We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Gem in the heart of Toulon”
Review of Celenya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Celenya Hotel
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Toulon
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My husband and i stayed at the Celenya Hotel for a long weekend birthday celebration. We stayed b/b. Rooms were basic but spotless clean beds were changed every day breakfast was typically french with plenty of tea and coffee. All the staff are really friendly and the hotel is central for access to train station and bus station harbour and all local attractions such as Mourillon beach. Please use the local bus service as you can travel anywhere for 1.40 euro weather it be to or from airport or the beach. A very pleasent and enjoyable stay in Toulon and we will be returning to enjoy the place all over again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nette1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2011

Had seen the Celenya hotel before our trip to Toulon, and were slightly put off by the reviews about the bad smell etc. Originally booked another in the Mourillon district, which was a bit of a disaster, so relocated after two nights. Boy am I glad we did! the Celenya is in a perfect location, just yards from the Bus Station - sometimes this indicates a grotty area, not the case in Toulon - and a stones throw from the gorgeous Place Liberte. The location meant you could walk round the town easily, or jump on one of the frequent buses to the lovely beaches of Mourillon. Best of both worlds. The hotel is spotless...no bad smells at all, in fact the staff were constantly spraying which suggests they take note of complaints. Our room was on the 'Oceanie' floor - admittedly a hike up the stairs when the lift wasnt working, but no big deal. We paid a little extra for a better room, and were greeted by a little tropical paradise with lovely balcony overlooking the street. The bathroom was gorgeous, with a separate toilet, and the main bathroom area separated by lovely curtains, so it was kinda part of the room, a feature i loved. also had a big flat screen TV. Housed in an old Provencale building, some of the oroginal features remain, such as shuttered windows and built in cupboards, but all brought beautifully up to date with themed floors. Staff were great, nice and friendly and the breakfast was well worth paying a bit extra for. Cant really say enough good things. The area is being upgraded, so there was a lot of work noise outside as they repave the streets, but this only means it will get better and better. Love Toulon and love the Celenya Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beatleguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Stayed here for three nights. Arrived with large suitcases and lift out of order. Room on third floor and had to carry suitcases up narrow, windy staircase. Bad odour in the rooms but got no satisfaction from staff. Would recommend location but rooms need deoderising.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munsterrugbyfan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

we've made in this hotel a transit one-night stay at the end of may. the major part of the staff that we found doesn't speak even a minimum of english, which means in case of problems inside the room - don't wait for assistance (air-conditioner was definitely out of order, but noone came to resolve it). Despite this it's a good quality-price hotel, with good location near the train station and city center.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank upina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

My husband and I stayed here whilst in town for a friend's wedding. We passed on the corporate hotel recommendations to stay in the city center and enjoy the quaint area. The hotel was lovely. We were in the 'America's' room which had a gorgeous terrace overlooking the city center. The staff were lovely and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jess_Bryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Good value for money 2 star hotel with friendly staff and adequate facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KMCA456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

On arriving in my room late and tired I was pleasently suprised to find the room well presented, very clean and very comfortable. The bathroom was small but clean and adequate. This was only a stop over but wished I'd stayed longer. Right by the train station and very near the main shops this was in an ideal location. The only downside was could hear the next room and some outside noise but none was eccessive. A nice big window that fully opened allowing you to look down onto the street below was great too. Great value and I will be staying again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinklady2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toulon hotels
Hotel Amiraute
#3 of 16 in Toulon
401 reviews
Haute Ville
Au Nouvel Hotel
Au Nouvel Hotel
#14 of 16 in Toulon
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haute Ville
Inter-hotel Grand Hotel de la Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celenya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celenya Hotel

Address: 7 B rue de Chabannes, 83000 Toulon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Toulon > Haute Ville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Toulon
Price Range: £47 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Celenya Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the centre of Toulon, 300 m from the train station, on the magnific « place de la Liberté », all the team of Celenya Hotel will have the pleasure to welcome you in one of the 29 rooms.All the rooms are equipped with bath or shower, telephone, televisions, hair dryer, and some with air conditioning.Decorated around the theme of the 5 continents, you will be in different universe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Celenya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celenya Hotel Toulon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing