We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Salon-de-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our one-week stay at this wonderful hotel. An absolutely breathtaking location combined with top quality service. We felt very welcome and the staff was extremely professional, attentive and friendly. We loved our (second) room with 2 roof-top terrasses - charming. The pool area nice with pool towels and we enjoyed the free cold water. The evening restaurant pleasant with the best service you can imagine. The food was fantastic - especially the desserts. Too much fish on the menu though (a problem when one of us has an allergy).
Try to have lunch at this place - we can highly recommend "Planche Végétarienne". And try the outdoor massage - out of this world.
This place is highly recommendable and worth a visit - nothing but praise.
PS - we never got any drink on arrival or the lavender sachet mentioned by others ;-) We will certainly return next year. Thank you so much Abbaye de Sainte Croix.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ERiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Céline M, Directeur général at Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Host,

Thank you so much to provide feedback regarding your Stay at Abbaye de Sainte Croix. It is a real pleasure to read that you appreciate your experience in our hotel. I will mention your compliments to Agnes for the massage and to the Chef and Gérald the Head Waiter for the dinner.

I hope to see you again and this time we will not forget to offer a lavender sachet!

Kind regards,

Céline Marié
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

After reading mixed reviews we were slightly nervous as we were staying here as the final part of our honeymoon. We had also just come from La Bastide de Capelongue where we had just had a bad experience, so we were crossing fingers and toes!

Within 2 seconds of being at the hotel we fell in love with Abbaye de Sainte Croix. We were definitely at a Relais hotel. The welcome was exceptional and the view is simply a 'one off'. We stayed in the St Valentin room which was a superior room with a terrace. It was large and beautiful inside and out.

The dinners were an experience we will never forget. Aperitifs with a 30 mile view as a back drop, fantastic and well priced food and the best service of our trip - which included 2* Michelin restaurants, so no mean feat! Staff from reception to room service were friendly, polite and attentive.

Any hotel of this standard should aim to make you feel special, and special we felt. It really was the perfect end to a honeymoon - there is no question we will go back!

Room Tip: Go for the St Valentin room which whichis at the highedt point of the hotel, has a 360° view and is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenandBellaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Céline M, Directeur général at Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Host,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding the Abbaye de Sainte Croix. It’s a real pleasure to read that you have spent a nice time in our hotel during your honeymoon.

We appreciate all your compliments, particularly on the diner and on the staff.

I hope to see you again very soon on our beautiful hill,

Kind regards,

Céline Marié
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Brilliant location with stunning panoramic views. We had heard mixed reviews about this converted monastery but our experience was excellent. Our room was large and bright with a lovely balcony, the pool was quiet in an idyllic setting and the staff friendly and responsive.

We would definitely recommend this hotel and is only 10 minutes from the centre of Salon de Provence

Room Tip: Would recommend the first floor rooms with panoramic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Céline M, Directeur général at Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Host,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding the Abbaye de Sainte Croix. The staff and myself are pleased to read that you enjoy your experience in our hotel and under the sun of Provence.

We appreciate your compliments on the staff and on your room with its private balcony.

I hope to see you again very soon amongst us.

Kind regards,


Céline Marié
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The name of Nostradamus will ever be linked with the town of Salon de Provence in Southern France – a place of knarled olive groves and stark rocks.

It is also home to a 12th Century Abbey that has now turned itself into a luxury hotel. This is the Abbaye de Sainte Croix - perched on a plateau between the Alpilles and the Luberon mountains. The countryside around the Val de Cuech is thickly wooded and the private road that leads to the hotel reception winds steeply through indigenous forests, cool and green and totally enveloping. The former monastery, high above Provence, is suddenly before you as one emerges from the shade of the leafy canopy into the bright light, high above Provence. There, on a vast, remote escarpment, commanding panoramic views of Aix, stands the proudly restored, 12th-century Abbey. The air is intensely clear - the terrain is wild and barren and the aged rocks are stark, weathered and Mistral-swept. As though piped from a hidden organ, the high-pitched, territorial chirping of çicadas loudly proclaims their centuries of uninterrupted residence.

We were welcomed with iced tea, fruit, biscuits and lavender sachets as we checked into our unique bedroom, St Laurent - which boasted its own private patio. In the late afternoon sunshine we emerged from the ecclesiastical luxury of our aptly saint-named bedroom, into a trembling heat haze and thankfully sought the cool waters of the large swimming pool. Later, we joined smartly dressed, elegant, fellow diners in the refectory dining-room where views and wines were the order of the evening! It was a night where the brightest stars shone in the most intense silence. It is a strange, mystical place for reflection and meditation.

The hotel is a member of the Relais & Chateaux chain and offers an ascetic and very different type of experience. It is worth a visit. Whether this is the French Delphi and whether the occult is buried deep in this soil is a question to which one can almost give the answer, “Assuredly Yes”, as one drives the few kilometers to the Collegiate Church of St Laurent to visit the tomb of Michel de Nostradame: the seer who haunts these compelling heights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relais-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Céline M, Directeur général at Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding the Abbaye de Sainte Croix. It’s a pleasure to read your beautiful text on your experience.

The staff and myself appreciate your compliments on your stay, your room, and the localization of the Abbey.
I will mention your pleasant appreciations on the dinner to our chef and our maître d’hôtel.

I hope to see you again very soon amongst us.

Kind regards,

Céline Marié

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed here for one night. This is a former Abbey with bags of character, a big pool and views across the valley to die for.

The room was very gloomy and the bathroom access through a small door in the wall. Assume it had been a monk's cell at some point, however, he wouldn't have been asked to pay 300 euros per night. It wasn't worth it!

Dinner was very nice, nearly too fussy, shavings of this, swirls of that and an orange flower to eat. Chef's complimentary veg froth starter you drank through a straw! Please!

Wine fabulous and good value, service very good from enthusiastic people who wanted you to have a good experience.

Well worth a visit, but easy to get tucked up and spend more than you perhaps intended to.

Room Tip: Have a good look before parting with your hard earned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watfordbloke7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Céline M, Directeur général at Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Host,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding the Abbaye de Sainte Croix. The staff and myself are pleased to read that you appreciated your stay in our hotel, its character and its accommodation.

However, I am disappointed to read your remark about your room. It’s true that the room is in old monk cell which may explain its atypical architecture. You will certainly appreciate to hear that the rooms of the abbey will be renovated next winter.

I will mention your pleasant appreciations on the diner to our chef and our maître d’hôtel.

I hope to see you again very soon amongst us.

Kind regards,

Céline Marié
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel is a Relais et Chateaux in a old abbaye. The place is stunning, on the top of a hill with a beautiful view of the area. The rooms are OK for a R&C, would need refurbishing, but is clean and very quite. The pool is nice. Breakfast is very good and copious. The restaurants are OK although expensive for the quality and service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertrand T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Céline M, Directeur général at Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Host,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding the Abbaye de Sainte Croix. The staff and myself are pleased to read that you appreciated your stay in our hotel and its location.

You will certainly appreciate to hear that the rooms of the abbey will be renovated next winter. It will be our pleasure to send you the pictures of the new rooms.

I hope to see you again very soon on our beautiful hill,

Kind regards,

Céline Marié
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

One other wonderful experience. We stayed one night at the Abbaye with a small group of friends, 16 all together. We had a very warm welcome, our luggage were distributed in each respective room while we were having an aperitif, the rooms were well appointed, large bed , soft linen, robe, sleepers, lovely shampoo, soap and lotion in the luxurious bath room.

We had an excellent dinner expertly prepared and served in the old Chapel.

From checking in to checking out we had noting but praises for this beautiful hotel with a vue over the patrouille de France base ( the Blues Angels equivalent) which on a previous visit was practicing, what a thrill !!!!!

This hotel has an excellent location, close to Les Baux de Provence, Arles, Aix en Provence and other cities deserving a visit while in that region.

I certainly would return and recommend it to any one traveling in Provence.

Room Tip: I do believe you can not be disappointed regardless of which room you will choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GCC-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Céline M, Directeur général at Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear Host,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding the Abbey. I am pleased that you did appreciate the atmosphere, the rooms and the view of the Abbey.

The all team and I were very happy to welcome you and your friends at the Abbey. I will also mention your pleasant appreciations on the diner in the old chapel to our chef.

I hope to see you again very soon amongst us.

Kind Regards,

Céline Marié

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salon-de-Provence
5.2 mi away
Moulin de Vernegues Chateaux Hotels Collections
1.9 mi away
Ibis Salon de Provence
Ibis Salon de Provence
#2 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
318 reviews
2.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Salon de Provence
B&B Hotel Salon de Provence
#6 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Logis Domaine de Roquerousse
Logis Domaine de Roquerousse
#10 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
98 reviews
18.5 mi away
Mas de l'Oulivie
Mas de l'Oulivie
#1 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
486 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Mas du Soleil
Hotel Le Mas du Soleil
#12 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix

Address: route du Val de Cuech, 13300, Salon-de-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Salon-de-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Salon-de-Provence
Price Range: £99 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the rocky outcrops of Salon-de-Provence, a tiny Provence town, which is ideally located to explore everything this delightful area has to offer, there is a tranquil spot where time would appear to have stood still. This 12th century abbey in the hearth of twenty hectares of Provencal gardens and garrigue offers spectacular views of the Alpilles Valley and the countryside surrounding Salon-de-Provence. The rooms still bear traces of the Cistercian monks who once occupied the abbey and boast a decor that blends charm and authenticity and provides a calm and restful atmosphere. You will be delighted with the hotel's attentive service and the culinary delights served in both restaurants which offer delicious dishes based on seasonal local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbaye De Sainte Croix Hotel Salon-De-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing