included. The sunny rooms overlook the landscape and the swimming pool. The house has been recently restored and is a rare survival of a 19th century Bastide. A haven of peace and silence inside Marseille surrounded by a walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bastide de l'Etoile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing