We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, great location, great people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel de la Poste
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Salon-de-Provence
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
1 review
“great hotel, great location, great people”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel is located in the old center of lovely Salon de Provence. The owners really take time for their guests and can tell you all about the history of the little city. The room was big en cool, the bath room was recently refurbished. We will definitely return to this hotel and recommend others to stay there as well.

Room Tip: all rooms are air conditioned so all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marije h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    42
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
45
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We turned up having not booked in advance. The owners were so accommodating and we got a superior room. the hotel is smack bang in the centre of Salon and the hotel offers 5.50e parking which is a bargain. The room was big with a/c and a good shower. The honour bar in reception was a nice touch and I would heartily recommend this place. We just stayed 1 night. Breakfast was nice, lovely croissants and bread etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moleandbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Le Grand Hotel de La Poste and were pleased with everything the hotel had to offer.The Hosts were charming and very helpful and went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed our stay at Salon.Our room was comfortable and the breakfast very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 449Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is a great hotel in the heart of Salon. Owners are very pleasant and helpful. Check in was efficient, they have an honour fridge in the lobby in case you need a snack or drink! Our rooms were relatively big, well appointed, very clean and air-conditioned! We had a view of the square below with the "tree fountain". Beds were comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. Hotel is in the perfect location, a few steps to restaurants, just off the main street. There is no parking at the hotel but they have a deal with a nearby parking garage for 5 euros a night which I thought was a good deal. Its about a 5 min walk from the garage. Great hotel in a quaint little provencal town. Would definitely stay here again if I was in Salon or visiting Provence.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This is a charming hotel with very friendly staff and in a perfect position for walking around the old town. We had a huge room on the second floor which was actually 2 rooms - one with a single and the other with a double bed so we were able to spread ourselves out comfortably. The bathroom was also large and modern. All in all a very pleasant hotel at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 161sunshine161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

We booked through an external website and prior to arriving we had received an email from the owners offering advice. On arrival they were helpful and informative. Room of okay size although a bit dark. Bathroom was large however. Room spotlessly clean as was hotel as a whole. Hotel located next to entrance to old town and with market outside when on. Parking is available through hotel and is necessary for Wednesdays at least when market is on; they only have a limited number of spaces though. WiFi is available although we managed to reach theroom allowance although I'm not sure how. They did reset it when we mentioned it wasn't working however. Overall excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichH75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield
Level Contributor
402 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

What a great find! We had a wonderful experience at this hotel--from beginning to end.
We discovered this hotel searching for an affordable hotel in Provence with good reviews and booked a triple room on a discount site. Only a few days later, I received a personal email from the owner, thanking us for our reservation and giving us detailed driving instructions to the hotel and a map of the town of Salon. The email also explained parking options. I was deeply impressed, this had not happened to me previously. The driving directions really helped out when we tried to find the place. Salon has some confusing little streets, but if you keep heading downtown, towards the astronomic clock, you can't miss the hotel. If you arrive by car, you can park in a special spot right behind the hotel that is cordoned off by a metal chain while you unload your luggage. The owners came out and helped us with our luggage.
Clearly, the hotel is not new, but nicely renovated. There is no lift, but there is air conditioning which we really appreciated in mid July. The bathrooms look newly furnished, everything was very clean. We rented a suite with two bedrooms which was roomy (especially for France.) The windows were surprisingly soundproof. We didn't hear much noise from the street, or the ice cream cafe across from our room.
The owners were so helpful and friendly. They recommended a restaurant in town which was truly excellent. They live in the hotel and speak both French and English. For a small fee, guests are able to reserve a parking spot in a locked parking garage, a very short walk away. I would recommend this, the parking garage felt so safe and in this way, your car is not subject to being blocked in on market days.
We really enjoyed the town of Salon, it felt much more authentic and less overrun with tourists than Arles or Avignon. At night, the town with its lit up fountains and astronomic clock was so beautiful. Within a block of the hotel, we found a great restaurant, delicious bakery and outstanding ice cream parlor with live entertainment. What more can you ask for? It's located close to major highways and it was easy to reach Arles, Avignon, the Camarque and the Luberon from here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank California_momofsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salon-de-Provence hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre
Hotel d'Angleterre
#3 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Select
Hotel Select
#4 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
160 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Salon de Provence
Ibis Salon de Provence
#2 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix
Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix
#1 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
360 reviews
1.7 mi away
B&B Hotel Salon de Provence
B&B Hotel Salon de Provence
#7 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#9 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de la Poste

Property: Grand Hotel de la Poste
Address: 1 rue des Freres J Et r Kennedy, 13300, Salon-de-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Salon-de-Provence
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Salon-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel de la Poste 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former coach house of the 19th century, the hotel is situated in the city centre. Eva and Claude welcome you in their hotel and are happy to make you discover all the differently decorated rooms. The square with the Mossy Fountain, terraces and the clock tower -entrance to the old city centre- are in front of the hotel. Restaurants, shops, museums and monuments are all at walking distance. The hotel does not have a lift and is not accessible for people with disabilities. Please ask for a room on the first floor upon reservation if you have difficulties walking up stairs. There are no rooms on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel de la Poste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Salon De Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing