We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unkempt and ramshackle” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mas Dom Pater

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mas Dom Pater
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unkempt and ramshackle”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed here for one night in August 2011 having had our reservation at Mas Shamrock cancelled at the very last minute. Our room was large and clean enough and breakfast served outside the house was actually quite good. But Lord, could this place benefit from just a little bit of attention. This typical Provencal farmhouse could be absolutely stunning, but is completely unkempt and ramshackle. The paving stones around the pool are cracked and broken with weeds growing up. There is no landscaping and no requirement to pick up after your dogs. I wouldn't have been surprised to see discarded fridges and cars at the edge of the property. It is a disgrace how uncared for this lovely house is.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AideenY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    12
    3
    8
    18
See reviews for
19
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stayed one night only as they were fully booked. We had the separate rooms in the garden. The rooms were comfortable. The double bed was good but the single bed had a terrible hallow so it was bad on the back. The bathroom was small but modern. The gardens were not manicured but they felt relaxed and typical Provence with many large old trees and grape vines. The farm house dates from 1712 so it is picturesque. We had breakfast in the kitchen of the house so we enjoyed the character. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice, fresh food and cooked eggs. The owner was polite and friendly with a casual manner. The trip to town is definitely too far to walk, you need a car. The signage is poor and it can be hard to find. The cost was 125 euros for 3 people which we felt was a little on the high side. However breakfast was included and it was the best breakfast that we did have in any B&B in Provence.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoAussieTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

We made a reservation at this B&B for two nights in July. We made the reservation a week in advance and the B&B got our credit card number. The days before our arrival we tried to e-mail and phone them on numerous occasions just to avoid any later problems, but they never answered. Upon arrival after a long days driving, the owner (middle-aged man) had lost our reservation and told us that they where fully booked. What was even worse was that the unpleaseant owner didn't even seem to care at all about that they hade made a serious mistake and the situation that had put us in. He even smirked at us when we were asking for some help on what to do. Anyone can make a mistake, but the least you can expect if that happens is that they try to help you in some way. We didn't know the area or if there where other available B&Bs in the area for our time of stay - but the owner surely did and could had said at least SOMETHING to advise us. I'm sure the rooms are nice and everything - we wouldn't know. Just go there if you are prepared to take the risk of being stranded. We wouldn't advise you to arrive late at night.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Trompetisten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels

USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

Stayed on week with artist friends.
The rooms are large, modern, comfortable and have air conditioning!
Breakfast is included and features eggs done your way: scrambled, fried, omelette, boiled.
The rooms in the park have private terraces overlooking the spacious grounds.
The hosts speak English and were very helpful with St. Remy restaurants and local sights to see.
There is an outdoor kitchen with stove and refrigerator for use by the guests.
Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CinqueArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2008

We had a lovely 2-night stay here at the beginning of our travels through Provence. The house and the grounds were rustic and comfortable; the owners charming and very friendly.

The pool and lots of shady trees were a perfect respite from a long, hot day of siteseeing. And homemade breakfast under a huge fig tree on the lush grounds, were a perfect start to the day.

Some might say it's time for an update but I think that would ruin the charm of this place. This is not the place for you if you are looking for fancy toiletries an newly renovated rooms in lush fabrics. If however, you'd like the authentic feel of a Provencal farmhouse, with cheerful and accomodating hosts, then this is the place for you.

Next time we will stay here for our entire stay.

  • Liked — The grounds; breakfast
  • Disliked — A bit hard to find the turn-ff at night
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTravelGlutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2008

Well I don't know where the other people stayed who reviewed this b&b but itdoes not sound like thesame place to me.
We stayed at far , far nicer places around Provence for thesame and less money. Mas Dom Pater is totally over-priced compared to it's competitors,we paid 109 euros per night for a room without ensuite that was really quiet shabby and felt a little dirty. The bathroom was awful too. I feel bad writing such a scathing review but this is the truth, I felt cheated out of an enjoyable stay and hope to save others the same experience.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jade26London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monikbruno, owner at Mas Dom Pater, responded to this review, 29 June 2008
Hello, I remember perfectly this extremely unpleasant English lady, which found that we were too far from Saint rémy (2 kms500she said it take 4 hours to go downtown, I don’t know at which speed she walk?
and she was inform on our site of distance from our house to the city, also she is avenged on the bathroom. It’s better than this kind of anybody goes in Hotel and not in house of host, because they put the other customers badly has l' ease and disorder user-friendliness. Thank you for your good services, we appreciate much your site which helps us has to try to remain to the top for ours services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2007

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights this past july and we were in heaven. The breakfast was delicious, croissants, chocolate croissants, baguette, eggs, coffee, yogurt, homemade jam, etc. The owner does not speak english, but he is so sweet and somehow we could understand what he was saying. Our room was very cozy, dressed in African decor, with a lovely yard and pool. We had brought our bikes, so the location was perfect to cycle from. It is a great location to explore Provence from, but you must have a car. St. Remy itself is lovely and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank EJM45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Mas Saint Joseph
Hotel Le Mas Saint Joseph
#11 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mas Valentine
Mas Valentine
#9 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
#6 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel l'Amandiere
Hotel l'Amandiere
#5 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mas'Xime
Mas'Xime
#18 of 33 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas Dom Pater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas Dom Pater

Property: Mas Dom Pater
Address: Chemin du Prud'homme, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing