We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Can't Wait To Return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Chateau des Alpilles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2011

If we didn't have flights scheduled and have to return to the US, we would have easily stayed at this wonderful hotel for as many days as possible. Words can't describe the beauty of the entire grounds, the main hotel villa and the smaller buildings where we were very fortunate to stay. We were a two family group of 8 with girls ranging in age from 16 - 22. It was a perfect arrangement. The accomodations were luxurious as well all of the amenities. The poolside and dining areas were also lovely. Service was impeccable and all needs were met. I can't wait to return to the Les Chateau for an even longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AinsleyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2011

When you're back home and daydreaming about your trip, this is a place you wish you had stayed a few more days. The hotel, set among magnificent trees, is as lovely a Provencal experience as you can imagine.

Our 'medium' room in the main house was very nice. There's a lift, but we usually walked the two flights in an attempt to compensate for the buttery croissants.

We thoroughly enjoyed two dinners served at a perfectly relaxed pace. At first I thought breakfast €20 a bit overpriced, but I changed my opinion when it was served so nicely and the baked goods were so fresh and delicious.

There's a lot to see in the area. Our (English-speaking!) GPS did a good job of getting us back to the hotel! Buy one before the trip so you know how to use it; you can input hotel and other locations as 'Favorites' from online maps.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pecos66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

From the moment we tun into tree lined driveway we knew that "this is the place"!!
We were right, the reception, the room, service - all of it was one great fantastic experience.

And the people - Place is run by the owners (mother and daughter) both formidable, charming and most generous you can only imagine

Fantastic place

Room Tip: there is no such thing as
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jerzybrodzki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We have been travelling to France every year, sometimes twice, since 1989. We have been staying at Chateau des Alpilles since 1994 and each visit is better than the last. Madame Bon and her daughter Catherine manage a friendly and very efficient staff that will satisfy your every wish.
Make a point to try the restaurant for dinner. The chef has been with them for 14 years and he has elevated the food adding a light touch to classic provencal cuisine. Very reasonable prix fix menu and wine list. Weather permitting breakfast and dinner are served al fresco in the courtyard in front of the chateau.
The rooms are spaciaous with wonderful bathrooms. The large park like grounds are well maintained. St Remy is perfectly loctaed to go anywhere in Provence in an hour or so. Chateauneuf du Pape, Pont du Gard, Avignon, Gordes and all the Luberon gems are at your beckoned call and returning to the Chateau in the late afternoon for a pastis on the patio or a dip in the pool or a game of tennis before a lovely dinner is the perfect ending to a day in Provence! A relatively famous French painter, V. Ziminsky stays at the Chateau and has painted it several times. You can see her work in a gallery in St. Remy.
We have already booked for next September.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

I am not one for writing reviews of hotels, good or bad. But having just spent three nights over the New Year at the hotel, I just felt the need to give it a huge recommendation. Our room was beautifully decorated, had some lovely antique furniture, the most comfortable king-size bed, and an enormous bathroom. The welcome was warm, the service impeccable and friendly without being "in your face" and the food wonderfully presented and cooked. My dietary requirements were noted on booking, remembered and well respected by the maitre'd and chef. I cannot speak highly enough of the hotel - it is not large, 20 rooms in the main house I believe, with a comfortable warm bar and two lounge/dining rooms that were again exquisitely decorated and mixed antiques with modern in great style. Log fires burned, and all in all we had the most marvellous treat. It was like being welcomed into a friend's home. Unhesitatingly recommended for those seeking an individual unpretentious and "unglitzy "hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wonderlander65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

This hotel feels a little like the home of an absent friend.... A fireplace warms a small salon next to the bar and every afternoon I'd drink a glass of local rose wine, eat almonds and enjoy the cosy bit elegant ambiance. I had read that the rooms could be small and a bit dowdy but our corner room (# 4) was spacious and lovely. We ate in the restaurant two evenings and found the food to be delicious. Patricia at reception was warm and helpful. Our only suggestion to the hotel would be that they include breakfast in the price of the room. To charge high prices for it seems ungenerous and left us with a bit of a bad feeling.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

As you drive down the driveway, it feels like you are stepping back in time of royalty. We were warmly greeted upon arrival and offered our choice of three lovely rooms. We absolutely loved our choice! The room was elegantly decorated, spacious and filled with charming antiques. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was large and completely up to date. The service was excellent. The woman at the reception desk congratulated us on our marriage (we were on our honeymoon) and was very helpful when asked questions about the town. We had dinner at the chateau which we thoroughly enjoyed - a wonderful presentation and delicious! We did have difficulty initially finding the chateau. It is a 10 minute drive from the town and rather secluded - a car is necessary. Also, we ordered room service for breakfast which we found to be very expensive. The grounds are beautiful and our experience here was truly wonderful. We want to return!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HKC1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#3 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
1,114 reviews
1 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau de Roussan
Chateau de Roussan
#9 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#11 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
291 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gounod
Hotel Gounod
#5 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
274 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mas Valentine
Mas Valentine
#12 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau des Alpilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau des Alpilles

Address: route du Rougadou, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range: £193 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Chateau des Alpilles 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Le Chateau des Alpilles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau Des Alpilles Hotel St-Remy-De-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing