We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eccentric gem”
Review of Hotel Gounod

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gounod
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Bizarre but brilliant hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - I particularly loved our room which was just off the garden, the bathroom came complete with big fluffy white bathrobes and slippers and lovely toiletries. There's a pool to cool off in (too cool for me!), and the breakfast is outstanding. Lovely helpful staff too.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Wessen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at Gounod for two nights over a summer weekend. Two things are relevant. 1) The staff here are basically mean-spirited, rude (even for the French) and cheap, to the point of aggressively trying to rip you off. 2) The hotel is bizarre, not quaint or cute, just bizarre.

In the two days we were there we observed the staff literally yelling at two different sets of guests. We later had the pleasure directly of being on the receiving end of the same treatment. In all cases the issue boiled down to the same thing--guests were unhappy, staff was unwilling to accept any responsibility or make any gesture at meaningfully fixing the problem. And each time, instead of making even a tiny economic concession to the guests in question, the staff refused to in any way give back even a drop of revenue. We saw some pretty horrendous behavior from the staff, including screaming at a couple of guests in front of their young children when that couple had the temerity to ask to be released from their reservation due to an unacceptable room. Repeatedly, whether in the cafe or the lobby, we saw the same thing--staff were totally uninterested in providing actual service or thoughtfulness to guests, instead acting like bureaucrats. These people were worse than the DMV. They just don't care. They were unwilling to accept in any scenario that the hotel itself was responsible for any issues; the minute any guest mentioned a problem, the staff simply refused to acknowledge the issue, saying 'it's not our responsibility' or 'that isn't part of what we provide'. Truly about the lowest service level we've ever had at a hotel.

2) The hotel is really two properties. There's the back by the pool which feels like a pool motel, and then the front up the stairs which is like a haunted house. We stayed on the top floor in the haunted house part. The room was fine, except for the bit of raw sewage smell emanating from the bathroom. It's a mediocre 3* place, with minimal amenities in the rooms. (Note, for instance, that the internet doesn't really work.) The main issues are that it's dark, dark, dark in this part of the hotel--actually dangerously dark at night trying to get back to your room--and the walls are paper thin. You can hear everything, and there's a ton of street noise. (Maybe the pool motel part is quieter.) The bed was actually quite comfortable, and the parking (while a bit of a hassle) is a reasonable price. But overall the quality and size of the room relative to the price paid is atrocious; this is not a value by any stretch.

We stayed all over France on a three week trip. This was -by far- the worst place we stayed. The condition of the room combined with the truly horrid hotel staff by itself would have been unpleasant, but for the price it was insulting. St. Remy is a very lovely (if very tourist-y) town in Provence; there are countless other places in town worth staying before Gounod. Avoid.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank twentythree55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed here with a friend just for one night as we were travelling thru Provence. we arrived quite late but they still had a room left.
the staff was very friendly and showed us to our room.
the hotel is very cute but as other reviewers have noted, all the little maria sculptures are not really necessary.. it doesn't really work with the rest of the hotel.
the courtyard is really big and i was surprised to find this behind the small entrance.
our room was quite small and you step right in to the bedroom. the colors weren't my favorite it could definitely use some re-decorating to make it a bit more cozy.
the bathroom however was wonderful! cute large with beautiful little tiles and products from L'occitane. great big shower and very clean. a bathroom you would see in a typical French house.
the courtyard is lovely and they even have a decent sized pool which looked very relaxing.

breakfast was served in the café which is adorable with typical bistro chairs and you can sit outside. it was Monday so the café was closed to the public but I think it is a very popular place for cakes and tea. breakfast was typical French meaning not too many options but enough to be satisfied. yoghurt and some fruit as well as croissants and tea and coffee.

I've never stayed in a hotel like this but it was clean and just very fitting for Provence. If we would have stayed longer I probably would have chosen a different room as they do have bigger ones based on the website. If you want a typical stay in Saint-Rémis I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room number 42. the bathroom was really nice but I wasn't too happy with the room. it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kristina091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is our sixth visit to the wonderfully quirlky Hotel Gounod. The hotel is excellently positioned in the main square and also a great stopping off point en route to and from the Riviera. The rooms are very well appointed with very comfortable beds, good quality sheets and excellent bathrooms. Towels are large, white and fluffy, as are the robes which are provided with slippers. The rooms by the pool are cool and relaxing and have air conditioning, a must when the temperature outside is 35C.. The pool is an added bonus, in a very pleasant and quiet courtyard with lots of relaxing sun loungers. The organic continental breakfast was another added bonus. The reception area and tea rooms are the most quirky rooms, decorated with Gonoud memorabilia and religious icons, which may not be to everyones choice. There is a reason that this is our sixth visit. We love the hotel for its difference, its position, the warmth of the staff, who by the way could not be more helpful, and the opportunitiy to be able to explore St Remy and the surrounding areas. Dinner in a local restaurant on our last two visits was an added bonus as the food in L'Ail ou la Cuisse is superb. A great hotel which we found originally through Alistair Sawdays.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Patti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Hotel Gounod is a lovely hotel. The eccentric furnishings add to the overall appeal of the hotel. Our room was vibrant in oranges and pinks, together with an antique look and wonderful outside private deck. The halls are filled with icons and statues which are amazing. The pool is a haven and Sophie serves a delightful breakfast of fruits, breads and croissants with a smile every morning. Location is perfect. Thank you

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jlwnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We spent two nights at this wonderfully quirky hotel whilst travelling through Provence.
Ideally located in the main square of this beautiful town, and surrounded by a wide choice of restaurants, the hotel has a quiet garden around which some of the rooms are located. There is a swimming pool just off the garden and shaded space in the garden to relax.
Special mention must be made of the breakfast, served in a delightful courtyard,beautifully presented fresh pastries and fruit, and above all our breakfast server, Sophie, whose exuberant and friendly nature elevated breakfast to a whole new level.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the ground floor looking out towards the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bterrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel is eclectic and charming and particularly cyclist-friendly - there is a covered garage to lock up your bike and a pool! Very welcome after riding through the nearby Alpilles. Many of the rooms open out onto the garden where the pool is located - much nicer than you would expect from the outside. And a delicious breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for one opening onto the garden on the ground floor, so you don't have to drag luggage up st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cap63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#3 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
1,139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Soleil & SPA
Hotel du Soleil & SPA
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chateau de Roussan
Chateau de Roussan
#8 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
400 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Chateau des Alpilles
Le Chateau des Alpilles
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#11 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gounod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gounod

Address: 18 Place de la Republique, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France (Formerly Hotel Ville Verte)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range: £139 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gounod 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Regional Park of the Alpilles, in the Provençal village of Saint -Remy de Provence, the Gounod Hotel offers you a charming place full of history and inspiartion. It is here, in this former Post relay from the 18th century that Charles Gounod, the famous author of the Ave Maria, stayd and created the opera Mireille in 1863. The hotel was completely renovated this winter by the new owners highlighting the cold stone walls of the main building, the stairs and corridors which remind the old small hotels and the new decoration contibutes to keep the cozy atmosphere in the place. Behind the building you can discover a unique place: the garden offers you a beautiful terrace, stone alleys leading to the swimming pool, spa, meeting room. It is a haven of peace in the heart of village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Gounod reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing