We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Van Gogh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Van Gogh
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here to visit Avignon, Pont de Gard, Nimes, and Arles. St. Remy is a great location with all sites within 30km, and Hotel Van Gogh is excellent. We had an exquisite room with 2 double beds for our family of three. The staff were very helpful and served a great breakfast on the terrace. The hotel had free wifi everywhere and a nice pool to cool off in. The town is only a 5 minute walk. Highly recommend Hotel Van Gogh.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Clive888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Van Gogh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Van Gogh last week and were very satisfied. The location was awesome.....an easy walk into the village center. The off-street parking was also very nice.
The employees were friendly and tried to speak English as our French is dismal. The rooms/bathrooms are plain but very clean and comfortable. I would recommend the Hotel Van Gogh to those travelers who want a great location, clean/simple accommodations for a modest price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regalrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here for a week in September and used it as base for our travels around Provence. From that perspective, it was perfect. It's quite close to all the major sites and towns you may wish to visit in the area. The hotel is quite nice for the French countryside. The room was a bit bigger than expected and furnished with enough furniture to make it convenient. e.g. a nice size set of drawers and cupboard with a safe. The AC works well. The bed was fairly comfortable and the French doors opened out onto the garden. Although people would sit right outside for breakfast and it wasn't that private. The place is bigger than expected and does cater to some small groups which can be a problem at breakfast time. The garden was nice with a good size pool kept very clean. The couple running it speak good English and shared information with us for our travels around the area. It's a nice walkng distance into the town of St. Remy which had loads of restaurants although they are a bit pricey. My only complaint would be the breakfast. It was typical French breakfast with yogourt, croissants, baguette, coffee and juice. But you are given a tray of things on your table whether it was what you would choose. It would be much better if they set it up as a buffet and let people choose. The price is fairly reasonable considering where you are and the convenient location would cause me to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bjay3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We only stayed one night in October so we were unable to enjoy the pool area. However, the outside pool and garden area was very attractive. The room was clean and attractive and included a safe. Air conditioning was a nice touch. In early October it was still warm enough to use the a/c to cool the room for sleeping. The bathroom had a nice counter area for your essentials. The sleeping area had light colored wood floors and a large window. We had a first floor room.
You must speak a tiny bit of french to be comfortable here as the owners do not speak English. However, we speak only a tiny bit of French ad did just fine. Free, safe parking lot.

Room Tip: If you have a great deal of luggage, ask for a 1st floor room as the 2nd floor is accessed by stairs...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The hotel is well located, nicely furbished and few minutes away from the village center. We travel to St. Remy to celebrate our 12th anniversary...and booked the "suite". Well, the suite is just a big bigger of the regular bedroom...but located next to the room where cleaning staff store their tools and trolley....so when they arrive in the early morning, they don't care if you are sleeping or not (actually there are no "do not disturb sign" to hang at the door)...they will wake you up with the noise of slamming door, keys, trolley hitting the walls... As for another review linked to this hotel, we also experienced the owner's wife " loud disappointment" about the fact that some children around the pool are were too noisy. Few little pits and pieces giving us the impression we won't be ready to go back.

Room Tip: Asks for room as away as possible from the area where the terrace-breakfast will be taken
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REGR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Stayed here just for one night, nice location close enough to town to walk. The rooms were nicely done- you can tell there was a lot of love that went into the renovation. There is a lovely fireplace in the common area. There is a pool outside, but it was too cold for swimming when we were there. Wish we could have stayed longer. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sueperwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Our expectations were exceeded at Hotel Van Gogh, where we just spent 5 nights. The hotel, both inside and out, was immaculate, and the air-conditioned rooms were lovely and spacious with large, well appointed bathrooms. The pool area had adequate shade if you wanted to stay out of the sun, and breakfast on the outdoor "terrace" included the usual baguette and croissant plus granola, fruit, cheese, yogurt and juice. The hotel's private parking lot and an easy 10-minute walk straight into town made the location ideal for those traveling by car. We would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aisselba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#3 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
1,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#11 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
284 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chateau de Roussan
Chateau de Roussan
#9 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
612 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Glanum Hotel
Villa Glanum Hotel
#13 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Castelet des Alpilles
Le Castelet des Alpilles
#15 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Van Gogh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Van Gogh

Address: 1 avenue Jean Moulin, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range: £81 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Van Gogh 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Van Gogh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Gogh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing