We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location to Visit All of Provence”
Review of Le Mas des Figues

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Mas des Figues
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location to Visit All of Provence”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This was a wonderful location to see all we wanted to see in Provence.

Avignon, Aix, Arles, etc. were all an easy drive from this wonderful property.

Phillippe was a wonderful host and provided us with good recommendations for sites to see. The room we were in (Albepine I believe) was comfortable and had a semi-private patio of its own. We spent a few evenings there enjoying some wine and cheese as the sun set.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfnutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masdesfigues, Propriétaire at Le Mas des Figues, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having taken the time to write a review further to your stay with us.
It’s nice to learn that you greatly appreciated our hospitality

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon in Mas des figues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    90
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
58
265
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

To describe Le Mas des Figues as a mere Inn is to describe the clouds over St Remy as white. To experience them is poetry. We came to Phillipe's Inn after two weeks of hiking in the French Alps, looking forward to three days of sightseeing in Provence, visiting the markets of the Luberon, the festivals of Avignon and the ruins of Les Baux. What I didn't expect was Le Mas des Figues. The setting was spectacular, the room was wonderful, the gardens were intoxicating and the breakfasts were great. But all that paled next to the conversations (and art) of Phillipe. I found myself wanting to stay and talk, rather than go sightseeing! But it was not to be, as too much was on our agenda......I need to return!

Room Tip: Can't say! They all seen great, with names rather than numbers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masdesfigues, Propriétaire at Le Mas des Figues, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for having posted your feedback further to your stay with us in Mas des figues

It’s nice to read that you enjoyed the comfort of your room, the glamoury atmosphere ,
Hope to see you soon in Mas des figues for another enjoyed stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights there and we have a great time. The owners were simply the best. We not only felt at home but also at a nice hotel, right in the middle of a gorgeous property. We not only got great recommendations about local vineries, but also restaurants and other local attractions. Strongly recommend for anyone looking to have a pleasant time in the south of France. Make sure you do not miss the breakfast!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DalleMule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masdesfigues, Propriétaire at Le Mas des Figues, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for the time you spent relating your experience at Mas des figues , our charming guesthouse with gardens of roses , in Saint Remy de Provence . we will be honoured to welcome you back in Mas des figues .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Where do I start...well, this was our first trip to Provence. I chose this B&B from the reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. Phillippe was a fantastic host, welcoming us to his beautiful home. The grounds are well kept and gorgeous...full of flowers....very quiet and peaceful. The rooms are a decent size, super clean and well decorated. St. Remy is a great place to stay since it is central to most of the sites you want to visit while in Provence. The town is very charming, great restaurants and not too crowded. I highly recommend the Wednesday farmers market in town...very cool. If visiting St. Remy, this is the place to stay!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masdesfigues, Propriétaire at Le Mas des Figues, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having taken the time to write a review further to your stay with us.
It’s nice to learn that you greatly appreciated our hospitality,
Hope to welcome you another time in Mas des figues .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, booking only on our day of arrival, and feel that we chanced upon a rare environment, relaxed, welcoming, stimulating for one's thinking and senses. Lovely room, particularly the bathroom, with attention to small things, and large comfortable bed. Garden in full bloom, is a particular delight, as are hosts. Pool very welcome in such hot weather. Fascinating art work, and conversations with Philippe. Agree with some comments about the price of breakfast, however, this in no way detracts from the overall experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen_brember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masdesfigues, Propriétaire at Le Mas des Figues, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mas des figues
Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Mas des Figues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at this B & B in late spring when the roses were in full bloom. Magnificent gardens and the farm were well worth a visit. The weather was cool so no swimming in the pool and we enjoyed our stay here amongst the flowers and the peace and quiet. Phillippe was a gracious host and we enjoyed his breakfasts although at 15 Euro per person they were not cheap although most of the products came from the farm. Also Philippe is an artist and his work can be seen throughout the gardens.

The main reasons we did not give the place a higher rating were mainly a number of small things that we have enjoyed at other B & B's such as the place was hard to find, the satnav only took us to the middle of the road and Mas de Figues was another 1 km further on (Phillippe did rescue us and came to escort us) we had to carry our luggage across stony path's ( a trolley on rubber wheels would help) the minibar prices were very expensive with wine in particular and the fact that you had to ask for a hot breakfast even though you were being charged the same for a continental breakfast. Also given that the flowers were in full bloom a few in the rooms on arrival and a welcome drink would have added that personal touch.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank guy-49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masdesfigues, Propriétaire at Le Mas des Figues, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
from philippe

thank you for your comment
you give me new ideas to improve better my home.
In fact, I'll offer a welcome drink to the guests at their arrival and buy a trolley for luggage.
Now, it is very hot and the roses are even more beautiful and full ijn bloom..... but I do not want to cut it because I like to see them alive and well.
friendly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights a few weeks ago, finding the Mas des Figues by chance while looking through all the places to stay in and around Saint-Remy de Provence and we were glad we did.
This place is a haven of silence and beauty - and welcome. The owners are gracious, friendly, helpful - but also discrete - just how it should be.
The grounds are loaded with flowers, roses (when we were there soon to be blooming), and Philippe's artwork. It's great.
I personally liked the breakfast best - garlic and olive oil soaked 'pain perdu' (French toast Provence style) and lots of things to put on it. Of course you have all the other more traditional and delicious breakfast fare. Sitting on the terrace having breakfast was wonderful.
Nice pool to relax around, although when we were there it was a bit chilly.
You can leave the Mas without taking the car an hike all over the place.
Our room was very nice - we had the suite: we didn't really need the space or two bathrooms but it was the only room available when we booked; the normal rooms would have been fine for us.
Thank you Anne-Marie and Philippe for a wonderful stay. Just sorry we missed the roses in bloom!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masdesfigues, Propriétaire at Le Mas des Figues, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
from Philippe
many thanks for your advice
the roses start in bloom
the 3000 roses are as an ocean of coulors
it is so lovely
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Remy-de-Provence
2.0 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
600 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
1,053 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Roussan
Chateau de Roussan
#9 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#10 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
278 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Chateau des Alpilles
Le Chateau des Alpilles
#3 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
353 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mas de l'Oulivie
Mas de l'Oulivie
#1 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas des Figues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas des Figues

Property: Le Mas des Figues
Address: Vieux Chemin d'Arles, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Le Mas des Figues 1.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Natural Park of the Alpilles, the farmhouse figs 4 ears evokes the timeless charm of old country houses of provencal styled rooms are warm and inviting spirit very pampering at a secret sweetness. Good garden products available to the gourmet delights for brunch in the morning to complete the whole, a living room lounge stretches very close to the heated swimming pool that extends very patient between lavender and fragrant rose gardens. Anne-Marie looks after the beautiful Mediterranean garden, special price of houses and flowery Philippe speaks of singular art and her latest creations full of emotions. The house of figs is truly a place where we discover preserved as a botanical garden, farm animals, vegetable, olive. The house of figs, eco-lodge, a new lifestyle in a nature protected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Mas des Figues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas Des Figues Hotel St-Remy-De-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing