We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A memorable experience in St. Remy”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Parking area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jane W
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A memorable experience in St. Remy”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our entire family ( 2 seniors, 2 adults, 2 children age 6 and 14- with room to spare) enjoyed our stay at this lovely home in St Remy. Stylishly and comfortably furnished; fully equipped with all the latest electronics and appliances, and at the same time, possessing the charm of an intimate family home ( baby grand piano, children's books, artwork), this little gem is only a 10 minute walk from the centre of town. We enjoyed the pool, dinners on the patio and the beautiful landscaping. There was nothing missing from this perfect setting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tastefully furnished and very comfortable
Liked least: The ovens, but who cooks on vacation!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawn h
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“We loved Maison du Gecko”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Three friends and I stayed in this charming house in St. Remy in May 2014. Prior to our arrival, I had so many email exchanges with Julien that I hoped he would still welcome us! He was so helpful and welcoming, we couldn't have asked for a more wonderful owner. Julien arranged for a private chef for us one night, was helpful throughout my first experience in wiring the funds for the deposit and rental balance, and helped out with a few questions prior to our arrival. He was on vacation during our week's stay, so arranged for a friend to meet us at the house. Jean-Baptiste gave us some recommendations for restaurants and helped us get set-up for wi-fi. The house was fabulous. I've never seen such wonderful artwork in a place that is rented. We had plenty of room and were thrilled by the proximity to town. On the nights we ate out, we walked into town, which not only provided us with a little exercise, but also allowed me to have a 2nd glass of wine! The market on Wednesday was fabulous, as were our meals in St. Remy. We had planned to use the studio, so each of us had our own room for this leg of our trip, but when we checked it out, there did not appear to be a toilet in that room. There was a locked door, which maybe had the "external" toilet, or maybe it was outside! Not sure - John-Baptiste wasn't as familiar with the property as Julien is. We did laundry before we set off on the rest of our trip, and were surprised at how long the washer and dryer took to do a load of laundry! Plan on about 4 hours for a single load. Anyhow, we wouldn't have changed a minute of our time in Provence, and would certainly love to visit this particular property again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alene K
Redwood City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This was an absolutely perfect property for us.”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, dear friend and I stayed at this property for 8 nights and hated to leave. Every day we walked to St. Remy, usually more than once. It was only about a 5-minute walk from the house for us. The home is well-equipped and beautiful. The kitchen is large and light, and the bedrooms are also very roomy. We used the two king bedrooms that had floor-to-ceiling doors that opened onto the backyard. The living room and dining room also have the large doors opening to the yard. We kept them open when we were home and the light and breezes that filled the home were wonderful. The water pressure is great in the showers, and the washer-dryer came in handy for us. We enjoyed our stay so very much and would stay again. Treat yourself. You will be so glad you did.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The light, open space, and air flow.
Liked least: The shower head in the largest bathroom is one of the handheld kind and it didn't want to stay put. We all used the other shower. No problem for us.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie L
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful in every way!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We fell in love with this villa and had such a wonderful stay here. I would highly recommend this house to any group or family looking for a place to relax in Provence and still be close to town. You couldn't ask for a more perfect location - as others have noted, it's just a quick walk or bike ride into Saint Remy and surrounded by so many wonderful hill towns and other historic sites. (Glanum is a must!)

This house is equipped with everything you could possibly want or need, from local maps to abundant kitchen utensils and supplies to interesting books and DVDs to children's books. Towels are plentiful for both the pool and the shower. The air conditioning in the living room and one bedroom works really well - and we were grateful for it after many hours under the hot sun each day. The bathrooms are very functional with two bathtubs including a shower. (The second bathroom is inside the bedroom without a wall so that is worth noting. It was fine for us but might not appeal to all.)

We loved the pool and the lush, blooming gardens surrounding the house - there are fig and apricot trees in your own backyard! The house is extremely safe with a security system and private gate. We felt comfortable and happy the entire stay and would go back in a heartbeat.

While the house, the gardens, and area were all wonderful, what really made the experience special was the extra attention, care, and professionalism demonstrated by the owner, Julien. We arrived late after a difficult, long drive and he was there to welcome us with a very unexpected and incredible aperitif - a selection of tapanades and crackers, etc. He made himself available to us by text, phone, and email whenever we had questions throughout the week and treated us like friends. He personally travelled to a nearby chateau to make a dinner reservation for us when we could not get through directly, before we even arrived in France. And when I left something at the house upon our departure, he drove two hours to return it to me in St Tropez!

For any first time villa renters who have reservations about sending wire transfers and security deposits to a perfect stranger, I can assure you that Julien is someone you can trust and count on to make your vacation not just pleasant but wonderful. Thank you for all of your help, Julien!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the pool outside my bedroom door! and the fully outfitted kitchen, proximity to town, security of the property
Liked least: one of the beds had a very firm mattress but this may have been replaced since our stay
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
Many many thanks Carrie !!!! By the way, Works are planed to change and turn the bedromm with tube and toilet into a private and separated shower room with basin and toilet. Coming in a month ! Thanks again I would love to see you theire again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nico06000
Nice, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

WOW- 1st time in this charming villa. Private, quiet, large, comfortable, conveniently located from the perfect picturesque town of St. Remy. Living quarters were more than sufficient, large eat in in kitchen, beautiful baby grand piano, large pool, big back yard, washer/dryer was super convenient.
Villa and gardens were mint clean and well maintained.

Had the pleasure of meeting the owner-Julien. A young professional family man and perfect gentleman.

Of course we explored the surrounding towns and found super delicious bakeries and a huge modern shopping mall about 20 minutes away. The drive there was beautiful-for miles and miles the road was lined with huge trees
that joined across the road.

Sorry to leave and plan to be back. I highly recommend the villa to singles or family.
Thanks-Karl

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
was a great pleasure Karl!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2017
Merci Caroline ! Désolé de ne pas vous avoir rencontré, mais j'ai eu des échos parfait de la part de Leila et Lilian !
Au plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau quand vous voulez !
Julien
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PierreC37...
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing