We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Name says it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Provence Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Provence Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Name says it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The cluster of farmhouses are easy walking distance from the town center and far enough from the crowd. William, the innkeeper, is Provence paradise. Generous with his time and always available with great ideas

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gscto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
77
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our stay at the Stone Cottage in Provence Paradise was beyond our wildest hopes. Surrounded by beautiful flowers on the lovely terrace and then warmed by the nightly fire in the fireplace, we were able to rest and fully enjoy this marvelous part of southern France. Not only did William see that we had fresh croissants every morning but he was a wealth of information for traveling to nearby hill towns. His restaurant recommendations were superb and he arranged the most unforgettable wine tour imaginable. We will return again and stay in this sunlit cottage with great joy. Buzz and Dawn Basini, Livingston, Montana, March, 2014

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I have to admit, there were moments when I wondered if all the proviso TripAdvisor reviews about Provence Paradise were faked! - How could everyone love it so much? Well, what's not to love? We were a family of 4 (2 kids ages 5 and 8) and it was superb. We've stayed in many lovely places over the years, but my jaw literally dropped when we first arrived, and it stayed that way as we explored the fabulous home (Le Moulin) and all its special touches. Provence Paradise is a perfect place to relax and luxuriate, and from which to explore the region. St. Remy was way more chic and happening than we expected - in a good way, and we were able to visit some amazing towns and sites within a 45 minute drive (that was our limit, with the kids). Gorgeous region, beautiful food, simple pleasures abound. William is adorable and so helpful at every turn, without being obtrusive. Our house felt very private, yet we met and enjoyed the company of other visitors. Gorgeous pool area, awesome hot tub (pool), lots of nooks and crannies to explore on the property. Bottom line: if you're considering Provence Paradise, go for it! You won't be disappointed; it's just as advertised.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mianiall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

William and his staff were so wonderful to us during our stay!! William has a wealth of information about the area and shared his recommendations at the beginning of our stay. This was so helpful for us to be able to plan our activities during our visit. William pampered us with pastries every morning and even surprised us on several evenings with decadent desserts and even a bottle of champagne one night. He arranged for us to have a chef meet us at the market to select ingredients for a menu that we all helped prepare in our "home". I cannot say enough good things about the property or the service provided!!! I would highly recommend Provence Paradise to anyone visiting the area. My only regret is that we didn't have time to your the other residences.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annefair818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

My wife and I have traveled extensively throughout Europe and typically stay in four and five star properties, yet Provence Paradise is the place we chose to return. The hamlet itself is both charming and private, and the location is great for exploring all that Provence has to offer. St Remy (a short walk from the property) is a wonderful Provencial town with great shops and restaurants. But, most of all, its William and his attentive staff that makes each visit to Provence Paradise so memorable. When you arrive, a bottle of wine, a beautifully set table and a home cooked meal is awaits you, in your cottage. William is the consummate host, who doesn't just offer restaurant recommendations, he calls the proprietor to let him know your coming and to make sure you have the best table. He shares his "secret parking spaces" when giving directions to the local markets, and every morning fresh baked pastries and croissants are delivered to your door. I could go on at length about the "little" things that William has done to make our stays memorable, from surprising us with a buggy ride into town for dinner, to bringing us a chilled bottle of wine by the pool...simply because he thought we would enjoy it...and we did!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott2250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We recently made our fifth visit to Provence Paradise (I think that's correct) and this is our second review. I'd give all of our stays 5 stars (or circles) because each has been fantastic in its own way. We've gone as a family, as a couple, with extended family, with friends, and this time, for Christmas 2013, in La Tuilerie and an adjacent suite, with even more friends.

We're usually not keen on making repeat visits to vacation destinations. We're Americans living in Europe (in France) for only so many years and there's so much to see and so little time. So why, then, would we keep coming back to the same place? Well, for starters, for us, it's the region. While we have stayed at Provence Paradise five separate times, the cities, towns and sights we've visited (apart from St. Remy-de-Provence itself) have changed every time. St. Remy-de-Provence is ideal for exploring the region and even well into the Languedoc region, with all of the nearby natural wonders, rich traditions and marvelous history...and some excellent wine in the nearby Gigongas/Chateauneuf-du-Pape/Vacqueyras/Beaumes-de-Venise appellations. You can find outdoor adventures, festivals, shopping and, if you want, tranquility, at your doorstep or not far beyond.

We are free to go anywhere in France -- and we have visited other regions, to be sure -- but, for us, we are drawn back to this particular corner of Provence.

So, why Provence Paradise, in particular?

Well, for us, we know that we're always going to have a first rate experience. It's like going away and coming home, all at the same time. And it has been this way from our very first visit. This time we arrived by car(s) with two other families for a Christmas week getaway and came to a home that was decorated for the holiday season. There was even a tree lit up and the fireplace was crackling. As always, there's wine that's waiting to be explored and a lasagna dinner that simply needed to be heated up to make that first night about settling down and not setting up house and making hurried trips to the market. With 11 of us -- 9 of us in La Tuilerie and 2 in the Tri-corner Suite across the patio -- we had plenty of space to spread out and seek seclusion when needed, with other spaces in our configuration that were conducive to gathering together and enjoying each other's company.

As I think back to our stay, we had ideas about dining out at this place and that but I believe that we ended up taking all of our dinners at "home" -- which is how you'll come to regard Provence Paradise if you make it your base. It was easily the best Christmas ever, due in large part to the companionship of good friends, but also, in no small measure due to the setting. The accommodations, you see, are not posh or ornate or gawdy-opulent. Instead, they are authentic to the region, upgraded to conform to the sensibilities and high expectations of American travelers (such as us) while always remaining true to the architecture and ambiance of Provencal living. There's no "roughing it" here and your host, William Moore, is a generous spirit -- both in terms of how he treats his guests and in terms of how he and his daughter-in-law (who we've dealt with only through the booking process) have created a master vision for the entire Provence Paradise complex of accommodations.

I think that's the best word to characterize the Provence Paradise experience: generous. Every aspect of our stays has been imbued with an overflowing spirit of generosity. The decorating, the food, the wine, the hospitality, the attention to details...they are all imprinted with a spirit of generosity toward the guests and that's what makes each of our visits worth remembering and making us drive away at the end wondering when we'll be able to return -- not to repeat the same vacation but to make new adventures under the same generous conditions that have conspired to make each of our previous unique and distinctive visits so spectacular.

Room Tip: They can accommodate groups of any size or configuration -- provided you plan well ahead while there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DyerMaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ightham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I've thought long and hard about making this review, however the reviews are the reason we decided to stay at Provence Paradise, so I feel I need to make the review.

We were given a tremendous welcome and William is certainly an excellent host. You can clearly see why this property has a vast number of repeat bookings. William clearly is a lot of the reason for this. The nice touches like the pastries are a lovely touch in particular. If a little hard on the waste line ;-)

We stayed in the L'Orangerie and were a family of 4. Children aged 5 and 7. What struct us immediately was that there was just SO much crammed into this little apartment. So many trinkets that there was not enough space to really live in it. I think the theme has been taken a little too far.

We had seen the pictures on the website and what hadn't come across was that the actual quality of the furniture etc wasn't actually as high a standard as we'd expected. The bathroom was very poor quality and the shower, for example, barely held together.

The master bedroom and in particular, the bed, were the biggest disappointment. We like a hard bed, however this was so hard that it actually bruised both our hips and we found it very hard to sleep comfortable.

We book many privately owned villas and ski chalets and have had excellent success. For the the price paid, we do feel that the quality of the accommodation was really not high enough and the comfort levels were not indicative of the level the property is sold at. With 100% 5 star reviews (at the time) we really did expect more and were surprised so many people would be OK with the L'Orangerie.

The pool was very pleasant, however there could do with there being more sun beds as it's an issue at certain times of the day when there are not enough for the number of people staying.

Finally I'm still not comfortable with the policy for not placing a price on the website. It makes me feel very sceptical that there is no transparency around what cost is charged. Our friends had an incredible 6 bedroom 3 storey townhouse with stunning private pool / equipment and furnishings and they paid only €600 more than us, in a very small apartment.

All in all it's quite hard to summarise. We loved the area, the food, the wine, however Provence Paradise just wasn't at the standard we would expect given the marketing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Remy-de-Provence hotels
1.2 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
#6 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#4 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mas Valentine
Mas Valentine
#9 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Chateau des Alpilles
Le Chateau des Alpilles
#3 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Provence Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Provence Paradise

Property: Provence Paradise
Address: 16 avenue Theodore Aubanel | Lieu-dit, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PROVENCE PARADISE is a cluster of six Provencal farm houses from the 17th century. We began complete restoration in 2004 and finished in 2008. The property is perched on a hill just over St. Remy de Provence, which is not far from Avignon. It's only a 10-minute walk to the centre of the old village. Sunshine 332/365 days/year. The gardens are lush and a small stream makes its way toward the watermill, where water cascades to make the wheel turn slowly. International family environment. Safety, comfort and good value. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Provence Paradise Hotel St-Remy-De-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing