We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place in Saint Remy”

Le cafe de la place
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good place in Saint Remy”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Good food. Extensive selection of wines...and the waiters were the best in a long time! Very friendly and helpful. Showed the menu, explained in English what I could not understand in french. Perfect! Place was full of locals, says it all.

Helpful?
Thank jasper-no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    240
    47
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food not bad but over-rated”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We came here because of many good reviews but we think for the amount of money spent on a plat, you can get very good full menu in other restaurants in St Remy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shumshum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
235 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“good choice in St. Remy”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Friendly service in their outdoor covered patio. Attractively presented food. We had a great lunch here. The kids enjoyed fruit and cheese plates, and the adults tried some of the specials of the day. This wasn't a fancy dining option, more of a solid choice for a good meal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GNR80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A busy night but good atmosphere ”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We went to St Remy on out first night staying in Barbentane close by. We arrived about 9 and the town was very busy but the restaurant was recommended so we waited. The food was fairly simple by French standards but very good still and the service was a little slow but there was a bit of a 'go with the flow' one which wasn't all bad. The hustle and bustle kind of added to the atmosphere and the people watching! Would go back.

Helpful?
Thank AJB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
162 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointed”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

After reading reviews all afternoon to choose our restaurant we settled on Le Cafe de la Place but came away somewhat disappointed. I was very happy with my octopus carpaccio, a generous and beautifully presented cold dish served with fresh salad yet my husband made the mistake of ordering the entrecôte which he found to be really fatty and sinewy. I had a taste too and it really was tough and not pleasant at all. Perhaps we are spoiled with the excellent quality of our meat in South Africa or we just had poor luck or we were taken for a ride. We are not sure.

The service was very friendly and good, the carafe of house wine (blanc) enjoyable but we do wonder why the place is so popular. Around St Remy some restaurants appear to remain quiet but this one buzzes and it certainly seems popular with the locals. I would recommend the cold dishes for sure but can't say much for the one hot dish we chose.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daisylu2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le cafe de la place also viewed

Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Le cafe de la place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing