We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Bit Pricey for the Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Salon-de-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Bit Pricey for the Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The positives:
A great kitchen,
Beautiful hill side location over looking Salon de Provence, all the way to the Med,
Great staff,
Very charming facilities.

The negatives:
2 free electric plugs in the room?
Pretty measly bathroom amenities,
The value vs price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Céline M, Directeur général at Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Dean S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your remarks regarding your stay in our hotel. The satisfaction of our hosts is an important point for all the staff.

I read with pleasure that you have appreciated the location, the view and the friendly staff.
However, my apologies if the amenities of your bathroom were not convenient to you. I will mention your remark at the general housekeeper.

Best regards,

Céline Marié
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    86
    31
    8
    2
See reviews for
38
192
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Has got bags of character, almost too much. I was in room St Jean, which is down a hall almost behind the kitchen. Room was large, but plain. Not possible to stand up in shower because the ceiling curved, but thats ok. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Problems, the room got very noisy in the morning. You could easily hear staff getting ready for breakfast and people talking in the hallway outside. Internet workable but slow. Restaurant looked good, however, I did not eat there. Breakfast was pretty expensive and I was trying to get back on the road. Overall a nice place to stay, but about 70 - 80 euros too expensive in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traumaknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Céline M, Directeur général at Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Host,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding the Abbaye de Sainte Croix. The satisfaction of our guests is an important point for all the staff.

It is true that the room St Jean, located 3 rooms after the kitchen in an ancien corridor, has a ceiling curved but it is the charm and also the disadvantage of an old Abbey.

My apology if the noise of the staff who prepare the breakfast has disturbed you. I will mention your remark to all the staff to pay more attention to the future.

However, It is a pleasure to read that globally you have spent a nice time in our hotel.

I hope to see you again very soon on our beautiful hill,

Kind regards,

Céline Marié
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our one-week stay at this wonderful hotel. An absolutely breathtaking location combined with top quality service. We felt very welcome and the staff was extremely professional, attentive and friendly. We loved our (second) room with 2 roof-top terrasses - charming. The pool area nice with pool towels and we enjoyed the free cold water. The evening restaurant pleasant with the best service you can imagine. The food was fantastic - especially the desserts. Too much fish on the menu though (a problem when one of us has an allergy).
Try to have lunch at this place - we can highly recommend "Planche Végétarienne". And try the outdoor massage - out of this world.
This place is highly recommendable and worth a visit - nothing but praise.
PS - we never got any drink on arrival or the lavender sachet mentioned by others ;-) We will certainly return next year. Thank you so much Abbaye de Sainte Croix.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Céline M, Directeur général at Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Host,

Thank you so much to provide feedback regarding your Stay at Abbaye de Sainte Croix. It is a real pleasure to read that you appreciate your experience in our hotel. I will mention your compliments to Agnes for the massage and to the Chef and Gérald the Head Waiter for the dinner.

I hope to see you again and this time we will not forget to offer a lavender sachet!

Kind regards,

Céline Marié
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

After reading mixed reviews we were slightly nervous as we were staying here as the final part of our honeymoon. We had also just come from La Bastide de Capelongue where we had just had a bad experience, so we were crossing fingers and toes!

Within 2 seconds of being at the hotel we fell in love with Abbaye de Sainte Croix. We were definitely at a Relais hotel. The welcome was exceptional and the view is simply a 'one off'. We stayed in the St Valentin room which was a superior room with a terrace. It was large and beautiful inside and out.

The dinners were an experience we will never forget. Aperitifs with a 30 mile view as a back drop, fantastic and well priced food and the best service of our trip - which included 2* Michelin restaurants, so no mean feat! Staff from reception to room service were friendly, polite and attentive.

Any hotel of this standard should aim to make you feel special, and special we felt. It really was the perfect end to a honeymoon - there is no question we will go back!

Room Tip: Go for the St Valentin room which whichis at the highedt point of the hotel, has a 360° view and is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenandBellaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Céline M, Directeur général at Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Host,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding the Abbaye de Sainte Croix. It’s a real pleasure to read that you have spent a nice time in our hotel during your honeymoon.

We appreciate all your compliments, particularly on the diner and on the staff.

I hope to see you again very soon on our beautiful hill,

Kind regards,

Céline Marié
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Brilliant location with stunning panoramic views. We had heard mixed reviews about this converted monastery but our experience was excellent. Our room was large and bright with a lovely balcony, the pool was quiet in an idyllic setting and the staff friendly and responsive.

We would definitely recommend this hotel and is only 10 minutes from the centre of Salon de Provence

Room Tip: Would recommend the first floor rooms with panoramic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Céline M, Directeur général at Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Host,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding the Abbaye de Sainte Croix. The staff and myself are pleased to read that you enjoy your experience in our hotel and under the sun of Provence.

We appreciate your compliments on the staff and on your room with its private balcony.

I hope to see you again very soon amongst us.

Kind regards,


Céline Marié
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

The name of Nostradamus will ever be linked with the town of Salon de Provence in Southern France – a place of knarled olive groves and stark rocks.

It is also home to a 12th Century Abbey that has now turned itself into a luxury hotel. This is the Abbaye de Sainte Croix - perched on a plateau between the Alpilles and the Luberon mountains. The countryside around the Val de Cuech is thickly wooded and the private road that leads to the hotel reception winds steeply through indigenous forests, cool and green and totally enveloping. The former monastery, high above Provence, is suddenly before you as one emerges from the shade of the leafy canopy into the bright light, high above Provence. There, on a vast, remote escarpment, commanding panoramic views of Aix, stands the proudly restored, 12th-century Abbey. The air is intensely clear - the terrain is wild and barren and the aged rocks are stark, weathered and Mistral-swept. As though piped from a hidden organ, the high-pitched, territorial chirping of çicadas loudly proclaims their centuries of uninterrupted residence.

We were welcomed with iced tea, fruit, biscuits and lavender sachets as we checked into our unique bedroom, St Laurent - which boasted its own private patio. In the late afternoon sunshine we emerged from the ecclesiastical luxury of our aptly saint-named bedroom, into a trembling heat haze and thankfully sought the cool waters of the large swimming pool. Later, we joined smartly dressed, elegant, fellow diners in the refectory dining-room where views and wines were the order of the evening! It was a night where the brightest stars shone in the most intense silence. It is a strange, mystical place for reflection and meditation.

The hotel is a member of the Relais & Chateaux chain and offers an ascetic and very different type of experience. It is worth a visit. Whether this is the French Delphi and whether the occult is buried deep in this soil is a question to which one can almost give the answer, “Assuredly Yes”, as one drives the few kilometers to the Collegiate Church of St Laurent to visit the tomb of Michel de Nostradame: the seer who haunts these compelling heights.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Relais-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Céline M, Directeur général at Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding the Abbaye de Sainte Croix. It’s a pleasure to read your beautiful text on your experience.

The staff and myself appreciate your compliments on your stay, your room, and the localization of the Abbey.
I will mention your pleasant appreciations on the dinner to our chef and our maître d’hôtel.

I hope to see you again very soon amongst us.

Kind regards,

Céline Marié

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed here for one night. This is a former Abbey with bags of character, a big pool and views across the valley to die for.

The room was very gloomy and the bathroom access through a small door in the wall. Assume it had been a monk's cell at some point, however, he wouldn't have been asked to pay 300 euros per night. It wasn't worth it!

Dinner was very nice, nearly too fussy, shavings of this, swirls of that and an orange flower to eat. Chef's complimentary veg froth starter you drank through a straw! Please!

Wine fabulous and good value, service very good from enthusiastic people who wanted you to have a good experience.

Well worth a visit, but easy to get tucked up and spend more than you perhaps intended to.

Room Tip: Have a good look before parting with your hard earned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Watfordbloke7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Céline M, Directeur général at Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear Host,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding the Abbaye de Sainte Croix. The staff and myself are pleased to read that you appreciated your stay in our hotel, its character and its accommodation.

However, I am disappointed to read your remark about your room. It’s true that the room is in old monk cell which may explain its atypical architecture. You will certainly appreciate to hear that the rooms of the abbey will be renovated next winter.

I will mention your pleasant appreciations on the diner to our chef and our maître d’hôtel.

I hope to see you again very soon amongst us.

Kind regards,

Céline Marié
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salon-de-Provence
2.0 mi away
Ibis Salon de Provence
Ibis Salon de Provence
#2 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
5.2 mi away
Moulin de Vernegues Chateaux Hotels Collections
1.9 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre
Hotel d'Angleterre
#3 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Domaine de Fontenille
18.4 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Salon de Provence
B&B Hotel Salon de Provence
#8 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix

Property: Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix
Address: route du Val de Cuech, 13300, Salon-de-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Salon-de-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Salon-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the rocky outcrops of Salon-de-Provence, a tiny Provence town, which is ideally located to explore everything this delightful area has to offer, there is a tranquil spot where time would appear to have stood still. This 12th century abbey in the hearth of twenty hectares of Provencal gardens and garrigue offers spectacular views of the Alpilles Valley and the countryside surrounding Salon-de-Provence. The rooms still bear traces of the Cistercian monks who once occupied the abbey and boast a decor that blends charm and authenticity and provides a calm and restful atmosphere. You will be delighted with the hotel's attentive service and the culinary delights served in both restaurants which offer delicious dishes based on seasonal local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbaye De Sainte Croix Hotel Salon-De-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing