We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and charming boutique hotel in Provence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mas de l'Amarine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mas de l'Amarine
Mauritius
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent and charming boutique hotel in Provence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Thumbs up to Alice and Bernard the chef for this very nice boutique hotel at st remy de Provence. We could not have booked a better place than the mas de l'amarine, with its artistic influence, contemporary interiors and above all personalized service by Alice, a great host.

You do feel at home over there, the dinner setting is authentic and so is the cuisine of Bernard who dazzled us with his "epaule d'agneau" ! Breakfast in the garden is a must and prepared with great care and freshness.

Comfort in room can however be improved with a full length mirror and a luggage rack stand for our suitcase.

Highly recommended and we'll be back as soon as possible!

A Alice & Bernard, nous vous souhaitons une bonne continuation, vous avez un superbe produit et un engagement professionnel pour une belle reussite! Que de bons souvenirs, Alex & Didier

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Didier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masamarine, Propriétaire at Mas de l'Amarine, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de partager votre expérience & votre satisfaction au sujet de notre maison. Nous sommes très touché par votre appréciation, c'est un réel un plaisir de rendre heureux nos hôtes. Au plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau. Meilleures salutations. Alice, Bernard & toute l'équipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
38
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Beautiful site, beautiful "Mas", terrible food and service. The " SPECTACULAIRE", this is the word the owner used to describe the dinner we were suppose to have when I called to be sure everything will be perfect for my clients. What a deception, the little appetizer was decent, the main dish was ridiculous, and the dessert was a joke. All this for a price which was indecent.
I picked this restaurant to give my guest an unforgettable experience of France!!
The owner was completely absent when we left.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Occitaniatours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Mas de l'Amarine, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Madam,
All our apologizes if your unsual experience in Mas de L'amarine didn't reach your excpectations. It is unusual that our guest leave the place being unhappy (Espacially regardind the quality of food and the quality of service)
It would be a real pleasure for us to welcome you again in order to change that point of view. I am always at the restaurant from begining to the end of service, it may happen that I was at another table when you left.
I leave you my phone number in case you have any comment to transmit me directly and personnally, instead of making you experience a public affair. I am always available for my guests and I always listen to positive and negative comments, it helps us to improve.
Best Regards
Alice Monnier
+33.4.90.94.47.82
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

My wife and I stayed three nights at Mas de l'Amerine only 1 mile outside of St Remy de Provence in France. I cannot say enough good things about the proprietors Alice and Chef Bernard!
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel like family, with attention to all of our various travel needs. We hosted a dinner the first night for another family, and every detail was taken care of - the food was outstanding - creative interpretations of some classic dishes. My sole was the best I remember ever having. Being new to Provence, and Americans with a not-good command of French, Alice helped us navigate around to our various tourist locations and she was ALWAYS 100% right in her directions, and even suggested a few places we had not thought about that were AMAZING - including Cathedrale D'Images in Baux de Provence 20 minutes away - it is NOT to be missed if you are in the area! Mind blowing, really. Thank you Alice!
Our room was very clean and quiet - and since this was a very hot weekend I was concerned about the comfort - but now worries the AC worked fine. The bathrooms are luxurious and clean with every amenity, including a huge, I mean huge, walk-in shower which was a treat.
And the music! In the big dining room Alice has the finest and most eclectic collections of music - and is happy to take your suggestions too for the right mood.
The setting of this very small hotel (only five rooms!) is that of a quiet and luxurious family villa. I am 100% certain that I will stay here my next visit to Provence, and I will find a reason - business or personal - to come back in the next year to enjoy this totally magical place.
I was surprised at the good value, at check out time, when we got our bill. For this reason also I must return!

Room Tip: My big tip is simply "relax and let yourself be under the care of Alice and Chef Bernard"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarchmontTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masamarine, Propriétaire at Mas de l'Amarine, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience, it is a great pleasure and satisfaction to read your comment.
Hope to see you again
Alice, Bernard & all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We were fortunate enough to be invited to a fashion show at Mas de l Amarine by local artist Willy Daterbriou. After the show we decided to stay for dinner and took at advantage of the per-fixed menu offered by Chef Barnard.The owner carefully went over the menu options with us since our French is somewhat limited . The four course meal was beautifully presented and served with a friendly manner and flair. It was one of our best meals in a month long trip to France. So delicious we made reservations to come back four days later. On our next visit we were taken on tour of the Mas. It is in a beautiful setting up on a hill right outside of St Remy, the decor is simply beautiful and tasteful. I loved the dinning room which overlooking the outside patio and on the other side built in to a old rock wall. Although we did not stay there the time we spent with the owner drinking wine in the cozy main room made us feel like we were long time friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcbiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masamarine, Propriétaire at Mas de l'Amarine, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Google Translation
Merci d'avoir partagé votre expérience. Ce fut effectivement une soirée très spéciale & originale, nous sommes ravis que vous ayez passé un agréable moment
Alice, Bernard & toute l'équipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Positives:
- The house and the setting is beautiful.
- Location is great.
- Design and size of our room was nice.
- Comfy beds.
- Dinner and breakfast were excellent.

Negatives:
- Value for money is not good.
- Rude and unprofessional host.
- Airco in the room was not able to cool down the room.
- No airco in the bathroom, temparature was almost unbearable after shower.
- Shower did not work as it should.
- Only 4 sunloungers for 6 rooms which was reason for discussions/disputes with other guests and with host. Note: adults do not want to lie on a sitting bag. It may work for kids but it does for sure not work for adults that paid EUR 300 per night...
- Guests which had dinner only were treated better than sleeping guests (e.g. we had to wait more than 10 minutes for a coffee whereas staff was running around like headless chicken while we were waiting to be served).
- Unheated outdoor pool.
- WiFi did not work in the room and outside of the room. Staff was unable to provide help. We just had to accept the fact that it did not work...

Would we return? NO

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Roo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masamarine, Propriétaire at Mas de l'Amarine, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Google Translation
Cher Monsieur Iten,

Nous sommes ravis de voir en ce jour de Toussaint que vous ayez pensé à nous souhaiter notre fête, de tous les saints bien sûr! Nous vous remercions pour vos remarques positives & souhaitons apporter des justifications aux avis négatifs.

- Nous fonctionnons avec une pompe à chaleur sur l'ensemble de la propriété. Chaque chambre & pièce est équipée d'un système indépendant & d'une commande très simple à l'utilisation.
-En ce qui concerne l'aménagement de la piscine, nous sommes équipés de 4 larges chaises longues & de 6 Fatboy Buggle-Up pour nos 5 chambres. Dans toute la propriété extérieure il y a des salons & des espaces de détente aménagés.
- Nous ne voyons pas la nécessité de chauffer un piscine le 15 Aout en Provence.
- Au mois d'Aout, la chambre noire est au tarif de 260.-€ et non de 300.-€
- Pour le Wifi, il est vrai qu'il ne fonctionne que dans certaines parties de la maison. Vous avez à disposition un confortable bureau avec un ordinateur fixe connecté à internet en haut débit. Nous sommes actuellement en train de trouver un système afin que Wifi soit diffuser dans toute la propriété.
- "Guests which had dinner only were treated better than sleeping guests". Tous nos clients sont traités de la même manière avec les mêmes attentions & la même générosité. Dans votre cas particulier c'est un complexe d'infériorité.

Vous avez omis un détail essentiel dans votre énoncé. Suite à votre scandale public & votre comportement hystérique au sujet d'un simple Fatboy, nous nous sommes vus dans l'obligation de vous mettre dehors en plein milieu de votre séjour. Il est sure que dans une telle situation vous ne nous ayez trouvé fort sympathique & que la relation qualité prix soit en fort décalage.

Nous ne nous sommes pas improvisés hôteliers & restaurateurs, tout notre parcours professionnel est en rapport avec la gastronomie & l'hospitalité. Nous savons faire plaisir à nos clients, anticiper leurs attentes & nous savons également identifier le client qui cherche à nuire à notre établissement et au bien être d'autres clients.

La question n'est pas de savoir si vous souhaitez revenir au Mas de l'Amarine puisque comme nous vous l'avons mentionné vous n'y êtes plus le bienvenu.

Respectueusement Vôtre

Alice Monnier & Bernard Coloma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
0.9 mi away
Mas Valentine
Mas Valentine
#9 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Chateau des Alpilles
Le Chateau des Alpilles
#3 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chateau de Roussan
Chateau de Roussan
#11 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas de l'Amarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas de l'Amarine

Property: Mas de l'Amarine
Address: Mas de l Amarine 517 Ancienne Voie Aurelia, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LUXURY PRIVATE RENTAL & INTIMATE EVENT VENUE AN AUTHENTIC EXPERIENTIAL HIDEAWAY IN AN UNIQUE ARTISTIC HOUSE NESTLED IN PROVENCE FOR REFINED WANDERERS We celebrate the art of positive luxury as a better way of life. We invite you to explore and delight in the possibility of each moment as time melts away and lose yourself in experiences that will stay with you for a lifetime. We aim to provoke that pleasant feeling like butterflies in your stomach when you see something really beautiful, something you can’t explain, but just feel. As a creative and refined refuge nestled in the heart of Provence, Mas de l’Amarine offers the ultimate private getaway to host family gatherings, friendly reunions, intimate celebrations & healing wellness retreats. Privatised exclusively, the exceptional artist property becomes our guests' own home away for a reception, weekend or holiday. As a personal guide we tailor made & organize in detail our hosts wishes & dreams in the most unexpected. If the experiences are magical, the philosophy is simple: SLOW LIFE Sustainabilty-Local-Organic-Wellness Luxe-Inspiring-Fun-Experiences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mas de l'Amarine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing