We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living in History”
Review of Chateau de Roussan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau de Roussan
Certificate of Excellence
Steinwenden, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Living in History”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This fabulous chateau, centrally located to scores of Provence sights in virtually every direction, was a highly memorable stay. We were in a suite that overlooked the rear patio and garden, furnished with beautiful antiques, with a separate sitting room. The finishes on the interiors are lovingly restored to their original splendor: delicate plaster work on walls and ceilings, beautiful drapes..it is a very romantic setting. Yes, the building is historic, so if you have expectations of a modern, impersonal hotel you may be disappointed. We were there from mid week--it was very quiet and we enjoyed having the run of the place. Stunning grounds, beautiful library and the restaurant should not be missed (roast Iberian pig). After our days trips out (don't miss Les Baux only a few miles away), we enjoyed retreating to this fantastic piece of architecture. Service was highly attentive- directions to restaurants, the hyper mart, other tips.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    117
    51
    13
    15
See reviews for
39
270
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, GA
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Perfect central location for visiting Provence - Chateau de Roussan a mile from the center of the village of St. Remy-de-Provence. You'll be hooked as soon as you turn into the tree-lined drive that gives you your first glimpse of the chateau in the distance. The Chateau dates from the late 16th century when the original house was constructed by the brother of the famous Nostradamus.
17th century additions made it the lovely mansion that they have preserved until the current time.
Each of the 32 or so rooms is named for a famous person from the region and the home itself has quite a long, interesting history. Our standard room was very spacious on the ground floor, with shuttered doors opening directly onto the front terrace. Our bathroom was huge by French standards and was fitted with a tub and French shower that had instant hot water. Included were two cozy bathrobes and nice toiletries.
The Chateau de Roussan wants you to feel at home in a place where most of us could only dream of ever living. Guests are welcome to stroll the extensive grounds, greenhouse, groves, gardens, and other areas. A stream runs through the property and a reflecting pond with fish can be found in the back. We happily spent one afternoon picnicing in the back garden and exploring and taking pictures there. There are no other houses in sight, yet the Chateau is located a short bike ride from St.Remy's many shops and restaurants.
We did not eat the breakfasts at the chateau because we left early each morning to visit different towns in Provence. There are beautiful dining rooms, sitting rooms, and a library whose antique books are yours to look through as well.
One critic of the Chateau de Roussan whom I read before going said that the exterior needed a renovation. Thankfully no one has done that and turned it into a fake Disney style concoction! It is gorgeous and authentic as it is. If you want perfectly level floors without nicks or paint without chips, go to the Holiday Inn!

Room Tip: The front of the chateau does not have a public entrance, so the rooms on that side are probably the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nonny_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I had four days to spend in Provence and chose the Chateau to stay at for two nights. Coming up the tree-lined driveway and seeing this beautiful old charming building at the end was breathtaking. We were able to park our car near the Chateau and the Valet brought in our bags and parked our car in the parking lot. The staff were welcoming and our room was spacious and looked out over the driveway - a stunning view. The grounds had an overgrown look about it and as it was Autumn lots of leaves everywhere but this truly added to the charm. As it was warm, we were able to sit outside late afternoon and the chef from the Hotel Restaurant, La Table de Roussan, came and offered us drinks and something to nibble on. While we were enjoying this we could smell dinner wafting from the kitchen. I absolutely recommend dining at the Hotel Restaurant - the food was beautifully presented and a good example of local cuisine, Vincent the owner was a fantastic host - we enjoyed his hospitality so much we stayed an extra two nights at the Chateau and dined there every night!

The Chateau was a great place to explore the region - we made day trips to Pont-du-Gard, Les Baux-de-Provence, Arle, Avignon, Saintes Marie-de-la-Mer and it was only 5 minutes to St Remy-de-Provence (where I recommend visiting the Wednesday market).

Only small things would make this perfect - tea-making facilities in our room and some days our towels were a little on the small side.

We had three weeks travelling from Paris to Barcelona and our most romantic memories are of this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, UK
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

A friend and I were making a road trip through Provence, and this place appealed to us as a special treat. For the most part, we weren't disappointed. The building itself is luxurious and full of old world charm. There's a library and a sitting room, and depending upon the weather, meals can be eaten outside. The grounds are charming, including a pond, greenhouse, and a quaint stream. We had a lovely dinner and service was quite good and attentive. Our room was large and comfortable. Only two things weren't up to par: the toiletries were rather basic (the type you'd find in a 2** hotel) and the breakfast range was quite limited. Overall, this is a thumbs-up!

Room Tip: Rooms have a view of back or front, and as gardens surround the house, either perspective is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctorj42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Loved our stay at the chateau. Although the hotel has no swimming pool, which could be considered a plus by some, it still very much was a holiday. The ancient trees around the chateau provide shade and atmosphere, great for reading. The room was good, the bathroom excellent. The restaurant provides a simple and good cuisine, well in sink with the general feel of the hotel and the grounds. The breakfast buffet was very good. The location is excellent for visits to 'Van Gogh country' including Avignon, Arles, les Alpilles and the local town of St-Rémy. The Lubéron, with another collection of beautiful small villages, is 45 minutes to the east. The pictures give a very good impression of what to expect of the hotel. Something which is not always the case. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParkPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

What a gem. It is not a 5 star perfectly manicured hotel by any means but instead it offers an abundance of character and charm. Went for a walk along the extensive grounds which still have strong traces of a once grand botanic garden but have been left to grow a little wild. The trees lining the driveway and around the hotel should be classified as a national monument as their majesty and beauty really are a sight to behold. We ate at the restaurant for the two nights we stayed there and the food and ambiance, sitting outside in the grand courtyard were terrific. The only downside was the unfriendly staff member serving breakfast who seemed to resent English speakers and generally came across as not wanting to be there. Would definitely return

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Booked 2 rooms at the chateau. Negatives : First impression was that the Chateau seems abit neglected and old (well, it is from the 18th Century afterall). We could not drive the car directly to the front of the reception to drop off the luggage. There was no Valet service. We learnt later that valet service was until 7pm and we had arrived after 7pm. There was also no one at the reception when we arrived though it didn't take us too long to find her. What was abit sad as the Soap in the bathrooms/toilets were wafer thin (for a 4 stars hotel) but I guess this is also being environmental friendly. Plus points : The rooms and bathrooms were well decorated and very big and clean. The Chateau is well situated. It is barely 5 minutes drive into centre ville (town). There were plenty of activities happening in the village when we were there. Car park is free and a nice short walk to and around the chateau. Chateau has a restaurant and we found the food excellent. They made an effort to provide menu enfant (children's menu) of chicken and pasta and it was excellent. We had a 3 course dinner and the black knuckle port was memorable as was the wine served. And to end it all off, the staff and service is excellent. I wld return to this hotel again for the convenience and their service. There was a bit of confusion with the breakfast but it was a small matter.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ticklemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
1,053 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
600 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#10 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Chateau des Alpilles
Le Chateau des Alpilles
#3 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
353 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mas Valentine
Mas Valentine
#12 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
225 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Gounod
Hotel Gounod
#6 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Roussan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Roussan

Property: Chateau de Roussan
Address: route de Tarascon, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#13 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Roussan 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only the XIIIth century could offer such a charming mansion, only 2km away from Saint‐Rémy de Provence. As you’ll slowly walk down the elegant alley of centennial plane trees, you’ll discover the “Château de Roussan”, designed by a brilliant French architect. Enchanted by his creation, he offered it a façade decorated with an elegant balcony overlooked by a majestic front wall; in the manner of a theatre stage set. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau de Roussan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Roussan Hotel St-Remy-De-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing