We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family hotel”
Review of Hotel Select

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Select
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Salon-de-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Saint-Cloud, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice family hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We used this hotel on the way to Corsica, upon arrival we did not know where to park, we were advised to park temporarily outside and they would show us later where to park. In the end we were allowed to remain parked just outside - so I am not sure where the normal parking would be. The person greeting us was extremely friendly and helpful, the room is very quaint and quiet. The bed looks old but sleeps fabulously.

The hotel is very close to the Salon de Provence centre.

We did not have breakfast as we had to leave early in the morning, but we could smell the coffee on departure which smelled good!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loekie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    56
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
46
63
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sibiu, Romania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We traveled as a family of four, with two five-year-olds, in July 2014. We booked 5 nights at this hotel, in order to visit Provence. Although at first the room seemed a bit narrow for two adults and two noisy children and their luggage, it quickly proved to be the perfect place, which we enjoyed far more than the mainstream chain hotels where we had stayed elsewhere in France. The room (no. 8, second floor) was extremely cosy (starting from the decoration, a bit dated, but with that familiar atmosphere of a family home, it was like we were visiting friends and were lodged in their guest-room) and extremely clean, including the bathroom, which smelled wonderful! Although it was above the street, the room was very quiet, so we could sleep with the window half-open. The beds were comfortable (two large double beds with excellent linen). We were able to use the hotel's terraces (one at the first floor, where we had our dinner - French fresh baguette, cheese, jambon and coeur-de-boeuf tomatoes :)) when we were in) and the ground floor one. The breakfast was served on the terrace by the owners (excellent French breakfast, with baguette, croissants, homemade jams, hot chocolate for the kids, cheese, butter, fresh fruits and coffee) and it was the best way to start the day! A special thanks for Letitia and Donald, the owners, who advised use for our trips (which were prepared in advance, but a good advice is always welcome) and helped us with any minor problem we might have had. The hotel is perfectly located near Salon de Provence's city centre (worth visiting!) and also close to a park with playground and fountain, perfect for the kids in the evenings. Parking may be reserved, for 5 euros/day at a private parking place. Small convenience shops and a bakery are just round the corner, but we found larger supermarkets in town. The hotel is in walking distance from the train station and the famous Savonnerie Marius Fabre (where we found excellent traditional savon de Marseille in all possible forms and combinations).
All in all, a pleasant and refreshing stay, a perfect choice to visit beautiful Provence!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bianca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We've spent a week travelling around Provance, and this hotel was definitely the best. The owners was really helpful, provided us in good information and maps about town and all district(in English with was completely different compering to other hotels). Room was clean, fresh and quite, highly recommend!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tomasz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The main advantages of the hotel are the very kind and helpful owners, comfort & cleanliness and location. We stayed here for six nights and had a very pleasant and comfortable stay. Thanks to owners for all recommendations on what to visit in the area!
So my friends and I highly recommend the hotel as a perfect choice in Provence. Do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly to take advantage of the lowest prices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulhan, France
Level Contributor
172 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We've stayed in several towns around MRS when we've flow into/out-of it... never in Salon until now... and this was a Sunday night... almost everything was closed... the hotel's proprietors were probably napping in the afternoon when we arrived but they acknowledged our knock, showed us great hospitality, recommended restaurants and things we should consider doing... later in the day we ran into one of them and exchanged smiles... this is not a posh place... but the people make up for it and their recommendation of Entre 2 Cotes was superb for dinner... in the morning we'll drive to MRS catch a flight and not hesitate to visit Select again in the future....

Room Tip: Room #2 across from the daughter of the owners has access to a balcony with ample seating and it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPDeA-43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Excellent location for a pleasant stay in the midlle of Provence.
Central position, easy to reach (only negative point: the absence of a privat parking, but enough public places in the proximity), quiet street.
Excellent breakfast (delicious the home made jams), right comfort, very interesting the family room (up to 5 persons).
But, over all, the hospitality and availability of the owner family. Thanks to them and to the Provence, an excellent holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank paolo f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We chose the Hotel Select based on other Trip Advisor reviews and it was a fortunate choice, indeed! The hotel was located close to all the historic sites, restaurants and the vibrant twice weekly markets in Salon-de-Provence. Our hosts, Donald and Lettica were gracious, charming and very helpful. They directed us to a range of restaurants in town, as well as, to the points of interest in Provence. Our room was clean and comfortable, and a great value. The breakfast was complete and supplied plenty of fuel for forays into the neighboring countryside. My husband and I highly recommend the Hotel Select as a comfortable home base for exploring the beauty of Provence.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramblingroro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salon-de-Provence hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre
Hotel d'Angleterre
#3 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
422 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Salon de Provence
Ibis Salon de Provence
#2 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
286 reviews
1.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Salon de Provence
B&B Hotel Salon de Provence
#7 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel de la Poste
Grand Hotel de la Poste
#5 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
102 reviews
1.9 mi away
Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix
Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix
#1 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#9 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Select? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Select

Property: Hotel Select
Address: 35 rue Suffren, 13300, Salon-de-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Salon-de-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Salon-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Select 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the picturesque Provence region, the Hôtel Select welcomes you to this former 17th-century private house all year round.Set in a peaceful residential street 250 meters from the city centre, the Hôtel Select offers the ideal accommodation for your business trips and leisure stays.Guestrooms are comfortable and practical and equipped with en suite facilities, TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. Some rooms have a view of the patio and its lovely fountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Select reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing