We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Stay in St Remy”
Review of Hotel Gounod

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gounod
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We spent two nights at this wonderfully quirky hotel whilst travelling through Provence.
Ideally located in the main square of this beautiful town, and surrounded by a wide choice of restaurants, the hotel has a quiet garden around which some of the rooms are located. There is a swimming pool just off the garden and shaded space in the garden to relax.
Special mention must be made of the breakfast, served in a delightful courtyard,beautifully presented fresh pastries and fruit, and above all our breakfast server, Sophie, whose exuberant and friendly nature elevated breakfast to a whole new level.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the ground floor looking out towards the garden
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bterrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gounod
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel is eclectic and charming and particularly cyclist-friendly - there is a covered garage to lock up your bike and a pool! Very welcome after riding through the nearby Alpilles. Many of the rooms open out onto the garden where the pool is located - much nicer than you would expect from the outside. And a delicious breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for one opening onto the garden on the ground floor, so you don't have to drag luggage up st...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cap63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The fellow who composed Ave Maria (I think) did it here and the hotel is stuffed with statues and crosses and enough religious themes to frighten a Jewish couple from Boston. But, once past the halos, nails and mangers the hotel is a gem. Weather was hot and the pool a delight. Room was quiet and clean. Breakfast, which were charged separately, had no eggs but super fruits. Staff couldn't have been nicer and showed wonderful concern when my wife was laid up with heat exhaustion for a few days. Easy storeage and acess for out bicycles. Located in the center of town and a short walk from restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hkavet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had no reservations or plans for St Remy de Provence but were delighted to discover Gounod Hotel. We checked in for one night and stayed for 3. The lobby was very funky & decorated with lots of religious icons, these are because of owners admiration for composer Gounod who wrote operas here in the 1800s. not knowing what to expect we were delighted to find our room was a beautiful modern space, spacious & very comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful & charming, recommending excellent restaurants and sights in the area, Hotel is well situated for touring in the Provence area. We loved our stay & will go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flymomMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Five of us congregated from across Europe for one night before moving into our rental. The rooms were quirky but lovely. The pool is pretty and quiet. The staff are charming; the breakfast was brill. It's in the centre of one of the nicest towns in France and it doesn't cost an arm or a leg. Might offend atheists and agnostics with the heavily religiously themed reception area but I appreciated the kitsch and the incense!

The garden is an oasis of shade if you go in high season.

Room Tip: Go for the room above the pool with the balcony onto the garden.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We came to stay for one night and stayed for two nights in a room off the beautiful garden with mature trees, and enjoyed the lovely atmosphere of this friendly hotel. We were given information on arrival of all there was to see locally, and tried some of the restaurants which were suggested and we were more than happy, and the pool was there if you wanted! The breakfast was amazing with lovely fresh fruits and many other choices. ~The hotel is right in the square, and there is parking for 5 euros a short walk away. A lot of history to this hotel, which adds to the atmosphere! Loved it and the lovely friendly staff!!

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear of the hotel overlooking the garden. If you were at the front you may suf...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

First if you want a typical Americanized hotel this is not your place. It's funky clutter and lobby are fun if a little religious. The pool was very nice and the service excellent. Our room was up dark stairs but was warm, comfortable and interesting. We stayed there for two nights on a biking trip and its location in the heart of a beautiful town near great restaurants was perfect.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank AdventureBiker21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
612 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
1,074 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#11 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chateau de Roussan
Chateau de Roussan
#9 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
479 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Chateau des Alpilles
Le Chateau des Alpilles
#3 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gounod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gounod

Address: 18 Place de la Republique, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France (Formerly Hotel Ville Verte)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range: £108 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gounod 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Regional Park of the Alpilles, in the Provençal village of Saint -Remy de Provence, the Gounod Hotel offers you a charming place full of history and inspiartion. It is here, in this former Post relay from the 18th century that Charles Gounod, the famous author of the Ave Maria, stayd and created the opera Mireille in 1863. The hotel was completely renovated this winter by the new owners highlighting the cold stone walls of the main building, the stairs and corridors which remind the old small hotels and the new decoration contibutes to keep the cozy atmosphere in the place. Behind the building you can discover a unique place: the garden offers you a beautiful terrace, stone alleys leading to the swimming pool, spa, meeting room. It is a haven of peace in the heart of village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gounod reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing