We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”
Review of Canto Cigalo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Canto Cigalo
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I don’t know what is missing to this place become a 5 star. Paradise. Quietness. Beautiful construction, rooms, and decoration. Excellent breakfast. And what a pool! I just hope they keep the fair prices after becoming a 5 star!
I’ll be back!!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DiogoFerraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    90
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
31
169
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We have just returned from a lovely holiday in St Remy and it was our stay in Canto Cigalo that made it so special. From the moment we arrived we knew we had made a great choice. Our room was overlooking the terrace and pool and was very nice. We slept so well it was so relaxing and peaceful. Claude and his staff couldnt do enough for us and especially Valerie who had quite good english and always had a smile. We had access to a lovely spotlessly clean swimming pool and enjoyed a glass of local wines on the terrace.

St Remy was a terrific base for visiting Avignon, Arles, Luberon valley and Aix. We left Canto Cigalo after 6 nights and stayed in Aix for three nights but we were sorry that we didnt stay for our full holiday In Canto Cigalo.

We have already recommended Canto Cigalo to all our friends.

Deirdre.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but the rooms to the front have a lovely view. They are a little more exspensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeirdreSkerries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This was a delightful place to stay. The setting is beautiful. You definitely need a car, but once you've arrived it's an easy drive to all the wonderful villages of Provence.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dandmkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We arrived for one night and ended up staying three and delaying our tunnel crossing as we just felt so relaxed at the Canto and didn't want to leave. The hosts have created a real oasis of calm, with beautiful gardens and a sparkling pool and very cosy bistro setting in front of the hotel where we had a lovely breakfast and early evening enjoyed a glass of chilled rose before heading into St Remy for supper. Within the hotel, the entrance is so welcoming and rooms are very clean, fresh and comfortable with everything you need to hand. You can't help unwind and with a quick walk into the centre of St Remy we will definitely be back, we have stayed in various hotels in the area and we think that this is one of the very best.

Room Tip: We were 2nd floor and view of the Alpilles is superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finntin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Conto Cigalo was not a bad accommodation, but several nits have affected our rating:
- We were told months ago when making our reservation that we had a view room on the north end of the second floor, but we had to take a room without a view on the first floor with no view.
- We paid a premium for an air conditioned room, but the air conditioning was not activated yet. As we couldn't even use the AC fan to cool our stuffy room, we had to keep the window open and subject ourselves to noise and people looking in.
- The "easy walk" to town took 20 minutes each way and required walking down a very narrow one lane street. If you have a car, drive to town as the parking was not too bad.
- Breakfast was the most meager of the 6 hotels/B&Bs that we stayed in over 15 days.
- While there is ample parking, it's very tight and requires a lot of maneuvering to exit the lot.
- The hosts just didn't seem very friendly, shut the hotel down relatively early, and while responsive always gave the impression that they were going out of their way.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor north supposedly have a nice view of the mountains, but even though we res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisandKarleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The rooms at canto cigalo were nice, very colourful and very clean. As other reviewers have noted you cannot eat your own food anywhere on the property, which is very annoying with such an amazing market down the street. You also have to leave your room key on a hook at reception, i didn't feel this was very safe, but it seems to work. The breakfast is 8,50 euro and is worth it if you're not there on a market day. I wouldn't advise if you have a gluten intolerance or don't like too much bread though, as that makes up the majority of the breakfast. Do try the raspberry jam though. There is free wifi, free secure parking, free extra blankets (for those cold nights) and lots of tourist information. I would stay there again :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChillCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

+free WIFI
+great breakfast
+friendly stuff
+comfortable rooms

-the mattress seemed to be quite old
-the breakfast was not included

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
1,040 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#10 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
272 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel l'Amandiere
Hotel l'Amandiere
#6 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
258 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mas Valentine
Mas Valentine
#12 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canto Cigalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canto Cigalo

Property: Canto Cigalo
Address: 8 A Chemin de Canto Cigalo, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canto Cigalo 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be welcomed to the Canto Cigalo with a smile as if you are comming to stay with friends. 20 comfortable rooms 2 ** withair-conditioned or ventilated,equipped with shower or bath, private toilets, telephone, mini-bar Quiet garden, shade of mulberry trees and pines and perfumed to scents of the Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Canto Cigalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canto Cigalo Hotel St-Remy-De-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing