We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sublime”
Review of Chateau de Roussan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau de Roussan
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“sublime”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Spent four nites in August. We were given a room on first floor. Initially we were upset because privacy seemed to be lacking. But the benefits far outweighed the small inconvenience. The room has a door to a terrace with a private table and chairs (the terrace is public, but each room has its own table and chairs). We spent almost every evening drinking wine and cheese with a full moon for a light source. Its light reflecting on the walls of the old chateau and the ancient trees - sublime.
To get privacy you will need to close the shutters (you can lock them as well - a 30 sec process using the medieval locking mechanism). Rooms are large, bathrooms doubly so. Ceilings are probably 12 feet high.
The grounds are beautiful. You may encounter a shepherd and his flock (seemed like hundreds of sheep) and guard dogs if you go to you car around 9pm - yes these things still happen. Overall, a very happy experience.

Room Tip: first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella_RM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    117
    51
    13
    15
See reviews for
39
270
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mt Eliza, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I had one delightful evening at this special chateau. How lovely to be able to walk the corridors and explore the gardens of this beautiful residence. Dinner was the most delicious meal we have had since arriving in France a few weeks ago and we have previously had some very good meals! The ambience is second to none. The staff are not particularly fussing but adequate for our needs. Overall a joyful experience we will cherish.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor overlooking the gardens even when sitting in the bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel is a beautiful building in a wonderful surroundings. It seemed, however, as though nobody was managing the place. Concierge services are extremely limited. Things one expect from a 4 star hotel were missing. Little things like having enough plates or food at breakfast, offering espresso, or have the staff always make the guests feel welcome, were lacking. It is a shame, because with some attention to detail, this could due a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Really beautiful hotel. The gardens are wonderful! The staff is friendly and useful. The rooms are well equipped and have a nice terrace. Breakfast is good. I was not convinced by the food in the restaurant, plates are on the small side and not such a good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Great castle hotel 3 minutes by car from St Remy. Spacious period rooms with a truly huge bathroom that is larger than most bedrooms. Lovely terrace for having a quiet drink. Food in the hotel restaurant was a bit hit-and-miss, accompanied by typically lackadaisical but friendly French service, but it's very cozy and homey, with very helpful and friendly front desk staff. Would def return here for a romantic getaway, and St Remy is very pretty, albeit it a bit touristy.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Velvetgemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lunenburg
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

First visit. Great location. Friendly staff. Excellent food. Lots of history. Great room. We will return. This is a great location to explore the local region from. Close to town yet you feel isolated. The drive up to the Chateau was like going through a time portal. The greenhouse a must see.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CdnFrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This great hotel/former residence built centuries ago is imposing in its appearance. When you drive in the long lane it feels like you are entering a gracious estate. I travelled with a small group in May 2014 and stayed here for two nights. We were welcomed by staff in period costume - a really nice touch. They made us very welcome and our two dinners there were exceptional. Perfect meals, perfectly served, in a private dining room where the group was so impressed we didn't want to leave.
I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a historic and character hotel, with all modern facilities and public rooms tastefully done with a gracious nod to the past.
A great place!

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and different - each one with its own charm. The deluxe rooms are larger as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
1,052 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
600 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#11 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Chateau des Alpilles
Le Chateau des Alpilles
#3 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
353 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mas Valentine
Mas Valentine
#12 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
225 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Gounod
Hotel Gounod
#6 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Roussan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Roussan

Property: Chateau de Roussan
Address: route de Tarascon, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#13 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Roussan 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only the XIIIth century could offer such a charming mansion, only 2km away from Saint‐Rémy de Provence. As you’ll slowly walk down the elegant alley of centennial plane trees, you’ll discover the “Château de Roussan”, designed by a brilliant French architect. Enchanted by his creation, he offered it a façade decorated with an elegant balcony overlooked by a majestic front wall; in the manner of a theatre stage set. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau de Roussan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Roussan Hotel St-Remy-De-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing